The Weiler Psi

Parapsychology Journalism: The People, The Theory, The Science, The Skeptics

Here’s a Look at My Day Job: Expert Handyman


I just recently got back from a month long job out of town where I did a great many varied jobs.  Many of them rather interesting.  So I thought I would give everyone a peek into the kinds of things that I do for a living.  It occurred to me that now that my phone has a camera, it’s rather easy to take pictures of the kinds of things that I do.  This stuff isn’t all from the same job.

What I’m showing is mostly the stuff that I find interesting.  I’m leaving out a lot of repair and replacement that are the most common types of handyman work.

20141005_132328

This house has 10′ ceilings and needed a bookcase specifically for this corner.  This is all plywood and cheap pine that you can get at Home Depot,, about $100 in materials, painted the same color as the wall to help it blend in.

20141005_132259

Front entry way, same house.  I did all of this, but subcontracted the wood flooring.  Tile in the middle of the floor, wood flooring on the perimeter, burlap wallpaper, and all of  the woodwork you see is hand done by me.  I changed the outlets along the wall to decorator types to blend in.  The walls above were painted as well.  As you can imagine, this took an insane amount of work.  If you have to ask the price then you probably can’t afford it.  Up above:

20141005_134728

I created crown molding to match the ceiling, which was already there.  This is actually, just 2  1 x 4 redwood pieces.  One’s been ripped into two pieces to create the staggered look.   I did something like this for another room as well:

20141005_134758

This crown molding is just 1×6 redwood with beveled edges and two channels cut into it for decoration.

20141005_140026

And matching baseboard.

20141005_13214120141005_132216

This is an antique ice box that I restored, not to its original condition, but rather to make it an interesting piece to match the house decor.  It is being used to house old videos and DVD’s.  The hardware was originally zinc plated, but this was sanded off to reveal the brass underneath.  The wood trim was left original on the inside, but everything else was spray painted, including the racks.

20141002_10451020141002_104505

What you’re looking at here is a set up for a professional photographer who wanted an area to showcase his work.  I removed an ugly overhead chandelier and used the electrical from the light to create two outlets at either end of the room and then I created a couple of wood thingamajigs to hold his professional lights and the extra cord.

20141002_104436

 

20141002_104329The lights shine on this site built display area:

 

20140929_101403

 

 

20140929_101322

This is a redwood lattice that I built into a metal gazebo that was already there. The existing structure was weak and wobbled at the slightest touch.  A strong wind could probably blow it over.  This was the solution.  I also added a plastic lattice over the top that you can’t see.  It helps with much needed shade.

20140929_101025

20140929_100943

For the same client I enclosed their back covered patio to make it an area safe for their indoor cats.  I also installed a cat door.  (not shown.)

 

20140929_101151

20140929_101209

 

I drilled a hole in the granite countertop and installed  a 5 stage water purifier.

 

20140929_101134

Sometimes new stovetops are too big for the existing opening.  I had to cut the granite here to widen the opening and then install the new cooktop. I was also replacing an electric one with a gas model, so in addition to plumbing for gas, I did some electrical work  to change a double pole 30A circuit to a single pole 20A.

20140918_093131

That large white unit in the corner was built specifically to house prints and framed prints for the photographer.  Common dowels separate everything on the shelves.

 

20140922_161713

This is the map case from the middle of the previous photo.  I assembled the pieces and then the owner had me build up the base of it 7 1/2″ so that the top of it would be high enough to be a usable workspace.  On the side you can see four different shades.  My contribution is the second from the bottom.

20140918_093038

See that glass case at the top of the ladder?  I assembled that thing up there.   I won’t lie.   It was scary.  Here’s a picture from my point of view:

20140919_084911

I’m standing on a two foot wide shelf about 12′ off the ground.

20140923_104800

Here’s the finished product, viewed from upstairs.  (It’s VERY securely fastened to the wall):

20130111_101103

This is a canned goods and spice rack designed to fit exactly in a client’s closet off their kitchen.

20140201_155612

 

20140201_155621

I had a client hand me a big piece of wood and tell me to use it to mount their huge TV.  It was the only way to do this with the A frame structure they had.  Fortunately, they had a concrete floor, so I fastened the wood to the floor with sleeved concrete bolts.  It worked.

Well, this is what I do when I’m not sitting in front of my computer writing and researching.  This kind of  stuff is what I like best about my job.  I can just stand back and admire what I’ve done.  There’s quite a feeling of accomplishment.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

25 comments on “Here’s a Look at My Day Job: Expert Handyman

  1. Anonymous
    October 22, 2014

    Thank you.

  2. nice of you to share this work craig. it adds immeasurably to our esteem of you, a man of sensitive thoughtful nature, interested in things ineffable and invisible, who also knows his way around the physical world like nobodys business !

    • craigweiler
      October 6, 2014

      Thanks Billy!

