The Weiler Psi

Parapsychology Journalism: The People, The Theory, The Science, The Skeptics

Why I haven’t Posted Much Lately


I have published maybe two articles in the past three months.  Because I have so many subscribers, I think some sort of explanation is in order.

Here’s the situation:  I’m 55 and in construction as a high end handyman.  The original plan in starting a blog was to use it as a springboard to a new profession involving writing and speaking on psychic stuff.  I need to change careers because I will eventually no longer be able to work in construction.  Already I’ve become allergic to countless molds, wood dust, chemicals and what-have-you so that many jobs make me miserable.  A dust mask will only get you so far.  I’ve injured my right knee and while it’s been healing, it’s been about a year and half and it’s still not right.  Age, in other words, is catching up to me.  Did I mention that we can’t afford health insurance?  My wife and I are self employed and live in an expensive area where the wages are high, but so is the cost of living.  We fall into that no man’s land of making too much to qualify for subsidies but not enough to pay for medical.  So I very literally cannot afford to get hurt.

At the end of last year, I basically threw in the towel on this great experiment.  I came to realize that I cannot make writing and talking about parapsychology, the nature of consciousness, skeptics and psychics translate into dollars.  My book earns me maybe $20 a month in royalties.  My monthly mortgage is around $4,000.  The math is rather unforgiving.  I need to be doing something that people will pay for that doesn’t involve me slowly wrecking my body.

Parapsychology does not attract the new age crowd and there are no other large groups of people expressly interested in these topics.  I’m not going to start talking angels and rainbows and encourage people to get in touch with their spirit guides, -effectively becoming a guru of sorts- because that’s not me and it never was.  Instead I have found myself helping people a few at a time, often through personal responses, to deal with all the crap that comes along with being psychic.  I never tire of telling people that they aren’t crazy and I do my best to give them something useful in their struggle to deal with who they are and what they are experiencing.  While I haven’t been posting, I have still been doing that and will continue to do so.  I seem to be uniquely suited for this role and it’s one I’m happy to fulfill.  Every now and then I am a tremendous help to someone.

But it doesn’t pay and I do need a new career.  It has to be something that I’m more or less already good at.  In order to come up with a new start I needed to change my focus entirely and that meant getting some distance from the psi controversy for however long it took.  It’s a very intellectual pursuit and it puts my mind in a very particular place.  Righting great wrongs is spiritually fulfilling, but it’s not a career.

I’ve made changes.  Last summer I started attending the Unitarian Universalist Fellowship of Redwood City.  Their guiding philosophy is one that I had already embraced decades ago.  They don’t care what you believe; you are supposed to find your own path and they support you in this.  They feel that all religions and even atheism have something to offer.  Ever so slowly, I’ve begun to become part of that community.

Rather than simply panic and choose another path, I waited (and waited) until something finally gelled.  It was unexpected, but within my set of talents.  As strange as it may seem, I’m going to try stand up comedy and see if I can turn it into something profitable for myself.  I might not succeed, but at least I know that it can be done.  You’d never know it from this blog, but I can be very funny if I put my mind to it.  I’ve been to a couple of open mics in the area.  It’s enough of a sample to know that I’ve got quite a bit of work ahead of me to get from being a mediocre open mic guy to getting paying gigs, but I have quite a bit of speaking experience and this has proven quite useful so far.  I’m not afraid standing alone with a mic in front of a crowd.

This blog is not going away, and I will still publish occasionally, but for the time being, my main focus is elsewhere.  I will stay on top of new comments, approving them when necessary and make myself available to those who reach out to me personally, but the blog will have to take a back seat for now.   My twitter and personal Facebook accounts will reflect a shift to humor.

38 comments on “Why I haven’t Posted Much Lately

  1. AKgrrrl
    December 28, 2015

    Craig I only recently found your site and am so grateful to add you to the the complement of similars. I must agree with many of the previous posts, that you have a lovely gift that could be marketed differently, that your building skills need not be left behind as a creative niche, but yet not to fall back on labeling as a guru…I wonder if your wife is willing to leave the huge monthly mortage place, be willing to travel…as you could speak on cruise lines, on podcasts or on places like Coast2Coast easily…the young generation has need of your wisdom and knowledge. This boomer moved from an affluent area in Austin with little to no resources nor family, to rural Alaska, never once looking back. Much to be said for clean, free water, a freezer full of coldwater salmon I caught and processed myself for the whole year, no chemtrails or nuclear reactors…etc. You could build something from your own land, with HomeDepot and Costco nearby, and live like a King. Gardening is glorious in 20 hours of sunlight in summer when chores are nonstop. Winters are wonderful to perform inside workbench projects, plan, and sink into comforts of home. I hope you still return to write for us from time to time.
    AKgrrrl

  2. Brandie M.
    December 18, 2015

    I really enjoyed your blog and I’m glad you added a bit of perspective on the subject. Places like this are golden. I understand dreams don’t always pan out compared to needs, but I wish you a long and full second career. It is hard to make something substantial of the psi realm. Whatever you decide I hope it fulfills your needs and may God bless! Live well.

