The Weiler Psi

Parapsychology Journalism: The People, The Theory, The Science, The Skeptics

Psychics and Depression


Minor update 4-24-10

Not much is written about what it’s like to be an overly sensitive person in this world. There are some that believe that it must be really cool to be psychic. Indeed if you look at a lot of psychic literature, it is generally very positive about using your intuition and connecting to the world. The New Age stuff has a lot of emphasis on the positive as well. Everywhere you look, it’s supposed to be this wonderful magical experience.

I know better. Yes, there is something special about being able to connect with others on a deep level, there is a possibility of real joy and happiness that I think is denied to most people, and there are a wide range of experiences that are very rich and rewarding. These parts of our lives need to be honored and respected, but we must also acknowledge that this is not the whole story.

For anyone who doesn’t understand this I’ll give you a dose of reality. If you are psychic, you can’t help it. It’s not a choice anymore than being gay or being of your ethnicity. You are born with it and all the sensitivity that comes along with it; it is your life and you have to deal with it.  You get the whole package and you don’t get to choose which parts you will keep and which you won’t.

One aspect of this sensitivity is that psychic people tend to become people pleasers.  The natural empathy we are capable of can be focused on putting the needs of others before our own.  We’re less likely to stand up for our own needs because we can so easily understand the needs of others.  This leads to an inability as an adult to know what we want or even what we like.  That is the highway to depression.

Very few psychic children have understanding parents and relatives and do not understand what is different about them or even that there is something different about them at all. To each of us, the world we inhabit looks normal and we don’t understand that other people don’t think the same way. Soon enough though, we begin to comprehend that we don’t quite fit in. I can remember as a child constantly being on the outside looking in. Other kids could laugh and play and get along with each other. I just couldn’t quite manage that.

I did what I think most psychic children do. I began the slow and painful process of trying to fit in; something that never quite works, but which becomes a talent of sorts. I was very good at acting because that was how I was spending most of my time. There is no identity to be had in western culture and certainly no respect or understanding. One should always keep in mind that a great number of people are convinced that psychic abilities do not even exist. Of course this means that people such as myself are viewed as delusional; naturally, I cannot help but feel hurt by this.

A very few psychic people grow up in households that accept psychic ability and they fare much better. They grow up with a strong sense of self; but most of us have to learn it on the fly. We have to learn about our own sensitivity the hard way: by making mistakes and getting hurt. The need to fit in and be accepted is very strong, but is always denied to us; what most people don’t realize is that only normal people want to be different. For those of us who really are different, being normal looks pretty good.

We are profoundly affected in who we are by being psychic, even if we never use the talent, and when we go out into the world we discover that the gift is not taken seriously, is not understood and is not considered to be of much value. In fact, embracing who we are is sure to put us on the fringes of society in a hurry. That’s a choice that can make us miserable: We can only fit in by denying who we are. If we embrace the reality that we really live in, we leave most of the world behind.

Because we are so emotional, and we have these constant conflicts, we struggle with depression. Many psychic people deal with it their entire lives; it makes alcohol attractive. I don’t think that there is a single psychic person who doesn’t go through this at some point, and most of us have gone through depression several times.

Many people think that depression is about feeling bad.  But that is not the case.  Depression is about not feeling; that is to say, the ability to feel is severely depressed.  The emotions are shut down and we feel disconnected.  It becomes an actual neurological condition.  To get out of depression then, means feeling again.  It is something that we’re good at and that comes naturally to us, so that if we’re able to address what’s causing the depression, we’ll generally be able to lift it without resorting to medication.

To even begin to unlock our emotions during depression it’s important to understand the importance of the role our subconscious plays in our lives.  What we feel and think on the surface may be the complete opposite in our subconscious.   For example, while I may be able to talk very convincingly about the reality of psi and have all the facts at my disposal, I may still be unconsciously doubting myself.  That’s normal and if we are going to address depression we have to be aware of this aspect of our psyche.

It’s hard to say exactly what gets us all locked up, and I’m sure that some of the reasons for our depression we share with the rest of the world, but we have some of our own unique issues to deal with.  And the one that is probably the most frightening to us is:

Are we making it all up?

In other words:  Are we crazy?  Are we deluding ourselves?  On the surface we may have convinced ourselves that we’re completely confident, but underneath, we may still be questioning ourselves.  The test for this is to see how we react if someone doubts us.  The strength of our reaction to people who are skeptical of our abilities is an indication of how strongly we hold that fear.  I have personally never met a psychic person who did not react.  Apparently we all doubt ourselves to some extent despite all evidence to the contrary.

I have learned to handle skeptics much better, but I it took an enormous amount of factual data and a sharp memory to get to this point.  To get past this, you have to be able to clearly understand what kind of people they are as well.  (I’ve covered this in the post: There are no good skeptics.).  But a steady diet of these people is going to drag us down and it’s best to avoid them.  To constantly debate and argue with them is nothing more than a reflection of our own insecurity.

We can also suffer from chronic over stimulation.  If we are in a situation where our mind never gets a rest from the emotions of the world around us, it will start to shut down.  An example of  this situation is working in a high pressure job.  It’s not just the pressure that we feel, but also the pressure that those around us feel as well. This is as much a cause of depression as any other.

Another thing that contributes to depression is being a passive aggressive personality, which is very common in highly sensitive people, and therefore psychic people..  This kind of behavior eats away at the gut and deprives us of happiness.  I changed that behavior in myself simply by refusing to be dishonest with people about what I thought, how I felt and I stopped agreeing to do things that I knew I wasn’t going to do.  It was very hard at first and it upset my family quite a bit for awhile, but things did settle down and I’m much happier for it.