  3. Anonymous
    October 6, 2014

    Craig all your work is beautiful! Would love to hear how you get your ideas and inspiration. And will you start posting tutorials?

    • craigweiler
      October 6, 2014

      Thank you. Fortunately for the world, the Internet is full of tutorials for construction. I don’t need to add to the list.

  4. donsalmon
    October 6, 2014

    Really nice stuff, Craig. So how much would you charge to come here to Asheville, NC and do this for us (just kidding – but it really looks great!)

    • craigweiler
      October 6, 2014

      Whatever the labor rate is in Asheville, I’m sure it’s considerably lower than the San Francisco Peninsula. Here, even the most inexpensive handyman doesn’t get out of bed for under $50 an hour and won’t take a job without a guarantee of at least two hours. It’s that expensive to live here.

      • donsalmon
        October 6, 2014

        Really Craig, money? This is Akashville – we pay here in astral vibrations! (of course, it’s not really “paying”, it’s “sharing” – and you think California has cornered the New Age market!) Well, if you ever teleport this way, let me know:>)

        • craigweiler
          October 6, 2014

          I would love to accept payment in astral vibrations; it sounds pretty cool. Unfortunately, Bank of America is pretty clear about the form of currency it deems acceptable. And it is not very New Age. Not at all.

          • donsalmon
            October 6, 2014

            I’ll see if I can get to work on the B of A tonight in my dreams.

  5. Mark
    October 5, 2014

    Good job, Craig. That was nice work. Those clear blue containers are pretty. They look good up there.

    • craigweiler
      October 6, 2014

      Thanks!

  6. beca124
    October 5, 2014

    I could use any type of pep talk

  7. beca124
    October 5, 2014

    I would love to be any place other Rustin California

  8. beca124
    October 5, 2014

    Am trying to figure out how to get help away from someone who’s really mean to me and has harmed very much and often

    • craigweiler
      October 5, 2014

      I don’t know how else to put this. I cannot help you. I’m just a writer. I don’t know anything about helping people out of abusive relationships. I don’t even know who to refer you to.

      I am completely out of my league. I recommend though, that you find someone close by that can take some sort of action on your behalf.

  9. beca124
    October 5, 2014

    Im tryi g to figute out asmart phone and tryinto figute out how i can get help in a. Abusive relationship. Im empathic im not a telephone repairman.Examples would be that he hasn’t taken me any where in 35 y. I.m a out to go nuts I’d like to be cordial but I’m drowning and need a rope…. On Oct 5, 2014 3:22 PM, “The Weiler Psi” <comment-reply@ wordpress.com > wrote: > > craigweiler posted: “I just recently got back from a month long job out of town where I did a great many varied jobs. Many of them rather interesting. So I thought I would give everyone a peek into the kinds of things that I do for a living. It occurred to me that now that” >

  10. beca124
    October 5, 2014

    What does one do when you get to a private place and you hear a voice which says, You have to get out of here, See What are you doung? But you don’t know how to get out of an abusive relationship??? I don’t know where to begin….

    • craigweiler
      October 5, 2014

      I’m a writer, not a therapist. I do wish I could help with this kind of problem, but the truth is, I’m not even remotely qualified.

      Perhaps seek out a woman’s shelter?

  11. creatorsall
    October 5, 2014

    Having been a handyman myself for about 10 years (self taught), I can appreciate the quality and creativity of the work you’ve shown us here. So which came first — the carpentry or the PSI studies?

    • craigweiler
      October 5, 2014

      Carpentry. Although you certainly know that it’s a small part of what I do.

      • donsalmon
        October 6, 2014

        Oh, and could you give us some tips on how you focus your mind on your tools and they just get up and do the work for you?

        • craigweiler
          October 6, 2014

          In every job that must be done,
          there is an element of fun.
          Find the fun and SNAP, the job’s a game.
          And every task you undertake,
          Becomes a piece of cake,
          A lark, a spree, it’s very clear to see . . .

          I’m sure you remember how the rest goes.

          • donsalmon
            October 6, 2014

            Yes I do. Craig, and anyone else here, if you haven’t seen it, run on over to netflix or amazon or wherever (or if you’re lucky to see a revival in your local theater) and watch “Saving Mr. Banks”, with a masterful performance by Emma Thompson as PL Travers, the author of Mary Poppins. Some of you may know that Travers was a Gurdjieff fan, and worked a good deal of Gurdjieff’s esoterica into the seemingly innocent (made so by Disney, much to Travers’ dismay) version of Mary Poppins.

            Who knows, if you study the movie carefully enough, that SNAP may just turn out to work on your next bookshelf!

            • craigweiler
              October 6, 2014

              I did see the Tom Hanks movie. ( I love Emma Thompson in pretty much everything she’s been in.)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 5, 2014 by in Stuff about Craig and tagged , .
