The Weiler Psi

Parapsychology Journalism: The People, The Theory, The Science, The Skeptics

The Physiology of Psychic People and Psychic Ability


Psychic people generally notice that they’re different from other people in ways that they can’t quite define, but it seems to be more than just psychic ability.  While it’s been shown that most of the world has some level of psychic ability, the distribution is not even.  Some people are far more psychic than others.  The reasons for this are many and they trace back to a biological predisposition towards psychic ability.  People who are very psychic were born that way.

Psychic ability itself is a byproduct of a much larger process that is basically a biological predisposition towards sensitivities of all sorts, including environmental and emotional.  For that reason, David Ritchey, in his book The HISS of the ASP refers instead to Anomalously Sensitive Person, or ASP instead of the more culturally loaded term, “psychic.”  According to Ritchey:

An anomalously high scorer on the HISS Biological (BIO) predispositions scale1 is likely to be a Non-Right-Handed, hypopigmented female who has an other-than-conventional sexual orientation and was born as one of a multiple birth.  S/he would also be likely to report developmental learning disorders, developmental speech disorders, low body temperature, low blood pressure, chronic sinusitis and chronic body pain.

Research by Geschwind and Galaburda discovered a relationship between left handedness and various developmental, immunological and learning disorders.  This was eventually traced to an anomaly in neurophysiological structuring they called “anomalous cerebral dominance” which underlaid the connections.2

Anomalous cerebral dominance is important to psychic ability because this implies a more developed right side of the brain, which is where psychic ability appears to arise from.  Specifically, in telepathy studies, the greatest activation occurred in the right parahippocampal gyrus3. (left side shown)  In addition, the corpus callosum, (the connection between the two sides of the brain) are enlarged in right brained people.

The congruence of the region of activation during “telepathy” by Sean Harribance and Gerard Senehi, especially when the specific electromagnetic and cellular characteristics are considered, suggests the parahippocampal region may be a focus for exploration of the mechanisms by which these phenomena might occur.

 

Female brains are naturally less strongly lateralized (more equal, less one sided) than male brains, and not coincidentally, about two thirds of psychic people are female.

The brain controls the body contralaterally, so the right side of the brain controls the left side of the body and the left brain controls the right.  For that reason, right handedness is more prevalent than left handedness.  (Because most people are left brain dominant.)  Psychic people tend to be either left handed or ambidextrous, but not always.

A dominant right brain naturally produces different thought patterns; specifically, those who are possessed of this feature tend towards more holistic, creative thinking than is ordinary.  Right brain dominance is a matter of degrees and it follows that those who are outliers in this area will have substantially different modes of thinking than is ordinary.  In other words, there are physiological reasons for psychic people to experience strong feelings of being different.  (Because this is physically true.)

Psychic people are referred to here as anomalously sensitive people (ASP’s) because the sensitivities go far beyond psychic ability.  Physiological sensitivities include an over active immune system, psychogenic sensitivities, substance sensitivities and electro-magnetic radiation sensitivities.  In addition there are aesthetic and overload sensitivities.  As a group, psychic people are more vulnerable to allergies and autoimmune diseases and those who are left handed are more prone to accidents than the general population.  However, ASP’s also possess the best neurology for self healing and have a better ability to reduce key stressors and their negative effects through intention.  (ASP’s can make real the placebo effect, as opposed to pretend to be real.  They can convince the body and the benefits become real.)

The anomalous sensitivity extends to emotions with psychic people being strongly associated with a high emotional sensitivity.  In the Meyer Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI) most psychic people fall into the INFJ and INFP categories.  Introverted, intuitive and feeling are characteristics of people whose emotions are finely tuned.  Introverted, because they are easily overwhelmed by the emotions of people around them, intuitive because they respond to information in a feeling way and use feeling for making judgements.

Trauma, both from ordinary accidents and injury as well as abuse, including sexual, plays a part in psychic ability as well.  Disassociation, which is a common psychological protective measure the mind institutes in the presence of intense pain, both mental and physical, is an altered state of consciousness.  Altered states of consciousness are a key factor in psychic experiences.  This is a correlation though, not a cause and effect.  It can be that highly sensitive people, (and children) are magnets for abuse, or maybe not.  Only about 25% of the general population has an inborn capacity to disassociate.  This is roughly the same percentage as those who are born with less lateralized brains, (i.e. right brained)  The correlation is backed up by a study by Kunzendorf and Marsden that linked dissociative experiences and ambidexterity.4

Disassociation is not necessarily a bad thing.  It shields us from experiences of trauma and allows us to cope with everyday life until we heal enough to deal with the pain.  It only becomes a problem when it becomes a habit and leads to an overall lack of ability to feel.  However, this term can also be used in psychology to refer to any altered state experience.  It’s a way that some psychologists shield themselves from having to deal with the reality of psychic ability.

