The Weiler Psi

Parapsychology Journalism: The People, The Theory, The Science, The Skeptics

Psi in Animals


The date: Sometime in August 1923. Bobbie, a large dog, two years old, mostly collie, but said to be part English sheep dog, began his incredible journey.

His family, the Braziers, were restaurant owners who were vacationing in a small Indiana town, far from their Silverton, Oregon home. They became separated. The family had to return home, leaving Bobbie in Indiana.

So, Bobbie traveled, alone, westward to reunite with his family. At first, he was trying to find his bearings, wandering in circles, as people do when they are lost, traveling miles, but only about a couple of hundred of them in the right direction. In late fall, he began to find the journey toward home.

He trekked through Illinois and Iowa. Sometimes, he caught his own dinner. Other times, people fed him and gave him shelter for a night or longer.

Hoboes shared their food with him. During Thanksgiving, a family took him in for several weeks. Then, it was time for him to move on.

He lost a lot of weight during his journey. He swam across rivers, including the Missouri, filled with ice. He crossed the Rocky Mountains.

Finally, in February, he reached home and entered the family restaurant. He went to the second floor living quarters where Frank Brazier was sleeping, jumped on the bed and licked Frank’s face. This ended the 3,000 mile six month long journey.

The president of the Oregon Humane Society authenticated this amazing feat. The route was reconstructed and people who saw or took care of Bobbie were interviewed.

Bobbie did not follow Frank’s east/west route and appeared to have traveled thousands of miles over land he had never been in, land he had not seen, smelled or, in any way was familiar, yet, he found his way home.

Dr.s Joseph Rhine and Sara Feather of Duke University described five categories of widely observed psychic behavior in animals:

1. reaction to impending danger to itself or its master
2. reaction to the death of its master at a distance
3. anticipation of a master’s return
4. homing
5. trailing. (Finding its owner over unfamiliar terrain and sometimes to a previously unknown location.)

Of these, trailing was the most compelling. Here are some stories that were verified. When cases are evaluated for psi-trailing, there are four major criteria that are used:

1) The reliability of the witnesses.
2) Positive identification of the animal, such as a deformity, scar or name tag.
3) How credible and consistent the details are.
4) Adequate corroborative evidence, such as other witnesses.

Over several years, they found 54 cases of cats, dogs and birds that met these criteria. If we think about it, we have to ask, what are the odds of a cat traveling 500 miles over unfamiliar terrain and finding its owner? Well, just for the heck of it, let’s divide the choices by mile, so that every mile traveled represents three chances that fail and one that succeeds. A 1 in 4 chance. Maybe the cat is lucky and corrects every so often so that the chances are 1 in 2 every mile for going the right direction. What are the odds? By the 25th mile that cat’s chance of finding its home is .000003% We can safely rule out chance as an explanation.

Animals appear to know when disaster is about to strike as well.

According to Rupert Sheldrake,
In this article:

any animals escaped the great Asian tsunami on Boxing Day, 2004. Elephants in Sri Lanka and Sumatra moved to high ground before the giant waves struck; they did they same in Thailand, trumpeting before they did so. According to a villager in Bang Koey, Thailand, a herd of buffalo were grazing by the beach when they “suddenly lifted their heads and looked out to sea, ears standing upright.” They turned and stampeded up the hill, followed by bewildered villagers, whose live were thereby saved. At Ao Sane beach, near Phuket, dogs ran up to the hill tops, and at Galle in Sri Lanka, dog owners were puzzled by the fact that their animals refused to go for their usual morning walk on the beach. In Cuddalore District in South India, buffaloes, goats and dogs escaped, and so did a nesting colony of flamingos that flew to higher ground. In the Andaman Islands “stone age” tribal groups moved away from the coast before the disaster, alerted by the behaviour of animals.

This bolsters my previous argument for Psi as an evolutionary survival skill.

Also documented by Rupert Sheldrake is a dog named Jaytee: What made this dog unique was the remarkable ability it had to know when its owner was coming home:

n more than 200 trials with a dog called Jaytee, it was found that on 80 percent of the occasions when his owner went out, the dog anticipated her return by going to wait for her at a window (Sheldrake and Smart 1998; 2000). Jaytee usually began to wait just before the time she set off, to come home. Her journeys lasted more than ten minutes and were from places more than nine km away. He still anticipated her returns when no one at home knew when she would be coming, and when she travelled in unfamiliar vehicles such as taxis (Sheldrake and Smart 1998). He also anticipated her returns when he was left on his own (Sheldrake and Smart 2000).