    Will definitely still visit. ;p

  3. TravisMontgomery
    December 13, 2015

    Hey, Craig, we miss you over at Skeptiko. Stop by sometime and I’ll buy you a cup of coffee and we can talk about the same old, never changing, topics.

    • craigweiler
      December 13, 2015

      Thanks Travis, I appreciate the offer, but I don’t have my heart in it anymore.

  4. scott
    October 23, 2015

    u should do some videos on udemy.com. i did that (im a visual effects artist) and ended up making some cash flow. now its not alot maybe 400 a month but i only did the videos once….not bad. some people do way way better than that

  5. craig, just saw this now, best of luck in all you do, a bit of stand up, a bit of handymanning, a bit of parapyschology, a bit of public speaking, a bit of writing, a lot of being you ! keep it all up !

  6. zebzaman
    April 25, 2015

    I wish you all the luck ! Thank you for sharing what’s been going on!

  7. Jordan Burrill
    April 18, 2015

    Hi Craig!
    I know your situation – from personal experience. While working to pay the bills, consider a redo of your psi blogging/consciousness research business model.
    I would also ask you to consider ‘professional help’ in marketing and lining-up speaking engagements. You have considerable competition in this area, but if you find a unique approach to this area of study, you may have a ‘marketable commodity’ to accommodate/accompany the strait-on dispensing of information.

    It would be a shame to admit a defeat, instead of seeing a learning experience and new opportunities to progress. Life is problem solving.
    As for folks like us, we know that there is really now such thing as ‘retirement’. There is always new work to do – in what ever area we have the ability to ‘take the blinders off’ to opportunity.

    I’m sorry for not expressing my real, actual sympathy for your situation. But, I don’t think you need it. I think you actually need encouragement to continue the process (that I too, am in), of learning to open our (unknowingly), rigid thinking patterns and gain from a broader, more open view of the landscape. For me, this process has always been a ‘hand in hand’ work with the Divine. ‘It’ knows me best and what I need at any point – to grow forward. So, I’ll pass that resource on to you, as an invitation – to see yourself from a higher perspective then we are capable of.

    Very Best Wishes!

    Your Fellow Traveler

    • donsalmon
      April 18, 2015

      I really like Jordan’s suggestion – and there’s no reason why you can’t combine it with standup. Do you remember the opening of Dean Radin’s Conscious Universe? It’s hysterical. (there’s several things – there’s the one about the couple on the train he met, and then his list of his week – I think it ends up on Friday he gets questions from angry debunkers, on Saturday letters from schizophrenics wanting to ask about visions, and then on Sunday he spends time trying to figure out how to get the schizophrenics to talk to the debunkers – something like that; his version was much funnier.

      And there’s the story of his lecture at Bell Labs. He starts out, “I know what you’re thinking,’ His intention was simply to stave off skepticism, assuming people were thinking, “what is this guy, a parapsychologist/woomeister, doing at a serious scientific research center?”

      Evidently, the audience took it to be a joke, a scientist pretending to be a sideshow psychic. Radin said everyone burst into laughter, and he had to wait for them to calm down, all the time, as he put it, pondering the possibility of a career as a stand up comedian.

      So, you might follow in Radin’s footsteps!

  8. Anonymous
    April 17, 2015

    Craig, your skills in handyman as well as your license and your ability to speak Spanish qualify you to be a foreman or supervisor in a large construction company. It might also provide health insurance. I’m not sure if the “club” atmosphere, travel and night work fit well with you as a person and psychic.

    • craigweiler
      April 17, 2015

      Howdy,
      I have no desire to be a foreman. The pay is about a third of what I earn now so I would be working harder for less money and I would have a boss. No thank you.

      It’s true that I’m not a club person, but I don’t have to mingle, I just have to sit around and wait for my turn to go onstage. Once there, I’m in charge of the energy in the room and I’m comfortable with that. Performing is a lot of fun for me and feeds my creativity, which is something that I’ve missed.

  9. Steve Hume
    April 15, 2015

    Craig, you’ve done a huge amount of good work here and elsewhere by attempting to empower the reasonable middle ground in the debate around this shamefully polarised subject…as have others e.g. Rob McLuhan and Michael Prescott.