The thing to take away from this information is that psychic ability is strongly related to specific physiological characteristics.  In other words, it is a genetic predisposition that we can no more alter than our sexual orientation.  We feel and act differently because we are wired that way.  We simply can’t help being who we are.  It’s not a mental disease, it’s a bona fide personality type.  I personally think that the huge array of mental issues that surround psychic ability have more to do with the social isolation and low self esteem, combined with a criminal lack of unbiased information that comes from being a repressed minority than from the physiological differences themselves.

 

1 This is a questionnaire for psychic people.  Details about this survey can be found here:  (A Survey for Psychic People)

2 The HISS of the ASP, page 65

3 International Journal of Yoga, 2012, vol. 5, issue 2, pg. 140-145

4 The HISS of the ASP, page 85

24 comments on “The Physiology of Psychic People and Psychic Ability

  1. chris
    July 17, 2014

    I have been experience very weird stuff with my girlfriend recently. She seems to be able to feel things that only I should feel. We have had joint dissociative experiences where we left our bodies together. We were in our spirit form or souls form and it was like we were us but also not. Like we were ancient and known each other for ever but just in this existence we can’t remember all our previous life’s. We were completely good and pure and anything negative about us in this life was only due to events that had occurred during that life. After we had this experience my girlfriend has been experiencing my opiate withdrawal symptoms. I’m a recovering opiate user who is going through the process of detoxing. She has been getting my symptoms and also has been feeling the effects of drugs I take even when not anywhere near me. Yesterday I just licked a small amount of ketamine while she was at tafe and as soon as she got home she got angry at me for doing it coz it made her trip really hard and she was in class. How is this even possible? We also had another vary intense experience where in a dissociated state we were witness to a god or alien or some powerful being. WE knew this being in soul form and hated it. It was like it had been there for eternity just watching. It didn’t care about any of us but was the reason we were here. In our soul form we are extremely powerful and share a lot of similarities with our normal selves except we seem to know things about the world and each other that we don’t know normally. We fought this thing with what I can only describe as our combined mental energies or force. It was just as worried about us seeing it as we were at seeing it. It didn’t like the fact that we had uncovered it’s existence and was confused at how we were doing what we were doing. I felt that if we hadn’t been together this thing would have beaten us but together we were to strong. I tried to draw it from the sky to us coz I wanted to destroy this thing for how it had treated everything. It struggled with us and was trying to get away but I was holding it from escaping. Eventually it broke free and left in a rapid scared fashion. After this we were drained for days. We both struggled to deal with what had happened like we were worried we had gone insane but we are both rational logical people and we both experienced this together. It wasn’t a case of one of us suggesting something and putting the idea in the others head this happened to us at exactly the same time. For about 3 days after it felt like this thing was watching us keeping an eye on us. Like it was worried what we were going to do next but eventually lost interest in us after a few days. Another thing since we floated I’ve had a pain in my left ribs just a few days ago my girlfriend complained about the pain in her left ribs where she had broken it when she was little. It’s in the exact same spot and I only started feeling this after we left our bodies together. It’s like we disassociated and left our bodies while laying together wrapped in each other arms and it’s almost as though coz our souls were tangled while we were floating we either each brang back a little of the others soul with us or created some sort of telepathic connection between me and my girlfriend. The other thing that makes this weirder is that before these couple of events I didn’t believe people even had souls and certainly didn’t not believe in telepathy or anything spiritual much so this has been a massive life event for me. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

  2. Sara
    June 25, 2014

    This has shed some light on a lot of things for me.

    I have been able to feel places for as long as I can remember.

    When I was 12 we moved into a Victorian house and the bedroom I chose was where the previous owner had died on a Halloween night. I always felt like she was watching over me.

    I live in San Diego and I can’t go into the Whaley House because it makes me physically sick.
    There are other places I avoid because they just feel wrong and/or bad and they make me feel sick to my stomach.