To avoid depression we need to own up to the things that cause us stress.  Jobs that require a lot of contact with people, high pressure jobs and being treated poorly in a job affect us more than other people.  If we can’t spend some time alone to concentrate and do our work; if demands are constantly put upon us, we’ll wear down quickly mentally and be susceptible to depression.

I don’t have any empirical proof for this, but I suspect that the mood altering drugs used for depression do not work very well for psychic people. We tend to avoid mind altering drugs anyway since we don’t get the same effects everyone else does.

The key to ending the cycle of depression is positive thinking, but done in a very specific way.  The absolute master of this is Louise L. Hay.  Her book on this subject, “You Can Heal Your Life”  is highly recommended reading.  Absorb her message and this will help a great deal.  She got it right.

In addition, Dr. Maoshing Ni, longevity expert offers these helpful tips:

  1. Hands-On Healing Human touch increases the production of endorphins, growth hormone and DHEA, all of which lengthen your life span and lower the negative impact of stress. Studies have found that patients who are regularly touched recover faster than those who are not touched. Perhaps give someone a foot massage, or give someone a hug and feel both of your moods improve.
  2. A Laughing Matter “Laugh Therapy,” pioneered by Norman Cousins, has turned out to have real substance. Research has discovered that laughter and joy boost immune functions, especially the production of the natural killer cells that help defend the body from illness and cancer. Laughter also increases the release of endorphins — compounds that give you a sense of well-being — in your brain. Without a doubt, joyful people live longer and healthier lives. So read your favorite comics, watch your favorite comedies and laugh it up!
  3. Amino Acid for Restored Mindset When an imbalance or deficiency is creating a bad mood, the Europeans use supplements of a natural compound found in human cells to regulate mood and restore a healthy mindset. SAMe (S-adenosyl-L-methionine) is produced from methionine, an amino acid that plays a role in the production of uplifting neurotransmitters like serotonin and dopamine. One study indicated that SAMe worked on patients who had unsuccessful results with conventional antidepressants. To get a boost from SAMe, take a supplement combining it with vitamins B6 and B12.
  4. Raise Your “Youth Hormones” You don’t need pills to flood your body with a rejuvenating flood of growth hormones. Research has found that doing squats and leg presses will greatly increase your natural production of the “youth hormone.” Increased growth hormone translates to an elevated mood, among other physical benefits. Keep it up with weight training, knee bends, push-ups and rowing.
  5. Acupuncture Boosts Brain Chemicals Many patients with depression and anxiety have benefited from acupuncture. Studies show that acupuncture increases the production of neurotransmitters endorphins, serotonin and dopamine–the happy, easygoing and calming brain chemicals that are found to be in low levels in depression and other mood disorders. Our team of doctors at Tao of Wellness has successfully helped numerous patients with mood disorders with acupuncture while collaborating with their mental health professionals. Contact Tao of Wellness for more information or go to acupuncture.com to find a doctor of acupuncture near you.

If you are taking antidepressants, you should probably read this article by Mark Hyman, MD.  Why Antidepressants Don’t Work for Depression.

There is really only one door open for us. We must learn to face the world on our own terms. We must accept that there will always be people that think we are batshit crazy and simply avoid them. We must acknowledge our sensitivity and its limitations and work to reduce the things in our lives which cause us the most stress and we must let go of dreams that conflict with our sensitive nature and embrace those things which play to our strengths.

It is very hard and it can take a very long time, but really, we don’t have any better options.

42 comments on “Psychics and Depression

  1. Bee
    August 13, 2014

    Your writing relates to me in many ways.

    It seems that I could affect the world around me.

    There were times in my office when I imagined person “A” would go this way, “B” would move that way, and it would make “C” go to certain direction. And this “scenario” would happen in a few days. I call this sort of thing as “playing chess” because I see the movement like in a chess-board.

    I could drag certain people to get closer and get to know them like I have known them for years.
    I could “read” people when I choose to focus on them.
    I also develop sort of ability to surround myself with “cloud” so even psychic people could not detect who I really am, but mostly know there’s something different about me. I do that unconsciously since I like to hide myself (the real me).

    I have a friend at work whom finally notice me that I am different due to many unusual things about me. Like times when I said about what other person would say exactly the same, and that just awed her. When there’s a big trouble in the office that affected everybody in anger, she noticed me that I was calm and smiling like I knew how it’s gonna end up. And many more. She called me as psychic, but up to now I dont like to put that label on me.

    I know what others about to say few days before, so I could think about what I would have to say or decide about it.
    I dont like to put the label “psychic” on me cos most people would see me differently, and I dont like that.

    Having the ability to “read” people, I often meet people with different “psychic” ability without them knowing me who I am. But in the end, I would tell them why I know about stuff. Most of them prefer to keep their distance away of me being around them, and it has something to do with that “playing chess”.

    There were times when I met someone who could use tarrot. Before the reading, I examined every single card and imagining, “I want to see this card to come up, this one, also this one, and I’d like to see what this one means so it should come up”. And … all those cards would come up, lol. The cards said that I have a sharpest heart that would affect surrounding me.

    Everytime I finished reading your writing, I would smile. Like it or not, I just have to deal about that label “psychic”, lol.

  2. Ellen Pearce
    August 9, 2014

    I appreciate the literature on being psychic and depression. I identified with all of your writing on the subject. Cleared up a lot. Even as a child, my siblings absolutely thought I was strange, so I was left feeling alone.

