The Weiler Psi

Parapsychology Journalism: The People, The Theory, The Science, The Skeptics

I’m Now an Associate Member of the Parapsychological Association


Of course I got the email while I was out of town.  I’m proud to say that I’ve just been accepted into the PA.  I’m not a full member because I don’t have a PhD, but I’m still honored.  You have to be endorsed by two full members, so it’s not just a matter of paying your dues.  If you didn’t know, the Parapsychological Association is a scientific organization that is a member of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and has been since 1969.  From their site:

The Parapsychological Association, Inc. (PA) is the international professional organization of scientists and scholars engaged in the study of ‘psi’ (or ‘psychic’) experiences, such as telepathy, clairvoyance, remote viewing, psychokinesis, psychic healing, and precognition.

Such experiences seem to challenge contemporary conceptions of human nature and of the physical world. They appear to involve the transfer of information and the influence of physical systems independently of time and space, via mechanisms we cannot currently explain.

The primary objective of the Parapsychological Association is to achieve a scientific understanding of these experiences.

There are other parapsychology institutions of course.  The Rhine Research Center and the Institute of Noetic Sciences come to mind, and these organizations all have a lot of crossover, but the PA is the official scientific arm.  Here is a history of the PA.

It’s nice to be associated with it.

 

14 comments on “I’m Now an Associate Member of the Parapsychological Association

  1. 8
    May 1, 2015

    I seriously think that science and objectivity cannot give proof or understanding of psychic phenomena, consciousness, reality. Any physical happenings can be done, but they are an outermost layer, an effect of a cause that will always be beyond five senses and objectivity. I however, am at a place of impasse, because subjectivity seemingly opens the door to dogma, dogma, dogma. What you said about Western culture not respecting psychic phenomena is so true. But then I see so many religions, and their dogma, “priests”, “prophets”, etc. and feel that so much of the world is extremely blind. And what would their belief be worth? And so I see the appeal of science. But still, objectivity is in a way – distracted from the “invisible”. And by the way, I hope your blog is still up in five years, because there is someone very similar to me who I hope will come across it. I’d like to post more elsewhere about very uncanny experiences. Is there a place on your blog you encourage discussion, or relating personal experience? I understand that can devolve into lengthy conjecture……So……..yeah, thanks for pursuing this scientifically. But the question is, why does science want to prove this? In previous applications of Psi – you had the psychic warfare of the Russians and American Military and C.I.A., to what extent they had effect is perhaps unprovable.
    Derrick Jensen makes very good criticism of the philosophy behind science, of control, and use. It isn’t understanding out of love, but out of a desire for dominance and mastery. It won’t necessarily have the nicest implications, though yes, on some level, getting some recognition, in an objective way, the way the culture values, would in some way be nice. But I think more important would be a change in the culture, which I don’t think will happen. Which is why, in the long run, I see humanities future a little bit cynically. It is hard to find a place to fit in.

    • craigweiler
      May 1, 2015

      Most people share their personal experiences on the “Characteristics of Psychic People” article.

  2. Billy Mavreas (@billy_mavreas)
    September 29, 2014

    you’re going to need a new logo for your baseball cap 😉
    congrats craig !

  3. David Bentley
    September 28, 2014

    Craig I am not sure if joining an organisation that thinks it is in some way more superior ( because you need a PhD in something unrelated ) at trying to investigate something that most of the world already knows is something special. I think you will be a teacher and a leader there, rather than a follower. Kind regards.

    • craigweiler
      September 28, 2014

      Hi David,
      Thanks for the kind comment. I’m not sure if the Parapsychological Association needs me to be a teacher or leader there. In any case, I’m happy to be a part of it.

      Sincerely,
      Craig

  4. Debby Schwartz
    September 28, 2014

    Great news and well deserved. Congratulations!

  5. marcustanthony
    September 27, 2014

    Congratulations, Craig. I hope it’s of benefit to your work in this field.

    In my current stage of academic career development I’m not sure I’d be able to put such a membership on my CV. Sadly, it would probably cost me for all jobs except for those directly related to psi or transpersonal research. It’s bad enough being a member of the World Futures Studies Federation, and that is more mainstream than psi research!

    Marcus

    • craigweiler
      September 27, 2014

      Yup. The western world is just not there yet.

  6. zebzaman
    September 27, 2014

    Congratulations

    • craigweiler
      September 27, 2014

      Thank you. 🙂

  7. Anonymous
    September 27, 2014

    Congratulations!

    • craigweiler
      September 27, 2014

      Thank you. 🙂

  8. Sagerose
    September 27, 2014

    Craig, This is real progress and I am sure it is largely due to your exceptional ability to express real and abstract concepts to your readers. Things are moving in the right direction as I can it happening in other areas as well. Congrats!

    • craigweiler
      September 27, 2014

      Thank you. I appreciate your insight.

Leave a Reply

