The Weiler Psi

Parapsychology Journalism: The People, The Theory, The Science, The Skeptics

Smorgasbord Religion: The Psychic Person’s Way


I was having dinner with my wife and a longtime friend of ours who is psychic and a few years older than us and she got onto the subject of religion. I told her flat out that as a psychic person she didn’t believe any of that stuff, but she went on as though she didn’t hear me. I pressed her on it and finally got her with some reluctance to confess that although she was involved in religious activities from time to time, she didn’t pay a lick of attention to the bible or any of the priests.

“I have a direct line to God.” she said, “why the heck would I listen to them? They don’t know anything!” Actually, that applies to pretty much every psychic I’ve ever known, and includes myself. Oh, everyone is polite about it and couches it in non confrontational words, but it all comes down to the same thing: With regards to religions, psychics tend to keep their own counsel.

Since we all know what it’s like to receive “divine” information and can do it at the drop of a hat, it’s pretty easy to spot it when someone can’t. I know that I took a great interest in spirituality as a child and when I’ve brought this up with other psychic people, they’ve said the same thing. So perhaps this is just part of the psychic journey. We investigate spirituality early and in religion we sense the presence of pointless dogma even if we can’t articulate it. At some point it dawns on us that “hey! They’re clueless!” Priests, pastors and the like were the first authority figures I stopped paying attention to. (Many more authority figures from all walks of life would eventually make that list.)

In describing their religious views, psychic people show themselves to be pretty picky about the concepts they’ll adopt. I’ve normally heard words like compassionate, loving, caring; A sense of oneness, being linked to humanity and the world, a closeness to nature and the unity of all religions are also part of what I have typically heard. Punishment, guilt, fear and damnation are simply not part of the psychic spirituality. I have yet to meet a psychic person who thinks anyone is going to Hell. (Isn’t it just the smoking section anyway?)

While most psychic who embrace religion are content to simply pretzel logic themselves into believing the best of the church they’re affiliated with, others find it simply too tedious and make up their own stuff. Such is the case with famous psychic Sylvia Browne, who decided that when it comes to religion, it’s better to start with fresh ingredients. She created The Society of Novus Spiritus. And right there on the front page of their official site is what could probably taken as the religious creed of every psychic:

“Take what you like and leave the rest behind.”

Is that a psychic’s way to look at religion or what? True to her psychic roots, the description of the organization is as follows:

In April 1986, Sylvia Browne embarked upon the most important chapter of her life. She founded a spiritual organization called Society of Novus Spiritus. This decision was a natural extension of her love for God and for all of humanity. Novus is Sylvia’s monument to God, a forum to express the joy and love that is God – with no fear, no guilt, no sin, no hell, and no Satan. Through Novus, Sylvia gives the world a means to understand God, Life, and the reason for Being.

If she had never uttered a single psychic prediction, this alone practically stamps “psychic person” on her forehead. We all seem to draw a line in the sand when it comes to how we perceive religion and we all pretty much draw that line in the same place. What’s up with that? Why are we so consistent in how we handle this area of our lives?

Here’s my explanation and it’s a naturalistic one. When we think of God, none of us imagine the Old White Guy In The Sky. There is really no specific deity presence anyone can sense. If such a thing existed we would all be as aware of it as we are the sun. There would be no missing such a thing psychically. When faced with the concept of God, we take it to mean this feeling of connectedness and in order to have that feeling, we need to open up to love and compassion. What we take for God is really the collective consciousness of each other and the universe. It is vast and powerful enough to be perceived as God and can serve any purpose of God we care to assign to it.

The Guy in the Sky and the concept of Hell are objective reality concepts and therefore cannot possibly exist in our universe which has no objective reality. Entanglement, which demonstrates a quantum level connection between all things pretty much translates spiritually into all of us being part of the same “thing” with no separation. So punishing others is just a way of hurting ourselves. It leaves no room for anyone to be chosen by God because if just one person is, we all are and if we all are, then it is meaningless.

As psychic people, we get this intuitively, which is why our versions of spirituality are so similar. When we check things out spiritually, we are going down that quantum rabbit hole and we’re all seeing the same thing; we’re so certain of it that we reject all the parts of religion which don’t agree with it and adopt those that do.

That’s what I think is happening. It has seemed to fit so far, but it’s not dogma for me. I’ll change it if better information comes along.

10 comments on “Smorgasbord Religion: The Psychic Person’s Way

  1. Amanda
    September 19, 2014

    I’m one myself–and while I firmly agree with the “take what works for you and ditch the rest” philosophy, in all other respects I am the opposite. I don’t believe in god or a creator of any kind, nor in a unifying spirit; there are too many levels of consciousness for that to hold true. Or, looked at another way, too many realities and shades of reality. It’s too restricting for my tastes.

