The Weiler Psi

Parapsychology Journalism: The People, The Theory, The Science, The Skeptics

Failed Predictions, A Necessary Part of Psi


Bookmark and Share

Recently, I put up a post with a bold prediction that a catastrophe beyond the spilling of oil would take place that would effectively destroy New Orleans and other areas.  (Prophesy:  The Leviathan Awakes and a Requiem for New Orleans)  I predicted that the disaster would happen sometime in the middle of August and frankly, given that this time has passed, it’s entirely possible that this prediction is a false alarm.

If you are psychic and you go out on a limb to make predictions, some of them will fail.  If some of those predictions are very public, some of those will fail as well.  It’s all part of investing energy in doing psychic things.  So the question is, what should we do when predictions fail?

In my case, with this prediction, one of the obvious things to consider is that I may be off with my timing on this prediction and that it could happen later.  (The sealing of the well from the bottom fails catastrophically?)  I honestly don’t know.  It could be that the disaster was about to happen but that it was secretly dealt with in an effective manner.  (They secretly nuked the area, which sealed the well?)   I don’t know.  It could be that the disaster is happening, but is different from what I had imagined.  I don’t know.

There is a case to be made for each of these, especially the last one, but there is no way to know for sure until more evidence shows up or if nothing happens at all.  The problem with dealing with this particular scenario is that so much of the oil spill information is shrouded in mystery wrapped in an enigma.  The government and BP have been operating together to spin the story in their preferred direction and it is simply unwise to trust either of them.  There is no need to venture into conspiracy theories, just do not trust them and find hard information from alternate sources.

My prediction was for an explosion, but also for large plumes in the sky and a kind of very painful death for many people.  Pinkranger pointed out to me that the plumes may be under water.  (BP’s 22-Mile-Long-Monster)  And the painful deaths may come from cancer due to extraordinarily high levels of benzene and other chemicals in the air.  (Benzene And Hydrogen Sulfide: The Real Dangers From The Gulf Of Mexico Oil Spill?)  As well as the enormously toxic dispersants which were widely used.

Is Corexit Effective?

Corexit 9500 was 54.7% effective and Corexit EC9527A was 63.4% effective in handling Louisiana crude oil. Corexit is not a very efficient oil dispersant; there are others that are better. (More below)

Is Corexit Safe to Use?

The short answer is “No!” Corexit is highly toxic to humans as well as marine life.

The federal Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) has identified the 2-butoxyethanol in Corexit to be a causal agent in the health problems experienced by cleanup workers after the 1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill of respiratory, nervous system, liver, kidney and blood disorders.

According to the Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS), Corexit 9500‘s “potential human bazard is: High.” It can cause central nervous system depression; nausea; unconsciousness;  liver, kidney damage; and red blood cell hemolysis with repeated or prolonged exposure through inhalation or ingestion.

(What I can’t figure out is why stories about this basically stopped around the end of July.)  All of these conditions though, existed before my prediction, making my prediction pointless if this is what I actually “saw.”  So if the third scenario is the real one, then my prediction was for all practical purposes, a failure.  Otherwise, the jury is still out.

When I first got the premonition, what struck me was the sheer strength of the feeling inside to the point that felt the need to have a hazmat suit ready and made it a point to enjoy nature because I thought I might lose it.  I felt the horror of people watching their death blow towards them and sensed a futile struggle for life.  I also had visions of a huge black plume shooting into the air and a sense of great fear in the people who saw it.  In other words, this felt very real to me and as I write about it I can call all those feelings back to the surface again.

And it was the high level of emotional information that lent credibility to this premonition for me.  I can’t speak for the rest of psychic people everywhere, but this is how I judge psychic information.  Things that are clear and come with a wave of appropriate emotion are more credible and things that come in fuzzy and have very little emotion to go along with them are less credible to me.  It is hard to convey where the line is drawn between these; it’s one of those “I know it when I see it.” situations.

But here’s the thing.  Failed predictions are part of the process and have to be embraced if psi predictions are to occur at all.  We cannot second guess and doubt our predictions if we want our future ones to be of any use to us.  Self censoring can kill a psi ability in a very short time.  We have to somehow have our failed predictions, yet not be discouraged when they don’t happen.  (Although in this case the feeling is relief.)  It’s a tall order, but the alternative -to hold back and wait for a perfect prediction or not give any predictions at all is just going to shut down our ability.

We have to let go caring whether our predictions come true or not;  we cannot wrap our self worth in something so ephemeral.  We have to let them come in, act on them and let them go if we turn out to be wrong.   This is the path to having better accuracy and less stress.

4 comments on “Failed Predictions, A Necessary Part of Psi

  1. kaitlin
    November 30, 2010

    makes me want to drink alchoholic beverages

  2. Monica
    August 23, 2010

    I already replied via email, but for the record: The news that thousands of people are NOT dying? Is the best I will EVER have.

    (And as someone whose talent is Sight, this is called We Have No Idea How This Even Works, So Who Knows Syndrome. Medication currently does not exist, but several sufferers resort to pulling out their hair and screaming in frustration. This course of action is not recommended by nine out of ten doctors. ;p)

  3. craigweiler
    August 23, 2010

    Hi Mari,
    Yeah, the whole thing creeps me out as well. The most fearful thing has been black clouds. Perhaps a big storm laden with toxins?

  4. Mari
    August 23, 2010

    Hi Craig ,

    I’ve been thinking for the past week or so about the underwater plumes as they relate to your premonition. I think the jury is still out. Throughout this disaster I have been just as appalled as everyone else but in the past several weeks I have had a very uncomfortable feeling of unease when I place myself in and around the gulf.

    Mari

Leave a Reply

