The Weiler Psi

Parapsychology Journalism: The People, The Theory, The Science, The Skeptics

Other People’s Emotions: How Do I Get a +5 Spell of Protection?


Whammo!  It felt like everything was fine, but now I’m depressed for no reason at all.  I don’t know why until I bump into my good friend Joe later in the day.  Turns out he lost his job and he feels like a total failure and hopeless loser.  Now I know what the problem is: I’m feeling his emotions with him.  My empathy is dragging me into his crap.

Does this suck or what?  Yet as psychic people, this is what we go through on a regular basis and frankly, we get tired of being so sensitive to everyone and everything around us.

This sensitivity to the emotions of others is how many people discover their psychic abilities.  It usually involves being in such close contact with other people that you can make the connection between what you’re feeling and what other people are feeling.  Because people generally hide how they’re really feeling, it takes time to put the pieces together.  For me, this happened when I was in the dorms in college and for Kyra Mesich Psy.D. a clinical psychologist, it happened when she started seeing patients:

While working as a psychologist several years ago, I had an experience that challenged the very core of my understanding of emotions.  I had received years of training in psychological theory.  I had an understanding of the reasons behind people’s emotions and psychological symptoms.  Relatively early in my career I had already seen so much trauma, emotional pain, depression, despair and the full gamut of psychological disorders that I thought there was nothing that would ever surprise me.  I was wrong.  I was not prepared for an emotional incident that had no logical explanation.  It had never been covered in a single textbook or seminar.  I had no foundation, no theory, and no framework to use as I sat in my office confronted with a psychological situation like no other.

She’s speaking of course, of empathy; the ability to feel the emotions of others.  It is a psychic ability, meaning that it can happen at a distance without input from the other five senses.  Because people talked to her about their emotions, she received the feedback she needed to put the pieces together.  She would establish a connection with her clients and then, because they were prone to strong emotions she would pick up on them and experience them as her own.  We’re all psychic here so this should be familiar to anyone reading this.

One of the main challenges of being psychic in fact, is distinguishing the feelings of others from our own.  They feel the same; there is no easy way to tell them apart and we all have a tendency to react to emotions rather than sort them out.  Yet once we recognize the cause, much of the feeling usually goes away.  That is to say, once we’re aware that the feelings are not our own, some sort of protective device comes into play and we don’t feel their emotions quite as strongly.  What is that device and how do we turn it on all the time?  That would certainly be useful.

There are two parts to this and we need to focus on both of them to succeed.  The first thing to do is to recognize that when we feel the emotions of others, we do so because we have similar emotional states of our own.  For instance, I can feel someone else’s outrage over being mistreated, because this is an emotional state of victimhood that I can fall into having grown up with it.  But if someone has paranoid conspiracy theories, I will not feel an empathetic response because this is not a set of fears that I have.

The point here is that other people provide us with clues as to what our own issues are.  As we react to them acting out their own fears, we have an opportunity to see a side of ourselves that is normally buried in our subconscious and not readily accessible.  The first part is acknowledging the gift of having our attention drawn to an area of ourselves that needs attention; it is a great opportunity for healing.

Of primary importance is understanding that how we act towards people is identical to how our empathy is going to respond.  If you are the sort of person that allows people to talk to you about their problems and if your reaction is to sympathize with them, you will have sympathetic empathy.  That is, you will physically feel their emotions.  I have personally found that the response: “What are you going to do about it?” works very well.  It puts responsibility and emotional drama back where it belongs.  It tells people you are not going to be sucked into their fears.  If you carry the attitude that other people’s problems and dramas are not your responsibility, your energy will follow suit.  This does not happen immediately, but over time you will be able to convince your subconscious and get some psychic breathing room.

The second part is utilizing outside methods and fortunately, there are several paths available to us.  We are not going to rid ourselves of our sensitivity, so we are going to have to work with it.  Kyra Mesich recommends flower essences which you can read about in this article.

In trying to understand how Yarrow works, and works so well, Dr. Mesich thought back to the time before she began using flower essences. She was trained in aromatherapy and herbalism, so it was back to the roots of herbalism she went to see how Yarrow works. It’s easy to “see” herbal Yarrow; it was the remedy used for ages and ages for “wounded warriors” suffering from deep cuts “down to the bone” (Yarrow has several common names and is also known as Soldier’s Wound Wort and Knight’s Milfoil.) As Yarrow literally stops bleeding and “knits” the skin together, in the case of a sensitive person, it stops the bleeding/merging of the aura—into the surrounding emotional environment—and knits it back together. Yarrow is a master, an amazing helper, and like herbs in general, “causes what it cures, and cures what it causes”. One folk name for Yarrow is “Nose Bleed” (another is “Staunchweed”); so while it can cause bleeding, it can also stop bleeding, and therefore we can say, it “regulates” bleeding. It can break up clots, thin the blood, but it also acts astringently and stops bleeding.

My favorite method for dealing with the influx of other people’s emotions is to work from a mental/emotional place of power.  It is challenging to do, but it is also the most rewarding.  The idea is that my emotional state is the dominant one and that it prevails.  There is a good reason for this: I am a sensitive, compassionate person who is interested in the best for everyone.  When other people experience fear, anger and depression, they do not need me to be in empathy with these emotions, they need me to hold the energy of the more positive emotions that I possess.   Because I have the psychic ability to recognize what is going on, it is not just my right to hold my own emotional state in the midst of other people’s fear, it is my cosmic job as a psychic sensitive.