  3. CL
    March 6, 2014

    Hi Craig,

    I never knew such a site exist and what I had felt previously are not mere ‘coincidences’. When I hear that someone is psychic, I immediately think this person can see ‘things’ and communicate with them…or so I thought. Although Im often attracted to what psychics can predict, I don’t very comfortable with them knowing the bible says that divination is not good.

    My interest in this area heighten about 6 wks ago after I started wearing crystals/gemstones. Before there, there were a few incidences where I:

    1) felt an entity or smth in the car with me…for I suddenly felt extremely sad, very sad – I said a prayer quickly and the feeling left immediately. But it left me puzzled.

    2) felt like I’ve walked through ‘someone’ because I instinctly knew who that person is, although I’m not close to this person.

    3) thought of someone whom I’ve not contacted for a long time, years or months and he will contact me within hours/days. I’ve noticed its usually someone I’ve previously dated. This is especially so with one particular ex and it continued after our r/s ended, for a while I thought its telepathic communications but I found out later he never felt anything…so its one-sided from me?

    4) felt very pulled to a stranger whom I subsequently dated for a couple of weeks because this guy just makes me cry alot…from day 1, for no reason. I could feel his sadness. This one is especially strange.

    5) could sense major changes in someone’s life – marriage, change of jobs, got a new jobs etc…although we may not have spoken or been in touch for years/months. Again, these were ex-bfs.

    6) felt ‘someone’ near me…like if I could just pop my head around, I may come confront something.

    7) The block I stayed at had 2 suicides cases…the week before the 2nd one, I was very depressed and had suicidal thoughts even in my sub-conscious moments, fortunately, it went away after a week.

    After wearing the gemstones:

    1) I found I could predict winning numbers…I said ‘predict’ not win. If I buy, it doesn’t come out. This phenomenon ended after 2 weeks.

    2) Hear ‘someone’ knocking on my bedroom door…twice, in separate occasions…a slow but audible knocking..like someone playing on piano sort of rhythm. Who? Why?

    3) See strangers (young, old, men, women) looking right back at me when I closed my eyes. Fortunately, this also ended after 2 days. Again, who are these people?

    4) I had a short but very intended and sad dream, I could almost feel my tears flowing back into my gut, only to be awaken to ‘sense’ a white shadow running away to my left.

    Would appreciate if someone tell me what’s happening? Am I psychic? I’m scared and uncertain.

    Like what some ppl have mentioned here, I’m somewhat of a ppl pleaser – not always, but I tend to over-empathise I find and that leads to be taken advantage of sometimes. On the flip-side, I can also be very prideful and arrogant. One thing for sure, I have always been a loner because I’m so ‘sensitive’ that I feel hurt when others react insensitively. SIGH! LIFE?!

  4. Mark Hardstaff
    January 27, 2014

    I have had a number of stange events occur.
    I had a strong feeling I was about to move house and it happened.
    I came across this woman where I moved to and something happened when I saw her face, through my head goes this ” everything that just happened to you was so you would be here to see this woman, she is gong to be your girlfriend”
    7 months later thus same woman starts showing interest in me and will follow me around a venue staring at me.
    I’m having trouble dealing with it, but have fallen in love with her, and that’s crazy!

    I also started telling people about another woman old enough to be my daughter. I told them I thought I was supposed to help her.
    A year later SHE befriends me. We are friends and I have been helping her.

    I see a lot of things that are minor, but about to happen. Coincidence? I don’t know anymore, I feel I may be losing my mind.

    • craigweiler
      January 27, 2014

      Interesting. One time, many years ago I made a phone call to volunteer for an organization and I remember thinking, “I’ve just set events in motion to meet my wife.” And sure enough, that’s what happened. We’re still married over 25 years later.

  5. Selena Joosten
    January 4, 2014

    What really makes me depressed is I have been so told I am psychic and have all those qualities a sensitive has ten fold, but have no idea how to bring about my psychic abilities. So here I am suffering being so unbelievably sensitive mentally and physically and don,t get to do the good part. Makes tears burn in my eyes just writing this now, makes me so angry!

  6. Anonymous
    November 10, 2013

    Thank you and amen, brother! Being sensitive is often a painful experience. Depression comes from feeling helpless to do anything about it. Then the depression causes confusion and one begins to think that the depression is about other things–your annoying spouse (who is not really being annoying), money (always easy to blame finances), sex, what-have-you. When the real problem is a noisy, stressful, crowded environment or one filled with angry, rude, critical or competitive energies.

  7. Kenzie
    October 13, 2013

    this is so informational and makes so much sense! i am finally accepting myself for who i am, and went through a period of not feeling and am finally coming out of it. My art work suffered and rather so did i. Just yesterday i met a girl whom a felt almost connected to and shared who i am to her. she asked me to almost “read” her….i wasn’t really sure what she meant, but i was conflicted due to the fact she had a rather thick wall of almost like a shield. i told her i couldn’t right now….later i was able to and read her but as soon as i hit a point she closed off again.

    i fight with my mum a lot being she has repressed herself and i can’t help but feel it!!! I don’t know what to do…i have not told her about this, but she does not take it rather serious being she has repressed it….my brother is also angry all the time….

    Do you ever feel almost i don’t know how to describe it by the noises electronics make even now my computer is bugging the hell out of me!!!(excuse me..)

    I have rather strange dreams that i don’t remember until they actually happen…

    I am very confused but within this i am accepting this!

    Thank you for me being able to share this with you..i feel better already!