    I came to the conclusion a little while ago that extreme ‘believers’ and ‘skeptics’ are really part of the same logical social group i.e. people who are using the psi issue merely to further their own emotional, ideological ends. Blogs such as yours have started to redress the balance by providing a platform for a more reasonable debate. We owe you a lot.

    On the bright side (as I was saying to a reasonably well known moderate UK skeptic a few months back), the extremes of the psi debate are replete with Pythonesque comedic potential!!! Good luck, mate!

  10. Robert Perry
    April 13, 2015

    Craig, I just came across your post. I had been wondering why your posting has tapered off so much. My heart goes out to you. I actually went the route that you don’t want to, in that I am a teacher and writer on A Course in Miracles and have been for thirty years. However, I am by nature an intellectual, and so am a bit of a fish out of water in the largely new age scene that I work in. Keeping my small organization afloat has always been a struggle.

    I very much relate to your dilemma: How can I do what I love and still support myself? Not an easy nut to crack. I truly wish you the very best in figuring that out. I really hope your comedy idea works out. I suspect that that’s a tough field to make it in, but you probably already know that. Anyway, best of luck to you. It looks like you have a lot of people pulling for you. That’s got to count for something.

    • craigweiler
      April 13, 2015

      Hi Robert,
      I have great respect for ACIM and found it amazing the first time I read it. It was like the book glowed for me when I went through it and then when I was completely done with it the shine went away and nothing looked special anymore. I had gotten the magic out of it. I’m very happy for you that you’ve made a career out of it because I know how difficult it is to be self employed.

      Sincerely,
      Craig

  11. Marcus T Anthony
    April 12, 2015

    I know a few guys doing labour work who are around 50, Craig, and it’s not a realistic option for long. Either you get someone else to do the heavy labour, or you get out.

    The money-making dilemma is common for people who have a passion they want to turn to work. I have had similar issues, and I get many people writing to me who have had this experince. The new age idea that all you have to do is believe it with all your heart and soul, and then it will come true is simply wrong. You have to honour the world, it’s people and the market place. That is pretty obvious.

    Interestingly I had an article of mine on a new age online magazine cesored recently, when I stated exactly this. It was an advice article, where I answered a question from someone seeking to find their purpose in life. I said that while the mental level and the world of beliefs is very important, it is not enough. The editor then wrote me an email and said I was not to say this, and erased the paragraph which gave the advice. Sometimes the new age can be rather dogmatic. The editor said I was doing the advice seeker a disservice by writing that, whereas I believe it is my responsibility to tell people how to manage this stuff in the real world of money and markets. Just because someone channels something or it says that in The Secret doesn’t make it the word of God.

    One possible option for you, Craig, is to think of a great idea, and then crowd source it. What have you got to lose? If you did this, it would be a good idea to put forward some ideas on your blog, then seek feedback from your audience. Which ones do they think people would be willing to fund? A book I highly recommend is The Art of Asking, by Amanda Palmer. I am reading it at the moment. It is basically about crowdsourcing, and the psychology behind asking – especially the fear of it.

    All the best,

    Marcus

  12. Stephen Baumgart
    April 11, 2015

    It’s really tragic that it’s possible to make a living as a new age guru or a carpet-bombing militant skeptic but not as a commentator on research parapsychology. People pay for what makes them feel good about themselves, not for discussion on what scientific evidence says is likely true. I do hope you can continue your blogging.

    And feel free to visit our new precognition lab down in Santa Barbara later this year,
    tanclab.org
    You can even volunteer for one of our presentiment experiments. 🙂

    Good luck with your new career path!

    • Liz
      October 28, 2015

      Could you post a few more details on your pre-cognition lab such as a direct link. Very interested. Thanks!

  13. Marcy O'Rourke
    April 10, 2015

    As some famous actor (don’t know for sure who) said on his deathbed, ‘dying is easy, comedy is hard.’ Break a leg, as those superstitious denizens of theater always say so as not to jinx you.

    Sorry I found your blog only now when it is slowing down, but I was a dedicated skeptic, who started having precognitive experiences, and slowly has come around to getting it. I had a schizophrenic brother, cannot form habits, worked in the arts, was married to an actor, and except for the fact that I have always been a champion sleeper, I fit your psi profile pretty well.

    I’m blogging about my husband contacting me from beyond the grave at marcycasterline.blogspot.com

    I’m sure the TED talks you did are good training for working in front of a live audience. Perhaps, your blog will also benefit from your stand up work. Looking forward to reading all your posts and seeing you on Comedy Central.