    I once had to move out of an apartment because shadow people came out of the floor when I was trying to go to sleep, and I knew if I did, something bad would happen.

    I have experienced feeling both the good spirit of a little girl and the very bad spirit of I don’t know what (I wouldn’t get close enough to find out) in the same house, at the same time.

    I clearly heard the voice of a family friend, who had died in an accident a couple of months earlier, Clearly saying my name and recently my boyfriend’s mother who was murdered in 1985 (and who I never met) came to me and let me know she wanted me to tell him that she loved him and she told me to take care of him.
    Luckily for me, he is open to these things because she wouldn’t leave me alone until I told him.

    I have seen auras localized at injured areas of (2) people’s backs while giving a massage.

    I am an HSP, I have ADHD, Ulcerative Colitis and chronic back and neck problems.

    I have never felt like I was crazy, but have always known I was different.

  3. Tara
    May 2, 2014

    I would love to talk or email with you.

    • craigweiler
      May 2, 2014

      you can reach me at craig @ weiler.com

      just remove the spaces.

  4. geawiel
    May 2, 2014

    I stumbled across this while searching why animals seem to be naturally drawn to me. I’ve been curious for a long time about some oddly heightened intuition I seem to have. I don’t fall under a lot of the “normal” criteria listed on here though. I’m male, I’m mostly right handed (there are a handful of things that I do left handed) and I’m not a part of multiple births. My sister and I are separated by about 1.5 yrs. I was abused as a kid though, by my step father. I also wasn’t all that popular in school. In 2006, at the age of 27, I developed what I would much later find out is a kind of fibromyalgia that causes intense pain in the lower half of my body. Up until then though, I had no pain issues. I wish people would do studies just for the science of it still, and not for monetary gain. I’d love to see a good, in depth study of this subject.

  5. Anonymous
    March 10, 2014

    I have psychic ability. Have had an autoimmune disorder since I was twelve. Have had sinus problems for years, as well as allergies.

  6. David Pickard Wyllie
    January 15, 2014

    For forty years we, The Iology Institute and TAG training International have been coaching people in telepathy, remote viewing and the reading of auras amongst other things. with in one month we are getting a 100% success rate with about 80% accuracy. this vastly improves with practice. I am personally of the opinion that all people are naturally psychic, most seem to be ‘educated’ away from their ability, but it is easy for anyone who wants to to redevelop all their skills. http://www.growthpoint.com

  7. anon
    September 4, 2013

    Great article.

  8. Anonymous
    August 13, 2013

    amazing ariticle thanks for sharing and this is giving me light as to why i have always felt out of it at times, turns out I am en empath and medium
    thanks
    !

  9. Carrie
    August 8, 2013

    Wow! I feel so much better. I was feeling quite down today because I struggle with my abilities. I am left handed, a female with allergies and have been a type 1 diabetic my whole life but rarely do I get sick. While my teachers told my parents I am intelligent I never had many friends and still don’t. Often I meet with a professional psychic for guidance because she is the only one who understands what it is like. Coincidentally she said one time, “Your father has your abilities, he is just shy so he won’t bring it up.” My father is also left handed.

  10. Sapphyreopal5
    August 2, 2013

    I have a question. I happen to have always been more “sensitive” in terms of other people’s feelings, thoughts, etc. and have been asked by many if I am “psychic”. My mother has been afraid of me because of the things I’d find out or learn about my past and about her (via dreams or “telepathy”). I’ve always seen “shadow people” and other types of entities or other strange “things” both in “real life” and in the dream world. Too many times in my life have I had precognitive dreams (usually nothing too major but still enough to notice I had a dream of this beforehand) and even a few clairvoyant dreams, both of which are long stories that can’t really be shared in a single comment. Sometimes I will touch someone’s hand, arm, something and then suddenly I hear a bunch of talking and see a series of images (whether they’re thoughts or memories, I couldn’t really say); eventually some of the things I’ve heard or seen would come from them in a conversation one way or another and is like experiencing “deja vu” in the sense because it was like they told me this already but never did!

