The Weiler Psi

Parapsychology Journalism: The People, The Theory, The Science, The Skeptics

Helping the Dead Move Along


I don’t post much about psychic stuff that I do mainly because I don’t do a lot of it.  Most of my success and recognition comes from my intellectual efforts so I tend to follow that path most of the time.  But every now and again something comes along that reminds me of just how psychic I am.  And that something just came along.  (Edit:  I now know that what I did has a name:  Psychopomp)  My wife’s father died very recently and she flew up to Washington State to spend most of last week with her relatives dealing with all the earthly details that accompany these events.  He had been in such poor health that even his apartment manager was keeping an eye on him.  Although he died alone, at home and in his sleep with no family nearby, his death did not go unnoticed.  He wasn’t one of those people who are discovered weeks later after everyone complains of the stink.  We’re very thankful for that.

As the family gathered to deal with his belongings most of his stuff was thrown away or given away on the spot.  We all have a lot of things that no one else wants and he was no exception.  It was easy for my wife because as the oldest she was both in charge and didn’t want much.  This allowed her younger brothers to take pretty much whatever they wanted so that everyone came away with no hard feelings.  Her youngest brother lives nearby and by mutual arrangement she rented a small U Haul truck and they gathered the rest of her father’s things up and she made the very long drive back home in that rented truck with the remainder of his stuff to be split up later.

So it came to pass that we now have the remainder of her father’s belongings scattered around the house where we could make room for it.  He was both a retired lieutenant colonel in the army and a retired Episcopalian priest, so we have all that stuff now.  As an added bonus, we had his presence as well.  My father-in-law Mike was dead but not gone.

As I handled the boxes of his books, records and paper; his office supplies and briefcase as well as clothes and priestly stuff I started to feel him more and more.  He had suffered from a series of small right side strokes before I knew him and his personality had been going downhill ever since.  In his later years he was simply a self centered arrogant jerk that no one in his family could stand.  This is what happens when people lose much of their access to their right brain hemisphere. As a dead person without the brain damage, the anger and hostility were now gone.  In its place was a quiet, reflective and observant dead person hanging around our house.  When I described him to my wife she remembered that this was the man she remembered from her childhood.  However what was notable to me was the absence of an interior brightness that most people have after they die.    Spiritually, this was someone who was very weak, which may explain why he hung around.

My wife has been feeling sad and unfocused ever since she returned.  She chalked this up to grief, which is understandable, but I was sensing that there was more to it.  I felt that her father was still around and emotionally leaning on her because she is a strong person and he didn’t know what else to do.  I’ve had this happen with pets, although never with a person before.  We’ve had cats that we were close to and missed them greatly when they died and other cats that we were also close to, but didn’t miss them when they died.  The difference seemed to be whether that cat had moved on or not.  I can remember one of our calico females that I was very close to.  She was quite old and weak and had developed severe health problems.  We took her to the vet who put her under and X-rayed her.  This showed that she would require a major operation.  Based on her advanced age and frail health and the fact that the vet didn’t know exactly what the problem was we decided to put her down instead.  She was already sedated and never woke up.

When I got home with the body I cradled it and walked around the yard once, and then again.  Something did not feel right.  I laid her in my lap and in a moment of clarity I saw that she was still in her body.  She didn’t know that she was dead.  I told her to go and suddenly, very clearly, I felt her presence leave.  At that point I knew that it was OK to bury the body; she was gone.  Neither my wife or I miss her.  I’ve now done this with two more cats since then and have confirmed for myself that the grieving process is extended when the dead don’t let go.

This morning when we awoke my wife was still feeling distracted and depressed despite the fact that I’d told her father’s presence to leave several times already during the week.  He wasn’t listening.  Since it was Sunday and I had the time I decided to move things along; it felt right to do so.  After discussing the matter for a few moments and feeling him lean on her, I went inward.

