The Weiler Psi

Parapsychology Journalism: The People, The Theory, The Science, The Skeptics

Childhood Related PTSD in Psychic People: A Theory


The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) defines post traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) as:

an anxiety disorder that can develop after exposure to a terrifying event or ordeal in which grave physical harm occurred or was threatened. Traumatic events that may trigger PTSD include violent personal assaults, natural or human-caused disasters, accidents, or military combat.

When in danger, it’s natural to feel afraid. This fear triggers many split-second changes in the body to prepare to defend against the danger or to avoid it. This “fight-or-flight” response is a healthy reaction meant to protect a person from harm. But in PTSD, this reaction is changed or damaged. People who have PTSD may feel stressed or frightened even when they’re no longer in danger.

Anyone can get PTSD at any age. This includes war veterans and survivors of physical and sexual assault, abuse, accidents, disasters, and many other serious events.

Not everyone with PTSD has been through a dangerous event. Some people get PTSD after a friend or family member experiences danger or is harmed. The sudden, unexpected death of a loved one can also cause PTSD.

The symptoms of PTSD as listed by NIMH are as follows:

1. Re-experiencing symptoms:

* Flashbacks—reliving the trauma over and over, including physical symptoms like a racing heart or sweating
* Bad dreams
* Frightening thoughts.

Re-experiencing symptoms may cause problems in a person’s everyday routine. They can start from the person’s own thoughts and feelings. Words, objects, or situations that are reminders of the event can also trigger re-experiencing.
2. Avoidance symptoms:

* Staying away from places, events, or objects that are reminders of the experience
* Feeling emotionally numb
* Feeling strong guilt, depression, or worry
* Losing interest in activities that were enjoyable in the past
* Having trouble remembering the dangerous event.

Things that remind a person of the traumatic event can trigger avoidance symptoms. These symptoms may cause a person to change his or her personal routine. For example, after a bad car accident, a person who usually drives may avoid driving or riding in a car.
3. Hyperarousal symptoms:

* Being easily startled
* Feeling tense or “on edge”
* Having difficulty sleeping, and/or having angry outbursts.

Hyperarousal symptoms are usually constant, instead of being triggered by things that remind one of the traumatic event. They can make the person feel stressed and angry. These symptoms may make it hard to do daily tasks, such as sleeping, eating, or concentrating.

It’s natural to have some of these symptoms after a dangerous event. Sometimes people have very serious symptoms that go away after a few weeks. This is called acute stress disorder, or ASD. When the symptoms last more than a few weeks and become an ongoing problem, they might be PTSD. Some people with PTSD don’t show any symptoms for weeks or months.

More than a few of these symptoms are familiar to me from my childhood, which has always had a lot of blank spots in it. I have also heard from many psychic people and met a few who have described some of these symptoms to me or displayed them. This got me to thinking that perhaps there is a connection here.

Perhaps not all of the characteristics that psychic people display can be attributed solely to the factors that makes us psychic. Perhaps we are experiencing sufficient trauma during childhood to trigger lifelong patterns associated with PTSD and this is so common in psychic people that it appears to be the norm.

My theory is that it is actually quite difficult to prevent PTSD in psychic children. The extremely high sensitivity to emotions, the inability to shut out the noise of the world and utter ignorance of the rest of the world with regards to this sensitivity virtually guarantees that the psychic child will be subjected to stresses way beyond the child’s ability to cope. A psychic child may get PTSD simply by being shouted at or being in the presence of a lot of anger or any number of other ways. Things that an ordinary child would be able to cope with, the psychic child would struggle with.

For example: A child who could hear twice or three times as well as normal and perceived sounds to be at least twice as loud as normal would find him/herself overwhelmed at the sheer volume and amount of noise he/she had no choice but to endure and because no one else experiences this, the cause of the child’s problems would go undetected. The anti social behavior, the powerful need to be alone and the quietness would all be attributed to other factors. The child would have no way of knowing that other people simply couldn’t hear as well. He/she would find that some tasks that should be routine and ordinary were in fact, extraordinarily difficult. The child would likely come to the conclusion that they were somehow at fault and were a failure and feel guilt at not being able to perform as expected. Classic PTSD stuff.

