The Weiler Psi

Parapsychology Journalism: The People, The Theory, The Science, The Skeptics

AT&T: Corporate Royalty and My Internet Connection


Corporations are the American Royalty.  They rule their kingdoms according to their whims and answer to nobody.  If you have a problem with them, well, good luck.  You would have no more luck arguing with a king.

This is a rant.  Can you tell?  Let me explain.  My internet is down.  We had a great connection which we established years ago when we were going to put in a T1 line.  (That’s a high speed connection.)  We eventually settled on a 6MB connection and all was well.

However, when more people started to get internet connections in our neighborhood, rather than run new lines, AT&T saved themselves some time and money by simply robbing from our line.  They did this a little bit at a time, gradually eroding our service until they finally crashed our internet service.  Now we have had to downgrade to 3MB service because the connection has been degraded so much.  And we have to pay the same amount.  All because AT&T knew that they could get away with it.  And they were right.

This is an attitude normally reserved for medieval royalty.  They stole from us, robbed us, and there will be no consequences.  It’s not even worth complaining about.  They are so powerful that this is inconsequential for them.  And who is them?

It is an unaccountable faceless bureaucracy.   No one is there that can be accused of theft.  The courts don’t recognize corporate crime in that way.  There will be no redress for this crime because it is too much trouble for what we could gain, assuming that we could get past the faceless customer service to even complain to someone who could potentially do something about it.

We may be without internet for up to a month because of this.  I am furious at being jerked around by this and enraged at my helplessness in the face of it.  We have been robbed and something of value has been taken from us just as surely as if someone had broken into our home.  My business and my wife’s depend on this.  We need to be able to research, get our email and other tasks that require a connection.  We can’t do the simple things like pull up a website and print it out.  I have to drag a laptop with me and get a connection somewhere else.

This is way off topic from psychic stuff, I know, but I had been working on a more appropriate post and this just derailed it.  I have a hard time concentrating when I’m this angry.

The large corporations may not have subjects and may not own large pieces of land, but they have their own kingdoms all the same and they behave in much the same way as the royalty of ages past.

 

5 comments on “AT&T: Corporate Royalty and My Internet Connection

  1. Mari Caplan
    November 14, 2011

    Is it worth it to go to a local news station and request action? I’m not normally one to go to local media outlets for help ( ahem ) but in this case they might be useful. Big corps hate bad publicity. Then again now that I am thinking on it is At&T tied financially to your local tv stations? If that is the situation then nevermind. ;o(

    I feel your pain ( psychic humor ) :o)

    Mari

  2. Mary Ann
    November 12, 2011

    Hadn’t thought of it that way but your analogy is right on target! And, sadly, I don’t expect it to get better any time soon.

  3. Raven
    November 11, 2011

    Arghhhhh! I had Qwest (here we choose between Qwest and Comcast) – supposedly 7 mbps. It gradually eroded to .5 (yes, that’s point five) mbps. Useless. When I called them they said I could upgrade – but of course, it wouldn’t be any faster because they didn’t actually have the ability to deliver more than that. I switched to Comcast and have been very happy. High speeds and no down times (so far – praise the goddess).
    Every time I called Qwest, they wanted me to do a speed test and tried to say it was my computer at fault – apparently every computer in the pacific northwest was at fault. A couple of techs finally admitted that Qwest couldn’t provide the services they were selling. But it wasn’t like I was going to get my money back. It’s interesting how off balance I feel when my computer connection is shaky. May you have a new and amazingly fast and cheap and reliable internet connection. So mote it be!

  4. Monica
    November 11, 2011

    You might actually be able to win enough to cover lawyer’s fees in a lawsuit, it’s not unreasonable. I’m not sure what your options are, but that sounds like a case where you have either a criminal complaint or grounds to sue–if so, go for it, it’s always worth being a pain in the butt of corporations. Best of luck! 🙂

    • craigweiler
      November 11, 2011

      Thanks for the thought Monica, but legal stuff is an enormous commitment in time and energy for a lawsuit that would drag on for who knows how long. We don’t have the time to deal with it and I don’t want my life revolving around depositions, lawyers, court dates, briefs and filings. I made the decision right away that it wasn’t worth the effort. You have to pick your battles in life and not let negative stuff distract you from your dreams. My dream is not about fighting corporations.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 11, 2011 by in Uncategorized.