“Hang on.”  I told my wife.  “This is going to take awhile.”  She understood.  She knows that sometimes she has to just sit there and be a boost for my energy.  She’s OK with that.

I saw Mike immediately and without words indicated that I was taking him to the light.  He acted confused so I just kept the intent of him moving along while staying focused on him. Some things just need some time to happen.  He started resisting; it was his stubbornness coming out.  He didn’t try to go away, but he didn’t move in the right direction either.  I kept at it as he vacillated between being stubborn and confused.  Finally, in a moment of liminal inspiration I grew wings, a gown and a halo; that finally got his attention.  He was a priest after all and this was a symbol he could relate to; he stopped being stubborn and we went to the light together.

I’ve had this light come to me in dreams and other visualizations but always at a distance; safely far away.   In order to get Mike to move on, I had to get right up close to it but this was very difficult and I had to wait at a distance, acclimate and then move closer, acclimate and then move closer still.  It was having a strong emotional effect on me to be so close to it.  Finally though we were close enough and I could see it shine on Mike, which is apparently what needed to happen.  He stood stock still bathed in the light.  Again, I had a moment of liminal inspiration and wrapped him head to toe  and beyond in a band of light, much like a mummy being wrapped like a piece of candy.

Once he was fully wrapped I got the feeling to push him into the light and after some experimenting discovered that he would only go in feet first.  So that’s what I did.  Once his feet were in my job was done.  The rest of him flowed right through it.  What was particularly interesting was that I saw him come out the other side completely translucent with only an outline identifying him.  I could actually see behind the light.  I remember being surprised by this.  He paused for a moment, looked back and then faced away again and then shot off into the distance.  He was gone.  My wife has been feeling better ever since.  This business of sending the dead on their way seems to be a very healthy thing to do.

I’ve always wondered what the heck the function of the light is.  Now I know.  It strips away all the fearful parts of our personality while leaving everything else intact.  That way we can reincarnate or do something else without all the baggage of our previous lives.  Getting near the light exposed my fears, which is what made it so uncomfortable.  I had to wait for my fear to die down in order to move closer.  Emotionally weak, overly intellectual people or those with bad impulse control will fear death because they feel like they’re being annihilated.  So much of their personality is fear based that very little is left to them after they pass through the light.   I’ve read in a couple of different sources that some people are so weak that after they pass through the light they possess so little strength that they simply disperse, being literally unable hold themselves together.

I don’t know why I have this role as a kind of living ferryman, but I seem to be cut out for this sort of work and I don’t mind it when it comes along.  Perhaps it’s the fact that no matter how a person was in life, there is always a beautiful part of them that I get to see after they die.  People are more relaxed without their bodies.

I’ve been so caught up in day to day stuff that sometimes being psychic feels like a distant dream.  But then something like this comes along to remind me of that part of myself and just how close I am to it all the time.  It makes for an interesting existence.

19 comments on “Helping the Dead Move Along

  1. doubter
    June 11, 2013

    http://www.debunkingskeptics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2763

    proof that MU was behind the rationalwiki trolling and not forests

  2. Mark S. Ekdahl
    June 5, 2013

    I had a keen sense when each of my grandparents were about to die (well, I was sitting there watching them take their last breaths). And after my grandmother passed, I looked at a picture of her and saw a golden glow. I had a keen sense she was in bliss and humorous, after a long struggle with Alzheimer’s, during which I took care of her for nearly a year. She however didn’t believe in any religion or paranormal stuff or afterlife. My grandfather however attended church sometimes but went downhill rather rapidly, being put into a hospice and one nurse said he said he wished he had done more in his life. He just couldn’t take food anymore, or take care of himself. I think his care was worse, and maybe it took longer for him to go into the light. But he did say he didn’t want to live if he couldn’t wipe his own arse. LOL. Thanks for sharing!

  3. mikeapparition
    June 2, 2013

    Craig:
    I learned a lot with your experience.
    Thanks for the insight!