  8. Rose
    October 1, 2013

    Wow… every single paragraph. I’ve been struggling with this for awhile now… in a variety of ways… including the death of a very dearly loved high school sweetheart. I have only begun to grieve his passing in 2005 due to the bond we shared, and now I understand why. I always suspected, but yeah… I can no longer deny it. His gift/curse was stronger than my own. Geezus…

  9. anon
    September 8, 2013

    Beautiful.

  10. Tiffany Lowman
    September 7, 2013

    I have to say that I wish I would have read this years ago! I have dealt with everything you are talking about my whole life. I was diagnosed with bipolar and anxiety and depression. I have been on every kind of need you can think of. But could not find one that works. I recently found the courage to talk to a neighbor of mine and explained how I for some reason could always feel what others were thinking our feeling. People would say one thing, but I knew they were lying. I could go on and on, but she explained how she was a medium and that I was a feeler. We talked about it, but still did not understand. I have been trying to find out about it on the internet, but this is the first time I found something that was me to a T! Crazy! Thank you for helping me better understand who I am. I for once feel like I am not psycho or crazy!

  11. Anonymous Nicholson
    April 27, 2013

    Please help me i think i am phiscic i no that i am different no one beleives me my head doesnt work like everyone elses i think into every little part of everything, i highly observe all my surroundings.i am also a people please so much so that i believe i have also got depression from my trouble in my life being somewhat unreal. I cant cope i feel like killing myself i no bits of the future but i tend to no bad stuff rather than gd stuff only i believe myself the people in my life are over coming i do everything for them and they give me nothing back i used to be positive and have more ambition but theyve stripped that from me i have had councelling and the doctors keep prolonging giving me antidepressants i need to get away i feel stuck i need to be free but im afraid god souldnt forgive me for comming sucicide.

    • craigweiler
      April 27, 2013

      Hi Nicholson,
      I need to put you in touch with a group of people who can provide you some support. This is a comment section of a blog and not the best place.
      Follow this link:

      http://forum.mind-energy.net/psychic-support-forum/

      Sign up and start a new thread in the psychic support forum with what you told me. There are people there that can help. We’re all psychic on that particular sub forum, so you’ll be among friends.

      reply to this comment if you have any trouble.

  12. Kelidonious
    October 19, 2012

    I ve learned to accept what I have, and when I am around others I just am. I usually feel alot when I am though.. But I put alot of emphasis on helping them, and I notice that they feel it. (though they never realize it.) Whats funny though is when people think negatively about something I am doing or have, like my long hair for instance, I feel the terrible negativity towards it. Makes me want to cut it. I have grown up, and have no interest in being anything. I cant stay in a job where I have to talk to people constantly, alot of energy builds up and I get very very depressed. I do get depressed alot, for no reason. But I am not really a depressive person, so it is unusual. I have alot of sensitive friends though, and I feel them easily. Thank you so much for understanding how we all feel. I have felt alone all of my life and wondered why… Being psychic is a gift, but I wonder if it is also a curse….

  13. Kid B.
    August 31, 2012

    Hi- I would just like to say that it is insanely stressful to have these abilities, but I over my life I learned to make the spirits as my grandma called them disappear or not show up. If I am distracted then sometimes it happens or very calm I will get a premonition. All my life I have blocked it and it feels now like it is slowly killing me. But, I have blocked too much in the past 8 years and now at 27, I need to allow it back in my life a little bit more as I did when I was a child.
    I think there is an amount of stress you can handle in the outside world, but you need to be in nature everyday, spend time alone, in quiet, or with a calm warming friend. One that helps especially is letting go and being a kid again in nature. Just running with your dog and laughing, feeling the child inside you.
    I know it sounds bad, my mom taught me to do this when I was young. She said if you feel bad energy block it and build your bubble larger with all you can. Then if you feel someone sad, disconnect yet comfort them and make them feel better then you both do or let go, learn to let that energy go. Some just are always in the dumps, stay away from them if you want to survive, I think. Then there are people who are happy and positive and I don’t know if I feed off the energy(that is what my mom would say) but I share it with them when I can. If that makes sense. I only feel the energy becoming stronger in them as I share theirs, so I believe that I am not ‘feeding off their energy.’
    The best defense I have to the world is that even though I can feel it, feel the spirits around me, feel the emotions and energy of others around me…I simply use my power to see what to avoid or sense how to change it. If I can’t avoid or change, I block it as long as possible, to a point they are almost on a tv screen. I just minimize them and all their energy and words and thoughts until they are less than a whisper.
    Also having a tired body and mind at the end of the day are great for sleep even if it is only for a while some nights.
    I know defiantly that just listening to what you are feeling inside, your gut is the best. When I was at my lowest point, I was next to my mom and my boyfriend and they saw the glow of my grandfather. Not him just a warm candle glow in the middle of the room. I saw him and he said without words or moving his mouth that, “he was proud of me and if I followed my heart I would always get to where I wanted to go, to just always follow that feeling.”
    I hope any of this is helpful to anyone.
    I do have one question if anyone can understand it? Since I am learning to let myself open up again and more than I did when I was a child, does it become less scary after awhile? Things still happen to me that I know others do not have happen to them and I am scared, but does it get less fearful?

  14. Jody
    August 6, 2012

    Hi Craig,

    My name is Jody. I’m a little nervous writing this because I am… A newly ‘discovered’ psychic? If you will.

    I think I’ve always known I was physic. I remember being little and time always seemed to draw to me. It’s very hard to explain but I’ll do my best.

    I keep reading how you can ’turn it off’ by shutting down. I lost my grandmother when I was seventeen, and I don’t think I have ever really gotten over it. I am very young only 23, but for some reason, I cannot seem to remember very much of my childhood, or the events in the years following my grandmothers death. I remember going to my cabin in northern Arizona and I remember being in the woods and feeling happy, but never alone.