For years growing up I had the sense that I had experienced a very traumatic event that I was blocking and spent years trying to find out what that was. Lately, I’ve come to the conclusion that such an event does not actually exist in my past. My childhood was certainly chaotic with a lot of moving and my parents divorcing when I was five or six, and I was routinely tortured by my older brother, but I didn’t feel like these things totally accounted for the paralyzing fear that I experienced. Not surprisingly, my parents were sensitive people themselves, quickly dropping corporal punishment as a bad idea even though they had both grown up with it. My father was not in denial about his own sensitivity and recognized it in me early on. My mother was open about psychic stuff as well. They have always been clear about the fact that they love me. No alcoholism, no drugs, no mental diseases either.

So why would I feel like I had experienced so much trauma? Ordinarily, I would chalk it up to a personal experience, but it is the fact that other psychic people exhibit similar problems, problems that also look a lot like PTSD, that I wonder if the high sensitivity has something to do with it. Perhaps the normal events of life are simply so traumatic to the highly sensitive child, along with finding some ordinary tasks, such as trying to fit in with large groups of children at school that feelings of guilt and failure are almost inevitable.

Perhaps as psychic people we are not necessarily prone to depression and unhappiness as a result of being psychic, but rather undiagnosed and untreated PTSD. I can say from personal experience that having worked through a lot of my fears over the years with the help of my wife, I don’t experience depression anymore. I do not carry the fear and guilt like I used to because I’ve come to understand who I am and what my limitations are.

I think it is important to not only understand the differences of psychic people, but also to understand the ramifications of those differences. Mental health is a big deal to people who live in their heads. If we can begin to understand what is happening, we can begin to unravel the knots and find out what a happy and healthy psychic person acts like.

Right now, I don’t think anyone knows.

17 comments on “Childhood Related PTSD in Psychic People: A Theory

  1. Zachary
    June 24, 2014

    Oh poor you. I have PTSD and consequently an inability to be around people without letting everyone around me know with psychic hearing something horrible that gets them to hate me that never would have happened if I was psychic in the first place for multiple reasons, one being Ive never had a real relationship where I was actually perceived as valuable and a huge list of usury. My parents are psychic as fuck yet threaten to call mental health services purely for control. Over a year now of horrible insomnia thanks to chronic cortisol being unable to defend myself or ability to distinguish thoughts as my own, often people putting words in my fucking mouth, with literally NO ONE on fucking earth willing to help you. It is the people who are psychicly abused who are the most traumatized faggot. Reading your article pissed me off because you have the fucking nerve to tell me how fucked up you are and yet you dont have cowards anonoumsly talking shit endlessly and had honest parenting. Fuck you.

    • craigweiler
      June 24, 2014

      I thought at first that you were trolling, but then I read more carefully.

      At my age, (54), I can tell you that it does get better. You can beat this and be a better person for it.

  2. Miller
    January 26, 2014

    I’ve been psychic all my life, going into a house and feeling other people’s past lives makes me depressed. Real estate agents have been my witnesses and have been shocked with my accuracy. I went to Israel and came back a different person. Plenty of violent hallucinations and dreams everyday for 2 years until I was hospitalized. They say I have PTSD and depression. They gave me Zyprexa and prozac. It weakened me and the shadows became stronger. The medication allowed my subconscious psychic mind to predict real time future abilities however it opened a door way to an evil presence. I became very violent my mother almost died thanks to me family and friends had to stay away for there safety. After giving up the Zyprexa,Xanax and prozac I used krill oil Alpha lopic acid to stop brain damage and diabex to reduce sugar levels and bloating. I went to Church and I have become 80% normal. Being Psychic kills and saying you are Psychic even showing full proof to the Psychiatrists they freak out and say no no I can’t believe it there must be an explanation however they believe with continual proof and finally they treat you in secret and think you are not ill when I really am ill at that point in time.