  4. John Fonseca
    June 2, 2013

    I don’t understand something, could you please explain a litle better?

    “I’ve read in a couple of different sources that some people are so weak that after they pass through the light they possess so little strength that they simply disperse, being literally unable hold themselves together.”

    What does that mean, they disperse? And what sources?

    Thanks in advance.

    • craigweiler
      June 2, 2013

      In terms of sources I saw this mentioned in one of the Seth books by Jane Roberts and mentioned briefly again recently in a now rather famous former TED video by Graham Hancock.
      Here’s the way I understand it: Basically, our energy never dies, so we never really die, but we are responsible for maintaining ourselves as separate entities. Some fail at this. When this happens their consciousness no longer holds together as a pattern and they dissolve. Think of it as a self sustaining ice cube that could generate its own cold. It’s in a lake. It’s water just like its surrounding area, but it is a unique ice cube swimming around in the lake. If it were to lose its ability to stay cold though, then it would melt. The water is still there, but the thing that defined it as particular ice cube is gone.

  5. sigrid2012
    June 2, 2013

    I read your article with great interest and hope you and your wife find peace with this passing. I have some feedback regarding: “I’ve always wondered what the heck the function of the light is. Now I know. It strips away all the fearful parts of our personality while leaving everything else intact. That way we can reincarnate or do something else without all the baggage of our previous lives. ” From my experience working past lives with myself and others I found that we do sometimes have “baggage” that we bring back in with us to work out or unfulfilled promises. I’m not sure as to what “baggage” qualifies and what does not, I only know it does happen sometimes. Thanks again for the sharing you do. It is very much appreciated.

    • craigweiler
      June 2, 2013

      I thought about that while I was writing. I don’t have this all figured out, as you may have guessed, but I think I’m substantially right. The baggage isn’t the fear, but rather areas where we need to grow. In our new life we don’t start out with fear in that area, but we might learn fear quickly because we’re not good at the area in which we’re trying to grow.

      That’s my guess.

      • sigrid2012
        June 2, 2013

        I don’t have it all figured out either. I can only learn via my experiences and even then it’s partial guess work some of the time. I’m glad you are putting your ideas out there as we learn from each other.

  6. Anonymous
    June 2, 2013

    So sorry for your loss and thank you for sharing your beautiful experience. I hope it’s ok to ask you a question. There are so many ways to see them but I’m thinking of one way in particular have you or anyone else here ever seen a deceased love one appear in the day time bathed in light with glistening dew drops on them ? I’m wondering what the dew drops may be.

    • craigweiler
      June 2, 2013

      Nope. Haven’t heard of that. But as you said, there are many ways to see them.

      • White horse
        June 2, 2013

        Ok thank you, if you ever hear anything about the dew drops I would so appreciate if you let me know.

        • craigweiler
          June 2, 2013

          Will do. Chance are though, that this is pretty rare.

    • sigrid2012
      June 2, 2013

      No dew drops, but they had shimmering lights with sparkles around them. I have no idea what it meant as to the sparkles.

      • White horse
        June 3, 2013

        2012 , sparkles that look like glitter that falls when the apparition disappears ?

  7. Jon Chaney
    June 2, 2013

    It sounds like what you are describing is the work of a psychopomp. Shamans of certain ethnic groups in Siberia often act as psychopomps to guide the recently deceased.

    I enjoyed reading your post!

    • craigweiler
      June 2, 2013

      I had no idea that there was a name for it. But there you are! Thanks for sharing that info.

  8. moniquestevenson
    June 2, 2013

    May you be blessed for the work you do. You’re a wonderful guide, and I hope you feel the joy you bring to others. 🙂

    • craigweiler
      June 2, 2013

      Thank you. I get a little nervous writing about this stuff so it’s nice to get your feedback.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 2, 2013 by in psychic, Stuff about Craig and tagged , .