    I have a feeling this is what you mean by ‘shutting down’.

    Up until recently I haven’t been experiencing very many ‘incidents’. However, within the last few months, POWWW, they happen alll the time.

    My experiences are different though, which everyone’s are, but I, see things happen in patterns? If that makes sense… I know it doesn’t. For instance, a word I have never seen in my life before, will spark my attention, and then, sometimes as soon as THAT day, I will see the same word upwards to 3 more times.

    I was laying in bed the other night, trying to fall asleep of course, and I started to sing a song in my head to put me to sleep.. I started thinking of what a beautiful song it was and how wonderful it would be to see someone dance to it. Sure enough, the next day I was watching a dancing show on TV, and my favorite dancer danced her heart out to that very song.

    For the longest time I kept telling myself it was just coincidence, until I started thinking it wasn’t, and it started happening more!

    I too suffer from strange, unexplainable anxiety, even as a kid. In fact, I am not sure why, but I am absolutely petrified of 12/21/12. So much so I freak out when people talk about it and I have to walk away from the conversation… But I think that has more to do with my constant battle of getting over the unknown. (I hate the unknown, is my worst fear… And dark water lol)

    I’m sitting here with this silly bar blinking, waiting for the next letter I will type, and I just thought… Why am I even writing this? I’m not looking for a recommendation on a book to read, I’m not looking for answers even.. I have told my better half about this, my mother and my grandmother, and I think I just wanted to tell someone who may have had similar experiences what’s going on.

    I’m not scared of my gift. I try to embrace it, in fact I wish it happened more because I know they mean something.

    I know nothing about what’s going on as far as me being physic, but for some reason, it just feels good to say it.

    I have read some of the ‘signs’ of being psychic, and none of them seem to relate to my gift… Now after spending God knows how long writing this, my only question is, what is the one thing that you can think of looking back to when your gift began to arise, that helped you the most to understand your ability? I want to understand what these signs mean. Right now, my only logical way of explaining this is that this is the worlds way of telling me I am where I should be today, in that exact moment.

    Please remember, this is all very very new to me. I enjoy being alone, being with animals especially mine, and I love pleasing people, but in my heart I feel like this is something no book or article will help me with. I feel as if there is a higher power telling me I need to figure this out by being alone.

    Thank you for your time…

    Sincerely,

    Jody

    • craigweiler
      August 6, 2012

      what is the one thing that you can think of looking back to when your gift began to arise, that helped you the most to understand your ability?

      Hi Jody,
      I always knew I was different and was interested in psychic stuff right away. The most helpful thing was living in a dorm, where I could observe people and their emotions because it provided me the feedback I needed to realize how easily I could read people even when they were out of my sight. It was also insanely stressful, and that helped as well by desensitizing me enough to cope better later on.

      I agree with you that the journey is not something we can read in a book, we have to experience it one moment at a time.

  15. Jody
    August 6, 2012

    Hi Craig,

    My name is Jody. I’m a little nervous writing this because I am… A newly ‘discovered’ psychic? If you will.

    I think I’ve always known I was physic. I remember being little and time always seemed to draw to me. It’s very hard to explain but I’ll do my best.

    I keep reading how you can’turn it of’

    • craigweiler
      August 6, 2012

      As far as I know, you can’t turn it off. That’s correct.

  16. Josh
    July 18, 2012

    Wow Craig, I just found your blogs and iv read 5 of them so far. I thought i was crazy. I didn’t understand myself. I felt like i was alone. They have described everything that im going or gone thru. Iv always been a highly sensitive person. iv tried controlling it and have been in a bit of denial.

    • craigweiler
      July 18, 2012

      I’m glad that my articles have been of some help to you. It’s nice to know that I’m doing some good in the world.

  17. Tracy
    July 3, 2012

    Id just like to say that I really enjoyed this article as in I feel a bit more normal now well maby not normal but not alone in this as I now know its pretty common. Especialy the part about not being really sad but loosing the ability to feel emotions because that is what happened to me personaly and had tried to explain it to my friends but at the same time didnt care enough to talk about it. I think because at that time I was just so emotionaly overloaded I know thats sounds kind of weird having no emotions because of being emotionaly overloaded I think the best way I can explain it is like when you have been to a funeral and because theres so many emotions going on when you leave your so drained and all you want to do is go to sleep, but i felt like that for months instead of a day. I am fine now but it is good to know why and how to avoid it again so thankyou.

  18. MaryAnn Fry
    May 19, 2012

    Thank you. I’m glad I finally figured it out, but it was very painful until I did.

