The Weiler Psi

Parapsychology Journalism: The People, The Theory, The Science, The Skeptics

On Hiatus


For those of you who have been following this blog, I am taking a hiatus for awhile.  The reason is that it has always been a dream of mine to write a book and finally, at age 50 I am doing it.  Writing a book is an insanely time consuming task and I simply don’t have enough gas in the tank to also write for this blog.

I originally had planned to write a book on the same subject as this blog, but that proved too difficult for me.  It turns out that while I don’t have a problem writing short articles on a technical subject, it becomes overwhelming for me to keep it up for the length of a book.  Simply put, I got bored with it.

Finally, I abandoned that idea and went with fiction.  I am writing a sci-fi novel now and loving every minute of it.  Where before, I had trouble getting a single paragraph down, and procrastinated at every turn, the pages now fly off my fingers and I feel quite a bit joy at the process of discovering the story as I’m writing it.

And that’s really how it should be.  We have to pay attention to what is easy for us because that is a clue as to where our joy is. The object has been to change careers to doing something I love rather than jogging on the treadmill of an ordinary job.  The process has to be fun, not just the end result.

So it may be awhile before I post again.  I do check in on this blog and I will respond to comments, but that’s pretty much it.  I just wanted to let everyone know that this is a positive change.

6 comments on “On Hiatus

  1. Rachel
    October 27, 2010

    Hi, I am trying to write based on my knowledge and experience. I’m glad you are choosing science fiction, because I am struggling with my intended audience; there is an element of ‘preaching to the converted’ when you write about psychic stuff. I don’t think I’m going to enlighten any non-psychics, though I will still write it anyway.
    Good luck Craig.

    • craigweiler
      October 28, 2010

      Hi Rachel,
      My experience is that people generally react emotionally, rather than logically to psychic stuff and they have their minds made up beforehand. There is very little that anyone can write that will change anyone’s opinion. My take on this has not been to sway anyone, but to provide background information to those who are already in the psychic camp.

      Write about stuff that is interesting to you. It’s your journey and your writing will be found and read by those who share your interests.

  2. Monica
    October 18, 2010

    If you want any help, let me know! I’ve been writing since I was ten–I’d be glad to help any way I can. 🙂

    • craigweiler
      October 18, 2010

      Great. I will let you know when I’m to that point. I will need someone to read and comment when I have got something worth showing to others. I don’t expect to be there for a couple of months.
      Thanks,
      Craig

  3. Mari
    October 17, 2010

    Have fun Craig! I’ll miss your posts. Your thoughts are always interesting and enagaging. And I agree, you got to follow the fun.
    Best,
    Mari

    • craigweiler
      October 17, 2010

      Thanks Mari,
      It was a hard decision, but this is something I’ve always wanted to do.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 17, 2010 by in psychic.