  3. isaiah mcarthur
    November 14, 2013

    Hello everyone im isaiah mcarthur i have been psychic know for a good long time since my 18th birthday im now closeing in on my 30th and thing have been a blast when i started out i was weakly linked to the journey of the third eye and all its wisdom knowledge and power and thankx to paperbacks cds and self help cd and subliminals…..i can walk right through a street fight dead center knowing everymove they make and look just plian cool doing it…not to mention stop the fight from continuing lol who wants to fight after witnessing some dude stroll though your rage and wrath like its kids haveing a pokemon card battle at preschool..heh anyway thanks to the trianing that i have been through..i can see devine shape and help people through a variaty of ways and abilities that i have…but mostly i point people in a good direction….isaiah out

  4. Nicole B
    April 30, 2013

    Am i Crazy or am i a type of psychic? I have dreams that are very Gorey and Deeply vivid, i see, hear, touch, smell,and can taste certain things that aren’t there, for ex. when i sense something really evil watching me i will become extremely shakes physically and i will feel like i am in extreme danger but my friends will say there is nothing there , i am just being paranoid. i have been diagnosed with severe bi polar type 2, PSTD from my childhood, and adhd. i was told by my father that i would talk to a spirit that wasn’t normal. i was 4 at the time. id always run up to daddy and say Mr. Klein wants me to go play with him again, can i daddy? and my parents would look at each other and look concerned. this continued for many years. when i was 7 i said to my mom that the house isn’t safe, Mr. Klein is going to blow up the house. and my mom didn’t believe me. a week later my house Imploded from a gas leak in the bathroom. later when we had to leave the house. my parents found the name Mr. J Klein engraved behind the bathtub’s wall. and my parents were so spooked and were worried. later that year my family divorced and i lived with grandma because my mother decided to go get sober back in the state we lived in. when i was 8-11 i would see and hear things that were not there and experience my nik naks flying around the room. i also had a severe mental break down when i was 11. i was told i tried to stab a teacher and myself for no reason. i was struggling in school. i was going through a lot. so they admitted me to a mental hospital. no matter how many med they give me to this day i still see, hear, touch, taste, and i still to this day have Gorey vivid demonic dreams. and i still suffer from the guilt and all the experiences i have just get worse. for example, i had a kitchen butcher knife thrown at me when i went to get water a few months back. and there was no indents of damage to the walls etc. i don’t know what the heck is wrong with me but today took the cake. i had the worst nosebleed in my entire life. i felt for about 2 hours at my job that i was being followed and my mouth became cotton like and i was running a slight fever. i had a sudden migraine and my nose just pour blood. i still am having a migraine almost 12 hours later. i need help please can some one tell me if i am crazy or a being haunted, also i have been Possessed and i have told my bf to ” go back to sleep or i will kill you.” in a dark voice. he told me i looked awake so that why he asked. hey are you awake and that was the response he got. also he said i looked evil, and i had no color in my eyes. i have naturally light brownish eyes. he described them to be black and eerie looking. im sorry my stories are all scrambled but i am having a difficult time right now getting all the info in their right spots. my migraines have lasted for MONTHS . and i am always tired. ALWAYS. and i have been getting nosebleeds a lot recently… please. just help me… i am desperate for the answers i have been seeking for why i suffer from these demonic experiences and why i am suffering from all these other things. i am a healthy 21 year old woman the doctors say. and i see and experience otherwise…

    • Sandy
      April 30, 2013

      Hi Nicole,

      Being psychic and having mental health concerns are actually two separate issues. It’s possible to be psychic without any mental heath problems, but it’s also possible to be psychic and need some help in regards to dealing with mental health issues. Just like people who wouldn’t consider themselves psychic may or may not have similar issues.

      You sound like you may need some help, which is OK and nothing to feel badly about. We all need help sometimes. There are therapists who specialize in dealing with spiritual experiences. You might feel more comfortable having someone with this kind of background to go to for help.

      The Association for Transpersonal Psychology has a professional directory:

      http://www.atpweb.org/professional/profdir.aspx

      In Canada, there is the Spiritual Emergence Service:

      http://spiritualemergence.net/

      Best wishes,
      Sandy

      • Nicole B
        May 1, 2013

        Thank you. i am grateful for your response. but right now i can say i am mentally OK. my life has changed for the best at this time. but i still have these dreams and i see Deja-vu almost every day. it makes me paranoid. i have just been curious about why i am always so tired even when i get 8 hours of sleep a night. and or why i have been getting serious nosebleeds. i never have nosebleeds this badly. where i go in and out of consciousness. it is always right after i feel like every sound anything makes is muffled and the back of my head feels like it is splitting in two. i have been diagnosed for Chronic migraines that start from the left side of my brain in the back to the right side of my brain near the eyes. and it just weird after that. they cant find anything wrong with me except that i am having migraines that last for months at a time. and i heard rumors that a psychic is very strong spiritually, emotionally and mentally that they can have these effects. that is the reason why i am trying to find out am i some kind of psychic? or maybe i wish i can be. even in the least i am happy at this time with my self and who i am. thank you Mrs. Sandy. i appreciate your help. yesterday when i wrote the post i had made i had a severe migraine.that is why it was so jumbled and seriously distressing in a way. that is exactly how my thoughts process when i am like that. my mind races through so many things in one minute that is how i talk, and write. i am much better today so it comes out like i am a totally different person. so i apologize have a . beautiful evening,