Note: Before commenting on this study, skeptics might want to read this. (This is not the first time I’ve come across this sort of thing.)

In one study, it was found that a parrot had telepathy.

What does all this mean? First, as long as the study is properly prepared, the only variable is the animal which can be assumed to be free from self delusion, fraud and other human traits. We can also safely assume that if we are indeed finding Psi in animals, humans must have it too.

If we’re finding psychic ability in animals, we can assume that they possess consciousness. It also raises the question, where does this stop? Do trees have psi ability? It also further strengthens the idea that consciousness is universal and not limited to a particular species of anything. I find myself taking a leap here. What if consciousness is simply a universal constant, present in everything?

Where does it stop?

8 comments on “Psi in Animals

  1. Michelle
    March 28, 2016

    Also, I forgot to mention that my dog seems to have a strong psychic connection with me. She never barks when I am coming home. I open the door, and she is there, squeezing her nose in the crack, wagging her tail. It doesn’t matter if I was dropped off at the door, if the car was parked (we don’t have a garage or driveway) and then we walked to the door, or if I simply walked up to the door (not having used a car). It doesn’t matter if she was home alone, or if her “grandma” (my mom) was with her. If my mom walks in the door with me, she still does not bark. Basically, if I’m coming home, there is no barking. I do wonder if this effect could simply be due to a dog’s strong sense of smell. I heard of one case in which a bloodhound recovered a woman that had been abducted by scenting her SKIN FLAKES which were dispersed at the edge of a highway where her abductor’s car was driving. The strength and skill of a dog’s nose is truly staggering.

    Yet she always loses her mind when her “grandma” (my mom) comes home. Even when I tell her it’s grandma, she still barks her fool head off. And of course, if there are visitors (even when she knows & loves them well), she hears the mailman, or people walking by, she barks like she is going to kill someone O_O So why does she bark at her grandma and other people that she loves (she knows them by name)? You would think that her nose knows….. Is this explained by saying that she has a strong psychic connection with me exclusively?

    I did bottle-feed her puppy formula when I first brought her home when she was only 5 weeks old, she sleeps in my bed every night, and I spend every day at home, as I am self-employed, so it makes sense that she would have a stronger connection with me. When she was younger, she became absolutely distraught at being separated from me (she screamed like she was being abducted when my mom walked ahead with her). Now she doesn’t freak out as much, but she still looks back at me several times until I am out of sight (I am walking the very old, very slow dog, and let my mom take her because she is impatient).

    There are times when she seems to understand my intent before I say anything or do anything to give it away. She seems to understand me when I speak to her, and she quickly learns new phrases. I don’t even need to dumb it down for her (dog trainers will often tell you to use only one word, and use it consistently), but I often speak in full sentences to her, and use several different words/sounds for the exact same meaning. Yet she does not get confused. I think this may be due to a deep psychic connection between us.

  2. Michelle
    March 28, 2016

    The story of Bobbie reminded me of something. They say that when a dog is turning in circles before they lay down to go to sleep, they are orientating themselves using the planet’s electromagnetic field….
    Could Bobbie have been doing the exact same thing but on a larger scale???????? Did Bobbie use the planet’s electromagnetic field to find his way home???

  3. Lee
    January 29, 2015

    Heres a dog story of Psi

    Each morning before i went to work on my motorbike i would stroke my dog on the way out on this particular morning she barked incessantly as i walked to my motorbike i felt something was wrong walked back to stroke her again she wouldn’t stop even as i drove off, i felt something was wrong and drove a different way to work but came back the same way on the evening = car hit me at the lights 3 week stay in hospital

    Thank you Duchess you did try!

  4. AUSTIN
    October 23, 2009

    do you think that mabye bad spirits where tied to it at the time when sadie was barking

    • craigweiler
      October 23, 2009

      I’m sorry, I just don’t know. If I told you anything I’d just be guessing. Personally, I don’t spend too much time thinking about things like that. It’s not a problem you can solve.

  5. AUSTIN
    October 22, 2009

    do yuo know the board game called ouiji where you put your hands on this thing and it moves around the board and spells stuff as you ask it a question well one night i was sleeping and my dog woke me up and got up and started barking at the board and growling isnt that wierd!!!!!!

    • craigweiler
      October 22, 2009

      I do know what a ouiji board is. They were popular when I was a kid. That certainly is interesting how your dog acted. I don’t know what to make of it.

    • Michelle
      March 28, 2016

      I would listen to my dog if I were you. Your dog thinks that ouiji boards are bad news. They are not a toy.

Leave a Reply