  19. Joshua Jameson
    October 31, 2009

    I too am currently learning to channel the abilities that set me apart from society, I suppose the reason I have never quite fit in. I am also dealing with my own bout of depression so when I came across this article ‘psychics and depression’ you can see why it caught my attention. It’s not a lot of help but it’s comforting to know that I’m not the only one who’s different. When I read over your description of your childhood, you might as well have been talking about me. I remember describing to my friend last year that I feel like I would make a good actor because I spend most of my life acting anyway. He took that as me admitting to be a fake person and I guess in a way I am but people just treat me better if I act like I’m like them. I hear that people with psychic abilities usually develop them as children or have a near death experience but I am 23 and I’ve only ever noticed that I could tap into the energy field that is everything for the past couple years, although I was knocked unconscious earlier this year for about ten minutes during which in my non expert opinion I was very close to death and that certainly didn’t hurt my abilities any. In my study’s so far I’ve determined that having psychic abilities isn’t as much about have any actual power yourself as tapping into and manipulating the energy field that exists all around us. Also I’ve come to the conclusion that premonitions sometimes don’t have to happen. I’m sure that many people out there with the ability to foretell future events have asked themselves the question “What the heck is the point of predicting the future if I’m powerless to change it?”. It took me the better part of a year to figure out if my premonitions were doomed to come true or if I could somehow alter reality in such a way that the premonition can’t come true. My findings are as follows; The planet is a giant interconnected web of energies that are all in careful balance with each other. Sadly, you are just a tiny tiny part of that balance and sometimes your wants and needs are insignificant when compared to the wants, needs, and balance of energy for the entire planet. That said, I have found that sometimes, (especially true when the premonitions are of your own future) it is possible to take action and arrange things so that the premonition cannot possibly come true. Premonitions are sometimes a view of what will happen but only if you continue on exactly as you would have before you had the vision. Keep in mind that if you leave even the tiniest hole or gap for the premonition to still come true there’s a higher than coincidental chance that it will still happen. In fact it’s entirely possible that in trying to avoid a disaster you will help it to happen. Fate has a sense of humor like that. The more I practice the stronger my powers get I am currently able to guide objects (especially lighter ones) that are already moving in whichever direction I please using my thoughts but I’m still working on making the transition to completely stationary objects. I hear that John Lennon was able to move a hard candy across a table by the end of his life. I have a feeling that a lot of the “outlandish” ideas I’ve portrayed here will become a part of mainstream science in the distant future. At one time we thought the world was flat, are we so ignorant as to think we know it all now? If anyone is conducting similar experiments or has reached any of the same conclusions as me and would like compare notes reply to this post. Again I thank you it slightly lifts the burden to know I’m not unique.

    • craigweiler
      November 1, 2009

      Hi Joshua,
      I know my article doesn’t help alleviate depression much. I just wanted to talk about it and get it in the open.

      Regarding your theory of energy in the universe, people are indeed working along that path and studies have been done in this area. I suggest that you read a bit about quantum physics. You’ll find it quite helpful. For instance, the idea of fate is deterministic. That is, the future will unfold a certain way and we have no choice. But quantum physics tell us that the universe is probabilistic. That is to say, the future exists as a set of probabilities which collapse into more narrow choices until finally one arrives.

      The energy you’re talking about is consciousness, which also shows up in quantum physics.

      In other words, you’re on the right track.
      Yours,
      Craig

      • Joshua Jameson
        November 1, 2009

        Yeah I had a chance to read a lot more on the subject and I definitely can’t present these ideas as my own although I swear I came to these conclusions using trial and error and odds against chance. I started studying quantum physics after watching “The Secret” but they describe it as sort of a magical power and I suspect the truth is more scientific than that. Also I used the word fate for lack of a better one. Thanks again =).

  20. Jimmy
    July 20, 2009

    I’ve read a couple blogs on this site, and for some reason I completely relate on every aspect of a psychic. Really it amazes me that you’ve pointed out every personality trait that I have.

    Although, I have never had an ”experience”…

    Does this make me a psychic and I dont know it? Or do I just relate with everything you say for some other reason?

    I’m in search of understanding myself, because I know I’m different.

    Thanks in advance,
    Jimmy

    • craigweiler
      July 20, 2009

      Hi Jimmy,
      According to the research, everyone is at least a little bit psychic, so it is a matter of degree. If you can really relate to this stuff that much, then according to what I understand, you must be quite psychic. It isn’t so much reading minds and seeing ghosts as it is a way of perceiving the world. It is hard to know without a lot of effort because you have no way of knowing how other people actually perceive things. It took me a long time to understand that what I was experiencing really was different. In a way, this blog is my way of coming out and owning it. Stay in touch if you like. craig@weiler.com
      Best,
      Craig

  21. T
    May 13, 2009

    I would like to tell you that I have been psychic ever since I was little. It grew to the point when I got mad enough things would physically happen. As I read the information on this website it like you were writing about me. After my brother was murdered the depression and stress went deeper. I had to seek help. The doctor put me on medicine for the depression. I have had my doctor change my medicine several times. I finally found one that seems to work well for the depression. However, it tends to keep a cap on my psychic ability and the sensitivity. Now only the very, very strong feeling come through to me. I would love to control my ability without the medicine. Can you recommend any help? I also feel I have passed this gift to my 2 children.

    • craigweiler
      May 13, 2009

      Most other psychic people that I know of who have used the happy-drugs did not get much relief from them. Several just flushed them down the toilet after the first pill and never looked back. I didn’t use drugs for those times when I had depression either. Bear in mind that the advice I’m about to give you is peer counseling. I’m not a professional psychologist. So here goes: Using drugs for your depression is a double edged sword, as you know. They relieve stress by turning down the sensitivity, but that sensitivity is what makes you feel alive and is what will eventually get you out of the depression.

      So the drugs are only really going to help if your sensitivity is constantly on overload. For example, if you’re around a lot of people and they’re stressed all the time. An example of that would be a normal office job. In that case, the drugs will give you the break you need to recover. If that’s not the problem though, the drugs probably aren’t going to do you much good.

      There are a number of things that can help get you out of depression. Take your kids and walk in nature as much as possible. Long walks are better and the more natural the place, the better. If you can work up a sweat, so much the better. The combination of breathing deeply, working the muscles and the energy of all those living things is really helpful. it helps quiet the noise down in your head.

      The other thing is to hang around this blog and read more of my stuff. The reason I’m suggesting this is that I’m writing specifically to give other psychic people a better context in which to view themselves. We are not crazy, science is on our side, reality is on our side, the people that are most negative towards us are full of shit and stuff like that. Most of all we don’t have to do this alone. We can all connect with each other.

