The Weiler Psi

Parapsychology Journalism: The People, The Theory, The Science, The Skeptics

The Goal Oriented Nature of Psychic Ability


Bookmark and Share

A bit of research I did has turned up some more interesting things about psychic ability.  They fall under the heading “I kind of knew that but I wasn’t sure.”  (I use the terms psychic ability and consciousness interchangeably here.)

One of the more amazing attributes was first discovered by Karlis Osis working at the Rhine Laboratory at Duke in 1953.  He began experimenting with task complexity in regards to psychic ability.  The thinking goes that if psychic ability is like normal skills, then a more complicated task will yield poorer results.  So in one such test subjects were asked to throw dice and try to get the die face that was hidden in a sealed envelope.  If this were like normal tasks, psychic ability would be used twice; first to determine what was in the envelope and second to affect the roll of the dice.  Theoretically, the result should be half as effective.  Yet it wasn’t; it was about the same.

Follow up experiments with even more task complexity confirmed this.  In 1974 Parapsychologist Helmut Schmidt suggested that psychic ability was goal oriented, not task oriented.

So in other words, psychic ability bypasses all intermediate steps and goes straight to whatever the actual goal is.  Wow.  Just wow.  Ok, so this discovery was made 36 years ago and in the world of parapsychology it’s old news, but not to the rest of us.

I know that as psychic people we’re not especially surprised by this, but this is confirmation.  It is an enormous statement about the nature of consciousness because nothing else that we know of works in this way.  Everything else that we know of works mechanically.  Got to point A, then go to point B in order to get to C.  If you are successful 50% of the time with A and 50% of the time with B, then you have a 12.5% chance of getting to C.  This is fairly straightforward, but with consciousness you have a 50% chance of getting to C.  The intermediate steps don’t affect the outcome.

This is basically the science behind positive thinking.  You don’t have to know all the details, just keep your focus on your goals and consciousness will take you the rest of the way.

This is also an explanation for a lot of religious thinking.  It can seem like a miracle when events synchronize to create a desired outcome when in fact, it is simply a lack of understanding about the nature of consciousness.  What is prayer after all except focused goal setting?  In prayer, you ask for something without trying to figure it out and you expect to receive it solely based on your intent.

I think what confuses people about this goal oriented aspect of consciousness is that it can be subverted by subconscious fears.  What we say we want and what we believe we can have might be different.  I have a perfect example of this in my own life right now because I’m receiving something that generates excitement and enthusiasm in me, but also fear.  My last post on the Double Rainbow Guy has attracted his attention and he has linked to that post which has generated a lot more traffic than I usually get.

While I welcome this, I also understand that I have fears going back to childhood about receiving attention and that this is a bit scary for me at deeper levels of my consciousness.  Thus, I have one intent obviously for the success of this blog, but also another less obvious intent to avoid this success for the fear it brings to the surface.

The most straightforward fix for this is to first understand that those fears exist.  Anytime we are looking to achieve something outside of the normal comfort zones of our lives we are going to be afraid because otherwise we would have already achieved that “something.”  Success comes easily in areas where we have no fear.  If it isn’t coming easily, it’s because we have fear.  Understanding and acknowledging that we have fear brings that fear to the surface and removes most of its power over our intent.

And one of the surest ways to be goal oriented is to physically do something to achieve your goal.  My blog for example, is not going to be successful if I do not write stuff for it.  I must take action and in turn, this action contributes not just physically to my success, (by having written something that people might read) but also to changing my mind about the success I allow into my life.  Both things are working at once.

There is also a great deal of subtlety surrounding this.  Wanting a particular outcome is far different than expecting an outcome.  The act of wanting is not intent, it is hope, which is ultimately based in fear, while expecting something is actual intent.  It’s like the story of the two Indian tribes that do rain dances.  One of them is successful only part of the time while the other is successful every time.  The difference?  The successful Indian tribe does not stop dancing until it rains.  When people have fear around a goal they want to achieve, they often have a muddied intent.  Either they focus on the details and lose sight of the big picture, or they phrase their desire in terms that water down their intent.

What these experiments show us is that we don’t have to know ALL the details in advance.  We can have a general idea of where we want to be and consciousness will direct us the rest of the way.  It will draw us to make the decisions and perform the tasks that contribute to achieving our goals . . . provided we acknowledge any fears we might have surrounding it.

6 comments on “The Goal Oriented Nature of Psychic Ability

  1. TL
    September 22, 2010

    I thought I was the only (I should known better by now) person that was afraid of success due to unwanted attention. Every time I discover a past confusion with evidence (synchronicity) of the presence, it makes my abnormal feelings seem a little more normal in my abnormal world. 2010 has been a challenging year for me, however, I can say all of my past regrets are no longer regrets or failures, but discoveries of my multifaceted personality. I’m starting to feel more special every day and look forward to the memories of now as ah hah moments! Thnx for this blog, it has brought calmness and peace to this HUGE voice in my head.

  2. TheIntentionalSage
    August 20, 2010

    I thought I was rather steeped in the parapsychology and psi research. I was surprised to stumble upon this information and be able to deem it as something “new” to me. Your points make sense in that it would make sense that consciousness goes ‘right to the end state,’ but I think it’s fascinating that the psi researchers accidentally found support for this without meaning to. 🙂

    With Love and Gratitude,

    The Intentional Sage

  3. Mari
    August 4, 2010

    Craig I hope your traffic continues to increase. I have linked to your site on several forums in which I particpate. I for one would love to see your thoughts and the elevated conversation regarding consciouness spread far and wide.

    Thanks!

    • craigweiler
      August 4, 2010

      Thanks Mari,
      I really appreciate your support!
      Craig

  4. Karen Regan
    July 31, 2010

    I am curious if you have following the work of V.S.Ramachandran? He has been doing incredible work on synesthesia (mirror-touch) being closely related to what is now called psychic ability or empathic connections) as well as the incredible work on mirror neurons-he calls them Ghandhi neurons? I would love to hear your thoughts on his work and the theories behind them!

    • craigweiler
      July 31, 2010

      Hi Karen,
      I am not familiar with Ramachandran’s work. I will look him up. I am aware of mirror neurons and the connection to psychic stuff was not lost on me at the time. But that was several years ago and I’m sure he has something new to contribute.
      Thanks for the lead. I’ll find out what he’s written and put him on my reading list.
      Thanks,
      Craig

Leave a Reply