        • Sandy
          May 1, 2013

          Have a beautiful evening too, Nicole! And take good care of yourself. :)

    • Miller
      January 26, 2014

      Hi Nicole I can help. First you need to help yourself by not feeling guilty about anything you have or haven’t done. Secondly you must prepare your body for spiritual warfare. You are target by evil spirits because you are special and have a special destiny to fulfill.
      One in spiritual warfare must fast. Stop drinking, smoking and sexual activity for 1 week straight then every Saturday until you feel strong enough. During the fast the spirit will weaken but will try to scare you for it to gain energy of your fear. Sourround your self with family and friends get a local pastor who believes in evil spirits to help you. Pray like this The blood Of Jesus Christ sets me free. Repeat it sing it meditate on it ignore other voices you hear or people that come against you. Your boyfriend needs to leave you or help you there is no neutral position. God bless and I know you will win Nicole

  5. Lisa
    December 7, 2012

    You will also find in the study and history of shamans (healers/empaths) that most usually suffer a type of trauma as a sort of shamans initiation into deeper levels to tap into deeper compassion and empathy. Its very common among a lot of empaths to endure either/or/both a trauma and also be very sensative to the outside world making it easier to BE traumatized. I fall into the BOTH catagory. Good article. :) Good timing for me to read it too. :)

  6. Stephen
    October 2, 2012

    Hi there, I have read this blog through and was wondering if I had any form of pyschic ability. I have had some experiences since a very young age. In my sleep I have weird dreams, and they actually came true, I dreamt of my crash on the motorcycle, in the dream I was on the back wheel and I fell and that’s exactly what happened to me 3 days after. My mother always tells me that I would sit up in my bed and say that death is coming or that something bad will happen. I dreamt of a family friends fathers death and her mothers death. Each happening approximately 2-3 days after the dream. I’ve also been told that I sleep walk and talk in my sleep, saying things that actually happen at some time. I can sense presences around me and often would speak to spirits in my sleep as well. I am a very emotional and sensitive person and have had sleeping problems since a young age I am 19 years old now. And sometimes I can see ghosts and spirits in the corners of my eyes and I sometimes predict things before they happen. Do I have a strong pyschic ability and can I improve it?

    • craigweiler
      October 2, 2012

      Sounds like you’re psychic. Welcome to the club, I guess. If you work at your psychic ability, then yes, it will improve. But there aren’t a lot of good opportunities to make a living with it.

      • Stephen
        October 2, 2012

        Thanks. I know there aren’t a lot of oppurtunities with it. It has always been something that I have thought about and these experiences happen quite a lot especially the dreaming and sleeping part, I really have some weird dreams. I would like to improve these skills so that I can be more aware of what is going on around me know what I mean. Thanks

        • craigweiler
          October 2, 2012

          There is no reason why you can’t develop your talent, but don’t make it your main focus. It won’t get you anywhere. Most psychic people are very creative, interesting, likable people with a lot of talent in more than one area so this shouldn’t be too difficult.

          I didn’t do well until I started working for myself. Then I was able to put my abilities to use.

  7. whyismamacrying
    July 24, 2011

    Wow! Really interesting … Thank you.

  8. mari
    October 26, 2009

    I could not agree more with this post. I spent a great deal of my young adulthood trying to unearth some repressed trauma. Similarly, I have some blank spots but nothing that justified the overwhelming dread I often felt.

    I see now that it was my general sense of not fitting in and being finely tuned to um well Everything that left me feeling wacky. Its also worth saying that the “dread” and unease dissipated and continues to dissipate the more I own this psychic consciousness.

    Thanks Again Craig. This site is incredibly supportive.

  9. Celeste"Charlie"Lee
    June 21, 2009

    WoW.All I can say is that you nailed another one.I enjoy reading your blog.*Charlie*

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 574 other followers