    I generally have a pretty strong immune system and very rarely get sick, nor do I have any known allergies. Because of the many things that I’ve seen, experienced, etc. and how people would sometimes start to become afraid of me (including my own mother), I’ve tried to shut down this part of me. For instance one time about 10 years ago not long after I tried to suppress my abilities, I got sick with bronchitis. I ended up having to go to the doctor and got medication for it. About 8 years ago I tried to suppress my abilities again and ended up having tremors in my right arm for a couple days (and also experienced some visual blackness). My parents took me to the hospital and as a result, the doctors couldn’t find anything physically wrong with me (no dehydration, physical exhaustion, fatigue, etc.). Interestingly enough, whenever I would “reactivate” my abilities realizing they’re part of who I am, the ailments stop. I sometimes experience odd physical ailments when I am not trying to suppress them although I tend to “know” if they’re ailments or it means I’m going to see/experience something soon.

    Is it possible that psychic abilities are not just restricted to the mind but are in fact possibly ingrained in the immune system of people who are psychic? I realize this blog is about them having a different physiology but I am curious as to whether or not being psychic is literally part of their immune system, rather than psychic people just having a different biology. I hope this post makes sense XD

    • Sapphyreopal5
      August 2, 2013

      I also happen to be ambidextrous (am “stuck in the middle” as far as which side of the brain I use dominantly goes as well). On the MBTI I also test as being INFJ. I also tend to hide my sensitivity rather well but have always felt my sensitivity inside and sometimes can’t help but show it externally as well.

      • craigweiler
        August 2, 2013

        INFJ? Welcome to the club. It’s regarded as the most psychic personality type.

    • craigweiler
      August 2, 2013

      Your question is fortunately easy. Suppressing your abilities stresses your body and weakens your immune system. Not to mention the fact that you will subconsciously rebel, which is the most probable cause of your psi related ailments.

      • Sapphyreopal5
        August 26, 2013

        Your response makes a lot of sense to me. I’ve always felt that I needed to “maintain” this part of me in order to really thrive. It sometimes gets tough though because of how I scare people off because of “knowing” too much frequently too soon XD

  11. sigrid2012
    May 26, 2013

    As I’m psychic and right handed I started wondering about the findings of right handed versus left handed. I was tested to find out what side of my brain I favor and the results were tested more than once because they showed I favor neither side of my brain. Perhaps that explains, in part, why I’m psychic, but also right handed.

    • craigweiler
      May 26, 2013

      If you favor neither side of your brain, you are essentially a right brained person because the norm is to favor the left side.

      And yes, I think there is something to that. I’m also right handed and tend to be balanced in my thinking, yet psychic.

  12. Nancy
    October 1, 2012

    I haven’t considered myself psychic– more an empath– though have never been so well described. The most difficult part in my experience has been the perception I have of being able to see clearly whether someone else presents as who they are or are posers no matter what their station in life. This is very off putting for many people it would seem which leads to a certain amount of isolation for ASPs if others experience the same. As for puppet masters they can be darn near hostile so I avoid them altogether. The downside of being an empath is knowing when someone doesn’t like you! Thank you so much for this blog it reminds me that I need to seek out “like minded” people to be around.
    Nancy

  13. Alex Staines
    September 7, 2012

    Fantastic stuff Craig. As a down-the-line psychic, I fit the ASP psychological and emotional typology to the letter (though I’m not particularly an ‘emo’ physical type)!
    Thank you for your excellent blog – a group of us weirdos here in Wellington, New Zealand are really benefiting from it. Nobel Prize for services to the psychic community? Cheers, Alex.

  14. Lynn
    August 21, 2012

    We bought this book because of this blog, Craig. So much of what is mentioned here applies to my husband’s situation, particularly the “placebo effect.” It’s fascinating.

    • craigweiler
      August 21, 2012

      Yeah, it is. It’s a really good book.

  15. Stephen Rogers
    August 14, 2012

    This is all vert politically correct in its tone – and, have you ever considered that ”time” as we know it, only exists as a construct of our ”earthly” awareness?

    • craigweiler
      August 14, 2012

      Yes. I think that is right. There is also some physics to back up that idea.

      • Dave
        July 16, 2014

        I’ve had conversations with people via a friend (who is psychic) who have passed and they have said that time doesn’t matter/apply where they are. I’ve also had a conversation with someone who passed who didn’t realise it had been months (in our sense of time) since his death. He died by suicide and knew he was dead but thought it had just happened recently. When I told him the date he was really surprised. I’ve had many conversations with people who have passed. It’s enlightening/sad/entertaining to say the least. When I probe with certain questions, I get told there are ‘rules’. This has happened on several occasions with different people/spirits.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 11, 2012 by in Alternative Science, parapsychology, Psychic's Psychology.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 534 other followers