This method, more than any other, will both preserve your sanity, help others and advance your emotional development.  This is something that improves with practice and allows you to endure more anger and pain over time without reacting to it.  What I’ve found is that it begins with not getting sucked in by people I don’t know and over time I get better and better at dealing with the drama of the people who are closest to me.

I hope this helps.  This area of our lives is one of the most challenging to deal with and takes the most practice.  The thing is though, it’s not our job to take on the emotions of other people and get sucked into their undisciplined emotional lives, it’s our job to lead with the stronger and more stable emotions of love and compassion and hold that focus while others flail about.  We are best of the best at this sort of thing and we have more tools to accomplish this than anyone else.  The world needs us to be strong.

17 comments on “Other People’s Emotions: How Do I Get a +5 Spell of Protection?

  1. Steve
    October 16, 2015

    Well, I’m still after that +5 spell of protection.
    But it’s sure nice to know I am not alone.
    Thanks.

  2. Alex
    November 18, 2014

    You’ve got some really good points here about empathy. I’ve suffered with depression for years mainly because it’s the people I was surrounded with or have interacted with in the past. There are times when I wish I could just turn off my abilities off like a switch and take a break from all the crap people doing or trying.

    It’s refreshing to see your articles presented in a way that is easy to read but yet highly informative, too. Thank you, Craig, for creating a blog about this and other psychic situations when interacting with the public at large.

    • craigweiler
      November 18, 2014

      Thank you for the compliment!

      • MargaritaMc
        August 31, 2015

        I’ve only recently found your blog, Craig. Thank you very much for it and especially for this helpful post. As you say, becoming aware of the fact that one can empathetically experience emotions of people who are not present is a great break though. Several years back, I had not dissimilar experience to the one you had with your friend. I had woken with deepest grief and had no idea what the feelings were about, and it was only when looking at the news that I discovered that it was the tenth anniversary of the Twin Towers attack, and I hadn’t been aware of the date. I live thousands of miles away from the States and over the years “9/11” had mistakenly entered my memory in the European form, that is 9th November, not Sept 11th.

        Once I realised this, I still had memories of that dreadful day, but not the personal grief.

  3. adelle
    July 15, 2014

    Hello craig. I need help. Im sure many feel this way but i feel that my peers and everybody have known of things about me before i have known. i feel i have been raised in a family with these abilities but they never let me in. It is a very tight family but i am on the out. my life went in a completly different dark path because i didnt cope with rejection to well. i am at a point know in my life were i feel that i have this ability. ifeel robbed of this knowledge. i grew up with the silent treatment but with what i have read on your website then my mum has disiplined me through the mind but forget to mention this fact. i feel set up and destroyed by them. i never understood why she could treat everybody the way i felt she should treat her her own children. my relationships were always like the relationship i had with my mum. people would come into my life with a false love and i guess i had know way of knowing as the love my mum and family was so similar. the used the words and warmth but they would slowly take take take and them turn and walk away never feeling anything. everybody literally lauphed. i was born and i have lived a life of confussion and guilt anger and every emotion i can think . i know i am not a bad person but i feel like i have been in a battle i had know idea of. how can i fix this how can i trust but how do i love when the very people who taught me love have taught me a false love. my family dont see a problem when people take advantage of me when they have done the same crom day one. the professional people that advocate for this type of emotional abuse have all ignored my pleads for help over the years but time and time again i senced their approval of this treatement. what did i do wrong apart from be born. do you have any advise or insight help. thanks

  4. sandramilton
    March 13, 2014

    I‘m very glad I found your blog.
    I think I absolutely needed what I read in it, because I live it intensely yet can t fully understand it.
    I have a lot of questions, and believe me, I ve had a lot of problems coping. Understanding empathy has been no easy quest. The conseguences of empathizing and sympathising have been dramatic for me. Can I take the time to think about the mst important question I have to ask you, and write again
    How refreshing~ in fact what a relief to read your English and find none of the “new age speak“ which I find so flimsy.
    Thanks for writing, I love to read you.

  5. Katherine Krekel
    February 9, 2014

    I am very empathetic, probably HSP and dyslexic . I was told by a psychic that she saw a crown of light and to meditate she also got an image of a coral rose and a garden. I am not sue what to think of it all.

    Do you have thoughts or recommendations?

    • craigweiler
      February 9, 2014

      Hi Katherine,
      No, no recommendations but here are my thoughts: When you get information from a psychic it’s specific to you and only you. You will understand the meaning of these things and how they relate to you better than anyone else.

      Sometimes the psychics are just wrong, so it’s your judgment call.

      • Katherine Krekel
        February 9, 2014

        Thank you. I had acupuncture earlier that day can that effect the reading?

        • craigweiler
          February 9, 2014

          I have no idea. Sorry.

  6. anon
    September 8, 2013

    Yarrow! 🙂

  7. Linda Rampey
    March 19, 2013

    Thanks Craig.

  8. Brenda Brim
    August 14, 2012

    I have learned so much about my self today! I’m understanding my self more now than any other time in my life! Thanks!

    • craigweiler
      August 14, 2012

      I’m very glad that I’ve been of service.

  9. Mary
    June 25, 2012

    This is a constant struggle for me, and it can be downright debilitating. Thanks for the post – I will try some of the other methods you suggested. Hopefully, one day soon I’ll find the right combination.

  10. Mari
    April 27, 2010

    As always Craig your timing is impeccable. I was pondering this very subject today and wondering how to teach my youngest who is also psychic how to absorb all the info. coming at her moment to moment without getting caught up in it.

    Thanks!

    • craigweiler
      April 27, 2010

      I am thrilled to be of some help!

Leave a Reply

