The Weiler Psi

Parapsychology Journalism: The People, The Theory, The Science, The Skeptics

Here in Los Angeles for ExTED


Before I do anything else, everyone needs to know that the livestreaming link has been changed and you’ll have to re-sign up if you signed up while it was still ExTEDex.  Here’s the new link:  http://new.livestream.com/newparadigm.  You absolutely must sign up and see this because, ahem, (cough) I’m the first speaker.  I’ll be talking about the ridiculous saga and what it means to us.

On Thursday morning, the ExTEDxWestHollywood livestreaming account was closed due to copyright protest by TED.  It’s kind of annoying and petty, but not entirely unexpected.

It’s wonderful to be here in Los Angeles with so many wonderful like minded people and also have something to contribute.  I’ve had a chance to rub elbows with physicist Russell Targ, the world’s foremost expert on remote viewing who you might know from his book:

And I’ve also very literally rubbed elbows with Dr. Larry Dossey.  (We were both crammed into the backseat of a car together on the way to Friday’s rehearsal.)  Who you might know from this book:

I don’t have the obligatory pictures of me with these fine gentlemen and everyone else because I was too busy meeting people and connecting.  At the site, when I had time, the location was too dark as the lighting was set up for the speakers. I’ve had a chance to listen to some of the speeches and it’s quite interesting stuff.  Without the restraints that TED puts on the speeches, people were free to open up and not self edit to conform to TED’s conservative values.  The result was both moving and entertaining.  People are just more interesting  when they can really open up.

I genuinely like everyone I’ve met;  It’s a really great group of people.  And in the grand tradition of the Law of Unintended Consequences, I have TED to thank for all of this.  Without their misguided efforts to keep out the woo, I wouldn’t be here and I certainly wouldn’t be speaking.  So I say WOO!  As in WOO HOO!

10 comments on “Here in Los Angeles for ExTED

  1. Rupert McWiseman
    April 16, 2013

    In deference to the comment by Sheldrake about his banned TED talk, perhaps future ExTED conferences should be called “THE NAUGHTY CORNER”!

  2. ellen howlett
    April 14, 2013

    Thanks so much for making me aware of this. And for all that you do. I’m always so glad to get your posts, tho’ I haven’t been as attentive to those about the Ted kerfuffle. What a wonderful resolution! And you were awesome! I’m in my head often as not, and it’s been so great to ‘get out of the house’. The event was wonderful. Ellen Howlett

  3. Pingback: Here in Los Angeles for ExTED | NBGSgroup :: nothingbutgoodstuff

  4. nothingbutgoodstuff
    April 14, 2013

    Watched your talk — watching the whole conference — Thank you Thank you Thank you (and Suzanne, too!)

  5. ~C4Chaos
    April 14, 2013

    glad to know you’re having fun! looking forward to the livestream event. 🙂

  6. Thomas Jespersen
    April 13, 2013

    Amit Goswami has a commentary as well:

    http://www.quantumactivist.com/revolution-science/

    • Thomas Jespersen
      April 13, 2013

      Oh sorry, not Goswami but the producer of the documentary with him.

  7. Lynn
    April 13, 2013

    Woo Hoo to you! This is exciting stuff! Congrats on being one of the speakers.

  8. David
    April 13, 2013

    Glad you’ve got a chance to be there Craig, you’ve done a wonderful job of outlining the situation as it’s developed. It’s made my cultivation of Reality Sandwich’s Psi in the News coverage of the TED situation much easier!

    Warm regards,

    David M.

  9. Sandy
    April 13, 2013

    Craig, you should post what time the live stream starts tomorrow! I don’t want to miss your talk!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 13, 2013 by in Psi Wars, Skeptics and Skeptic Arguments and tagged , .
