The Weiler Psi

Parapsychology Journalism: The People, The Theory, The Science, The Skeptics

Jobs for Psychic People


Everyone who is psychic goes through this at some point in their lives. We notice that we have this unusual ability and we seek to take advantage of it. I’ve seen a few people using search to look for jobs and landing on this blog and it’s an important topic, so I’m addressing it today. In terms of making a living, what good is being psychic?

Most people immediately think of becoming a psychic, so let me address that first. I got involved in that area doing psychic healings and lasted about two years. In that time a got a very good look at what the business of being psychic is.

Most psychics use tarot cards or something similar. This provides structure to the reading and allows a the psychic a break from constantly being in someone else’s head. The downside is that if you’re a tarot reader, take a number. You have a lot of competition. It’s relatively easy and so attracts a large number of wannabe psychics.

If you are a practicing psychic, you are running a small, single person service business with a low barrier to entry. Pick up any New Age advertising rag and look through it. You will see an enormous number of people doing the same thing you are. Trying to differentiate yourself is next to impossible. You are subject to all the rules of normal business: Advertising, marketing, sales and customer service.

You are limited to what people will pay you, which varies regionally, and because of the constant influx of new people and the pressure of competition, you will find it hard to raise your rates. It is not an eight hour a day job at $60 an hour. Some days you get no clients and others you get only one. The high labor rate doesn’t look so good when that happens.

For most people, it is a part time job to supplement their main income. So to sum up, few people break out of the pack in this profession. Most people are in it for a year or two and then drop out due to lack of income. It is hard to get started and there is a cap on the income of most psychics. It requires years to get established. Do you love it that much? Personally, I’ve always found giving readings to be boring, repetitive and frustrating.

Psychic people are drawn to help others and if you really feel strongly about this, go out and get a degree and become a psychologist. You will not be limited to people looking for readings, you will not be expected to be psychic all the time and you will be able to use your ability to its full advantage. If your ability isn’t working for you, you will have other skills to fall back on. Once you are credentialed, you are in an entirely different class and have credibility most psychics will never achieve. No one has to believe in your psychic skills; you’re just “really intuitive.”

Psychic ability, in fact, is at its best as a fall back skill without the pressure of performing all the time. It works best when it’s used with another complementary skill, and that can be any number of things. I use it all the time in construction when problems or customers create challenges for me. Don’t put it on your resume though, unless you’re looking to discourage potential employers. Psychics are perceived as flaky and undependable regardless of the truth.

While I’m at it, let’s talk about the limitations of being psychic. You probably will never be comfortable working in an office environment. Most truly psychic people end up in either very small offices or working for themselves so that they can reduce the stress of being around other tense people all the time. You will have to take into account your extremely high creativity and what that says about the kind of job you can stand. Bouncing around from job to job is common among psychic people because boredom and sameness are incredibly unpleasant experiences for us.

If you’re truly psychic, you can be a leader of sorts, but generally, you can give up on your dreams of running a large organization. That sort of responsibility is extremely draining to psychic people and we’re not really in love with power enough to have the ambition to seek it anyway. It also means rarely being alone or in nature, things we have to have for our own sanity.

Your psychic skill can help you, but my advice is that unless being a psychologist is appealing to you, don’t try to rely on it to make a living. You will be better served by developing other skills and using your ability to augment it.

8 comments on “Jobs for Psychic People

  1. brightheart2x
    October 7, 2017

    I think this is literally the most negative article.

  2. Vman
    December 30, 2016

    I use to be psychic but then the world overwelmed me with other desires to fit in so little by little my kundalini started changing.
    And before some time I resonated with the same desires of the world. I havent lost it all but fell comfortably numb in doing what others do mainly because I could not see other options at the time as I was extremely judgemental and anxious. Anyhow maybe most people are naturally psychic but fail to develop them in a prestine environment and we are the privlaged hey

  3. Hecateia (Liz) Sparacio
    December 27, 2016

    Thank you

  4. Desi
    June 10, 2016

    I work as a professional reader and have for over a decade. I also studied counseling techniques, cognitive behavior therapy techniques and coaching techniques so his post is not wrong. I use these skills in my intuitive readings. I also have as an intuitive human resource consultant. Basically helping to get a sense of executive hires. I have used my skills in depositions as a legal consultant to get a sense of how honest a person is being. Getting an education on to of being an intuitive can be a powerful combination.

  5. Little Gray Feather
    November 19, 2015

    I have been doing this since I was a kid but started helping others with it not long into adolescense. Looking for work that will not have to be reported for tax information.
    I have outgrown tools, and all I need to hear is the persons voice. I just need them to talk a bit so I can tune in. Anything in recommendation?

  6. Jack L Harrison
    October 19, 2011

    As was said you are right on the money. I wish I could go back and if I did there was no money for education I grew up very poor, that I would have persued psychology. It is nice to know that there are people who understand and threw my experience in life there are many of us and yes we are looked upon as weird by others who do not understand. If I may say why hide our abilities under a mask of another profession. I hope the day will come when all will recognize there abilities that are much greater than what they use now and bring us to a higher level of excistence. It’s not about that we have who we are but that we are excepted and understood. As with all things the wheel of time turns slowly. I can’t stop being me and being me is not easy so if I may use the term battle then the battle goes on. I didn’t make me I am what who is seeking to understand and to know. If any out there feels they are rejected than further from the truth can not be. Just be YOU and LOOK Within for answers for all are of a place to be that you bring to the battle that which is to learn and not hide but stand that time would stand still without us.

  7. Eric
    June 18, 2009

    Instead of using my guidence system to make money for me, I have found it a way to win friends. I have found this very rewarding, and it saved me when I was laid off. Tech support is a great way to use the gift.

  8. precogmama
    February 2, 2009

    Great article, you are right on the money with this.

Leave a Reply