      I have a friend who has stuff happen around her when she’s angry as well. That seems to be more common in women, who are more likely to suppress their anger only to have it expressed as stuff flying off bookshelves. You clearly feel frustrated and trapped, so make it a point to do stuff for yourself. Many happy psychic people have more than one creative activity that they pursue for their enjoyment, so you might try that.

      That’s about all I can think of for now, let me know how it goes for you.
      Yours,
      Craig

      • Mark
        January 31, 2014

        Thanks Craig. Reading your posts are helping me. I was thinking I was going crazy, but there are other people like me, I see this now.

        I’m predicting something more than a year in advance. I come across some people and “Know” they will be something to me in the future. total strangers.
        And it happens.
        I predicted my future girlfriend in 2012. Against the odds I believe this will happen soon. (her and me) 7 months after the event that told me she was to be, she started showing interest in me, following me a round. I have had to deal with the stress of this and think I’m ready to deal with it now, and talk to her :)

        • craigweiler
          January 31, 2014

          I’m glad I could help. :)

          • Mark Hardstaff
            April 5, 2014

            Hi all,
            I need help. Please.
            My family think I’m mentally ill.

            I no longer wish to talk to any of them.
            I’m made to feel an outcast because I shared what was happening to me.

            I’m being pushed. I saw that I was going to make a difference. Now I just feel like ending my life.
            I’m confused. I’m not sure what reality is anymore, but then I see what will happen before it does.
            My mind is in overload.

  22. JJ
    April 3, 2009

    Actually, thank you for allowing me the space to get this off my chest.
    Well, I’m back, and it’s another late night, 1:58 am. I’m actually sleepy now, but for the last few days I have felt another fight with the sensitiveness. I was doing a great job balancing it with working on creating songs, but today I think I fell off the wagon.

    I feel overwhelmed with trying to be in a creative mode and a day to day, feet on the ground mode. Sometimes I think that I need to get away to some place like Spain or somewhere where I can be in peace around nature surrounded by tall leafy trees, green grass, and soothing brooks. I miss that so much.

    What was helping me the last few days was that I would go outside, in my backyard, and sit in the sun breathing in the cool air. I didn’t do that today. Perhaps it was because my elderly neighbor’s house was ransacked while one of them was taken to the hospital with what was believed to be a heart attack (he’s better now). I was very upset about that and had a hard time sleeping. They are like family to me. My dreams were bizarre, almost like I was living another life.

    Well sometimes I think that ever since I began to explore my creative side, my sensitivity has gotten worst, I sometimes just break out crying over things like when I see people crying on the Lisa Williams show. I usually don’t let anyone see of course, well, my roommate/best friend sometimes can sense me tearing up, but she respects my sensitive side (This may be why most of my friends are women). Also, I think she is also very sensitive, except in a different way. She actually sees “things”. She doesn’t tell that much about them as she used too. She might have picked up the vibe that that disturbs me, but I hope not, she really is very supportive of me. She knows me deeper than I care for anyone else to know. It almost irks me that she knows so much. Most people know me as the “logical” one. The “responsible” one, or the “leader”. I do have those sides to me, but I feel that the other side of me has been coming in too strong. I worry that I may lose the respect of my friends and family, or even worse, that they’ll start to worry about me. Often when I just take time to be on my own without contacting anyone, they, my friends and family, start to communicate with me too see if everything is OK. I had to finally tell some of them that this is just who I am. I need one on one time with myself to re-connect. They get it most of the time, but my parents worry because they’ve seen me at my worst. My mom just said that it was witchcraft that was bringing me down a few years ago. I don’t think I believe that. I tend to seek empirical evidence to explain things as best as possible, even the supernatural things.

    Well I just can’t shake the feeling that I need to disappear for a while so that I can get my full strength back. Do you ever experience this? Well I’m gonna continue with my current creative projects and my daily grind. I also feel that I just have to tough it out for a little bit longer, and then I’ll be able to break through this barrier. Is it possible that this is difficult to do because I avoided or repressed my sensitivity a few years ago? Well one thing that I have going for me is that I am a hard worker. I’m gonna try to learn how to balance my yin and yang. Good night. Hope all is well with you and yours. And thanks for having this space for me to share my words.

    • craigweiler
      April 4, 2009

      Hi JJ,
      Sorry I’ve taken so long to reply, it’s just been a bit hectic around here. I know what you’re talking about with the sensitivity. I’ve gone through that myself. We tend to hold it at bay because to do otherwise would mean a loss of control. If you’ve repressed your sensitivity, as so many of us have, then yes, it makes things harder. I also find it easier to relate to women than to men.

      About your friends seeing the sensitive side of you I have this to say based on my personal experiences: they probably already know. As I’ve worked at allowing myself to be more sensitive, no one who knew me well was at all surprised. What I thought that I was hiding I was really wearing on my sleeve.

      Good luck to you on this. It is not an easy journey and my heart goes out to you.
      Yours,
      Craig

  23. JJ
    March 18, 2009

    I would just like to share my experiences on this site because it helped to make me feel more at peace by what was being said in the various articles on here. Also, it’s 2:13 in the morning and I don’t want to go to sleep. I hope that what I write here is useful to some.

    It was calming to read about the many characteristics that sensitive people have. Now, I have to say that I feel uncomfortable calling myself sensitive because I am a man. I grew up with the sense that being sensitive was a sign of weakness. Now because I have always had other sensitive people around me -my mom and aunts- I didn’t always notice that I was sensitve. Looking back, however, I now recall that I had trouble in school most of my life. I didn’t get a grip on school until college. But it took me 10 years to finally get my BA.