    To me, time, spirit, everything–it’s an ocean that you can traverse at will in any direction you choose. Past and future, time itself, is irrelevant. So is death, and an individual life, whether it’s ours or someone else’s. This life is but a fraction of a second, and with what I can see…I hate it, but I have a hard time seeing anything I experience here as important. It all feels like a repeat, in one way or another.

    You stand in a room and throw a dart at the wall. The hole it leaves behind is the physical life; the room itself is your soul’s existence. Beyond death, beyond any one life, the entire network–with some restrictions on it, since this is a starter world and the abilities we can manifest are limited–is open. Most of what happens here is human only; it affects only the body, and the part of me that’s trapped here. Light and dark, good and evil…all just constructs that we apply for convenience, because we can’t conceive of either idea without a way to compare it to something else. Nothing sticks, whether it’s joy or pain…though if anything is going to, it’s the extreme forms of either.

    This was my answer to the question. If it helps someone, cool. If you’d rather believe in love and light, God or what have you, more power to ya. Most of the time, I wish that I could have that kind of faith…but in the end, I’d rather have the knowledge–even when it hurts.

  2. Brandie
    August 12, 2014

    Dear Craig,

    I think presenting all or at least a majority of psychics as non religious, or to cool to care would be false. Religion is a beautiful thing. The philosophy and the stories behind them are everlasting and archetypal. Sincerely, I believe some psychics are very devoted to a single religion. Religion for certain people could be therapeutic, fulfilling, and grounding in a way that’s unattainable in everyday life. Especially for people who were raised in such an environment. Though the question becomes- how were they taught? Does it enhance their perception of reality or shrink it?

    I’ve noticed the method used to teach people can be quite oppressive, angry, and strict. There’s no room for thoughts or wonder…or at least nothing that’s deemed potentially blasphemous. Unfortunately many things could be taken out of context, and seen as negative. That’s from my experience though. The Christian community is very inclusive yet open, but only to a certain sort of program. My family was very strict as well. My grandmother is a down home Christian, so most of things that came out of my mouth was quite ignored. She tried forcing Christianity down my throat, but I got fed up every time. It incensed me that she’d tried to force something that I wanted to accept naturally. I’ve always felt connected to the Lord, Universe, or whatever. I’ve had different titles for it over the years, but it’s still the same. Never once did I feel I needed to find God, because he’s already here. The constant feeling of reassurance and protection was present. I never really feared anything, truly. I clash w/ my family and that’s fine. What makes me want to scream is the fact they refuse to “really” accept the way I see things. It’s not going to stay static forever, it’ll change, it always does, but those are my views and perceptions. I’m interested in the philosophies, and different aspects of religions. Yes, I often have different beliefs that are a combination of them. I see nothing wrong w/ it. The whole guilt tripping, and hell burning ish needs to stop.
    I’m not saying it doesn’t exist, because I don’t know. There’s no one alive that knows everything.

    But from what I’ve read so far from Michael Mott’s book that was excellently written, and dabbed into various religions, and spiritualities…hell is nothingness. The complete separation from creation/God. The Void. It’s a bit complicated, but highly interesting. I remember listening to a man on Youtube who had a NDE. He wasn’t really religious before it, but during the event he recalls a golden living stream, and a blackness so dark, and deep it was indescribable. Both sides wanted him, but he was frozen by the vast darkness, that was alive yet not. He said, it was “cold”. There was nothing. It wanted him. If he was swallowed by it, it would’ve been like an echo chamber of no return. It seems some spiritualities, and religions point to “Hell” being in the far north. I know people think of fire and brimstone, but maybe they should think of ice as well. A vast abyss of nothingness…not a nice thought. lol
    Luckily he chose the golden stream…

    I consider religion and spirituality to be two different things. I think religion can be life affirming for some psychics. Religion can be deep, but most people don’t take time to scratch the surface. To say God is some man in the clouds, and to say the devil is some red imp w/ a pitchfork, show’s that people understand nothing at all. It all depends how your introduced to the subject matter. Some will click w/ it and others won’t. Simple.

  3. anon
    January 24, 2014
  4. Satellite41
    January 17, 2014

    Craig, I wish we were neighbors. There’s so much I’d like to talk with you about and in person. I wish I could show you what happens when I pray for things, and even when I just think of things and then the results. The results do vary, and in the most interesting ways. I can manifest things, I can SEE INSIDE of people, the Spirit (whatever the Spirit is– I’m still not sure) and I communicate, my dreams are fantastic and insightful, and when I fail to do my moral duty (or whatever it is I’m supposed to be doing but not) someone from what I call the Dragonfly Authority shows up to let me know I’m out of line. I did suppress my abilities for most of my young life–from the public. Alone, I’ve always been free to be. Now, I share it with my mate. And, you’re right: IT never leaves.