    I can see that some of the info on these articles may apply to me, but not sure yet. I’ve been wanting to see a therapist first to see if he/she can help me explain some of the things that I have experienced, such as:

    Feeling like I can sense other people’s emotions too much; having a dream where someone I have never met before gives me information about someone else; being awakened by voices calling my name or the doorbell ringing when it is not; feeling overwhelmed by emotions that seem to throw me off balance, being able to sense things about others (like physical ailments).

    I have discussed most of these things with a general doctor, and I discussed with him that my family members told me that they may be supernatural experiences. He said that it sounded like they might be. I was surprised and comforted to hear that. But he prescribed Zoloft to me, which I refused to take. He said I had some kind of anxiety induced depression. I only took one or two pills before I felt that this was not right. Instead I researched the net to see if there was a natural way to fix this. I found that exercise and change of diet would help. I began to exercise more, changed my diet, and I also started reading positive material. I began to feel much better. By the way, when I went back to see the same doctor, he was no longer working there.

    This was the first time I had ever experienced this bizarre state. I began to have many bizarre dreams and disturbing visions during this period. I eventually got myself out of this state. But I’m constantly feeling pulled back into this state of sensitivity which sometimes makes me very angry because I feel it interferes with my ambitious goals. I’m currently working as a private tutor (self employed), music producer, and freelance graphic designer. But I eventually want to finish a book I’m working on. I mention my occupation/hobbies because perhaps some people can relate to the fact that these jobs give a picture that others can relate to. By the way I’m also into painting and photography. But I have not been able to stick to only focusing on one of these interests. I feel like I’m not sure what my calling is, yet, although I keep feeling that I should be healing people some how. But I don’t want to be a doctor.

    One thing that I notice is that being out in nature is very comforting to me. I get a sense of calm and often feel connected to something. It helps me get rid of loneliness.

    My friends have often commented how strange animals behave around me. I love animals, but I don’t like to own them because I don’t want to be taking care of them. I may forget to feed them or something. I can barely remember to water my plants.

    Now one thing that I want to point out is that I’ve been a very outgoing person, but do, at times, have the strong need to be alone for long periods of time -Odd for someone who has been a DJ, promoter, and president of a fraternity.

    Well, I think I’m getting sleepy now. It’s 3:05 am and I have classes to teach tomorrow night. I haven’t worked on anything creative for a while. I’ve just been reading a lot (to try to find myself), sitting in the sun in my backyard, and trying to get myself back to “normal” (less sensitive). I hope to be able to find a way to achieve my goals feeling comfortable in my own skin, sensitivity and all. But it sometimes feels like I have to take time out to push back, maybe even repress my sensitivity so I can get back to taking care of business.

    Thanks for posting your articles. They helped me feel right. Well, good night. I’m going to read some more articles before I go to bed, and finish watching the movie “Fur: An Imaginary Portrait of Diane Arbus.

    • craigweiler
      March 18, 2009

      That is a wonderful comment and I am grateful to receive it. When I read comments from other men who are psychic I feel a little less alone in the world. I feel a kinship because similarities are so eerie. The dislike of medicines and disappointment with health professionals, the lack of focus on a single career, the various creative sidelines the challenge of getting to sleep, etc. The sharing means a lot to me. Thank you.

    • Theresa
      November 6, 2012

      I also feel anti-social, although Im usually the most loquacious and outgoing person. It is difficult to marry the two.

  24. Anita Woodard
    March 10, 2009

    My life changed about 4 weeks ago,I can not explain what happened but I walked in the past in someone Else’s footsteps I’m still carrying this experience with me,please! please! teach me how to shut it off,I’m going crazy.It’s like I had to share this message with one person,I have tried to explain myself to that person but no reply the thing is,I feel like a flake, how can I tell them what I felt and what’s more I do not know these people.Why me?

    • craigweiler
      March 10, 2009

      Hi Anita,
      When people come to me with experiences like this, my goal is to help them feel that they can have these experiences and still feel normal. So here goes.

      First of all, other people have these experiences. You just don’t hear about them for the same reason people haven’t heard about yours. People don’t want to be made to feel like nutcases and whack jobs. I’ve heard quite a few tales like yours over the years and the other people with these experiences get just as upset over them.

      I know that you can’t tell just anyone about it. I was relating an experience to a long time friend many years ago, only to have the guy suggest I get therapy. Oh, thanks a lot.

      It is for experiences like yours that I’ve included all the parapsychology stuff in my blog. You have to know that your experiences are a natural part of the world. There is nothing bizarre about what you went through. It is nothing more than a rare event.

      Regarding shutting it off. It will go away on its own; you don’t have to do anything about it. If this was your first experience like this, your mind is still coming to grips with it. As a fellow psychic person, I suggest rather emphatically that you don’t shut anything off. The price for doing that is rather steep emotionally.

      Why you? Because you’re sensitive,that’s why. If there is some important information you have to impart, write a note with no return address saying what you have to say and mail it to them. Then it’s up to them to deal with it. It’s not your job to save the world.

      Feel free to e-mail me if there is more that you want to share: craig at weiler dot com. (I write it that way to avoid spam e-mail harvesting.)

  25. Ashlie
    February 27, 2009

    wow I am so glad I have found your blog. Very insightful. I am a young psychic. I knew about my abilities for awhile but I am just accepting these recent years.

    • craigweiler
      February 28, 2009

      Thanks, I’m glad it’s helpful to you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 562 other followers