    As for The “headaches,” they are receptors either growing or shrinking inside of the brain. Nothing to be afraid of.

    Here’s what everyone needs to know:
    We have a geographical responsibility to drive up energy. Just Do It.
    And, God does not exist on a cloud.

  5. And, you know, if so many people — when they think of this “God” being — all come up with “Old White Guy In The Sky” at once, and is the first thing they think of…why not just go with it?

  6. In defense of the “old white guy in the sky” can we perhaps accept that our collective consciousness of that particular spirit is also a true being? I happen to like him. And, he is quite helpful at times.

  7. anon
    September 8, 2013

    “We investigate spirituality early and in religion we sense the presence of pointless dogma even if we can’t articulate it.”

    ——————-

    My experience has been almost diametrically the opposite, Craig. In religion I found an oasis in the desert. A bottomless well from which to drink, and drink, and drink. Where I could finally be replenished. A source of ancient timeless wisdom that I could return to, again and again. And not get bored with. A sphere where I could be truly and authentically myself. Where I could finally stop posing and acting. Does it mean that I am not really psychic? Maybe.

    I’m deeply introverted, and not much for any kind of groups, so religious groups themselves hold little attraction for me. But neither do political groups.

    For a while, years ago, I tried participating on some HSP-related Internet forums. I found, what someone else worded much better, and which I will try to paraphrase here: “just because we shared a common temperament, it did not mean that we had much else in common”. We had some similar life experiences, but we interpreted and understood them in a multiplicity of ways. What might have brought solace and peace to one person, would simply irk me and leave me unsatisfied. And vice versa, most probably.

    Building on a quote from Tim Leary that I remember reading years ago…I don’t find a distinction between “religion” and “spirituality” to be personally helpful, inspiring or meaningful. At all. Though I prefer the word “religion”, to me it’s all the same thing, the same sphere. And I would throw in magick and the paranormal in there as well.

    To me, God is as magical and fascinating now as Bigfoot and the Loch Ness monster were in childhood, or as Crowley and Robert Anton Wilson were, many years later. Actually, much more so.

    During my high school phase of exploring different World religions I became interested in a monistic view of God, or of “ultimate reality”/whatever. I guess you could say that I fell in love with it. Influenced in large part by a New Age-ified three-way marriage of higher-level physics (which I didn’t really understand, anyway, but simply took on faith), Buddhism and Daoism, I was charmed by the idea of the “Perennial Philosophy”.

    The idea of a supreme Oneness behind all the variety. Quantum mechanics and the mystics of the various traditions were all saying the same thing!! Or so I thought. An underlying unity under the multiplicity of forms. I would borrow “The Tao of Physics”, “The Dancing Wu Li Masters”, or “Turbulent Mirror”, and other such paperbacks, from my father’s bookshelf. What’s not to like? I had it all figured out, finally. 🙂 And it gave me peace, satisfied me. For a short while, anyway. Until I tried to live it, to embody it in a real and honest way.

    How can I say this without sounding like an asshole? I outgrew it.

    It became part of the story, but no longer the whole story. Nor the most interesting part of the story.

    The variety within Divinity itself became the attraction. A multiplicity of Divine forms and understandings of the Divine. And an almost endless collection of multifarious ways of relating to IT. Different forms bringing solace and inspiring devotion in different persons, depending on their natures, desires, hopes and inclinations. All of that is much higher in my eyes than any Oneness. Which I no longer see as being underlying or supreme, but simply as another manifestation, suited to a particular taste. And no longer to my taste. I could go on, but…

    • craigweiler
      September 8, 2013

      If you have settled on a single religion and this works for you, that is awesome. It never worked for me. I will point out the following:

      You have explored different religions
      Spirituality is important to you

      That seems to be a common thread.

      • anon
        September 8, 2013

        🙂

  8. Mike
    August 15, 2012

    This is very true! This is another subject that hasn’t received much attention in the psychic world. I grew up in a Christian home and it was very strict. I was always the one to question everything and I always hated being there. It wasn’t because I hated “God”, it was because I always saw past all the brain washing. I would sense things and see things and they would always pass it off as being a “prophet” and I was deemed that for a long time, still am to some. I was able to touch people and they would miraculously be healed. I became somewhat of a local legend in my small community and I walked away from all of it about a year ago. I knew that I wasn’t being honest with everyone, and I could tell them what they wanted to hear as a “prophet”. It came to the point that I just had to go and stop pretending. I am now in the closet so to speak to some and some knows that I am psychic and have never believed in “God”. It has always been very, very hard for me in the bible belt and I have no support to some degree, besides my own household. I have found out that when it comes to religion, it’s one of those things you cannot touch with certain people. I really feel for the kids that are growing up in these homes and are having to depress their gifts and/or pass them off as something they are not.

Leave a Reply