  14. donsalmon
    April 10, 2015

    Just wanted to add my “hope you have a great time and much good fortune.”

    If you want to try out any of your comic bits here, feel free:>)))

  15. Tom Ruffles
    April 10, 2015

    Best of luck with the new career, Craig.

  16. Grace
    April 10, 2015

    I totally respect what you are doing. I have always wanted to do something like a website or blog to help more people like me learn how to deal with being psychic. Sure being psychic can be great at times but not a lot of people understand what it’s actually like. As I am only in secondary school I can not make a blog of my own without falling behind on work or my parents finding out. I am looking for someone to guide me through all the rubbish stuff that comes with being psychic but don’t know where to start as if I do not do this via email my parents will find out and get suspicious same with if they noticed all my money was going, and they already think I am mad possibly even a freak.
    I wish you and your family all the best and hope your knee gets better soon,
    Grace

  17. Neil Foster
    April 10, 2015

    Hi Craig. Thanks for all your work flying the flag for those of us who have always been sceptical of sceptics. Sorry to hear of your health problems. The solution? Move to the UK! Glad to hear of your decision to branch into humour as a secondary career. Laugh and the world laughs with you…..!

  18. Loretta Boniface
    April 10, 2015

    My gut tells me that you will do great. I wish you a very successful smooth transition into your new career path. And then maybe write a book about how you mastered the transition because not many would have the guts to do what you want to do

  19. Annamaria Beatty
    April 9, 2015

    Dear psi guy, I’m sorry to hear that u 2 are running Into the same Issues as most psi folks. In regards to your knee?, check out Fms.com.(functional movement systems) it’s a different style of PT & the Doc may work with u on payment. I blew out my hip 8 times Did years of PT & only found true correction & pain free with FMS. My Dr. Had me out of pain & hips Balanced for the 1st time in 15 yrs., Within 20 minutes. Too, u may find Strengthsfinder.com $ 9.99 code can Figure out your strengths which should enable U to find the right long term rewarding career! I wish u & your family well. Many blessings! Anna

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  20. nanbush
    April 9, 2015

    Craig, I hear you loud and clear over here in Distressing NDE Land! Great sympapthy, empathy, and a wry smile. Nothing to do but keep trying whatever comes to hand, and I’m glad you found the humor. Best wishes!

  21. Sorry to see this Craig. Best of luck to you. Thanks for your reporting work in the field of parapsychology and for the work you did revealing details of the controversy at TED and Wikipedia.

  22. Diane Marcotte
    April 9, 2015

    Thank you for being so open about your situation and for sharing. I wish you all the best in your new endeavour… it sounds like a blast!

  23. garrisonscottkey
    April 9, 2015

    Wow, good luck! 

    Sent from my T-Mobile 4G LTE Device

  24. fefamike
    April 9, 2015

    Dear Mr. Weiler,
    I am an energy healer. I have treated people who were given three months to live by their doctors who are alive and thriving ten years later. The energy healers call me evil the people effected are afraid to speak. I have made enemies when I told people they were hurting their significant others. They said I was saying that they were not perfect, well none of us are. Some in my family acknowledge my heallings, but call them crazy in public. The majority of the major actors have little skill, but are great con people. Our community is like a bunch of starving sharks seeking fame and glory or themselves. If it was not so important we should say good riddance to bad rubbish That is status goal. Energy Mike

  25. Brigit Ananya
    April 9, 2015

    Dear Craig,

    Wow, thank you so much for your note! I wish you the very best in your new endeavor!

    Well, you are still young, 55, I am 67, and I recently lost my husband at the age of 64 and my brother at the age of 71.

    I do not have much money either. But my husband qualified for Medical, which is easier for people before the age of 65 to qualify for. I think it goes through Obamacare. You might want to look into it.

    I would like to invite you to a restaurant for dinner some time. If you are married, I would like to invite you and your wife together. (In case lunch is your main meal like for me, since I am Swiss, I would like to invite you for lunch.) Please let me know if you would like to accept this.

    As a small gift, I enclosed my spiritual booklet, which has not yet been published. Since it is small, you can easily read it on a smart phone by holding it the wide way.

    With Love, [] We are even more free than this flying bird. Brigit Ananya (408) 353-3000 home (408) 353-5000 mobile (higher number, 5000, for the higher technology)

  26. siddhijewelry
    April 9, 2015

    I’ve always been a “weirdo” dancing to the beat of my own drum…and occasionally freaked people out as an incredibly empathic person who experiences prophetic/highly detailed dreams from time to time.

  27. siddhijewelry
    April 9, 2015

    Thanks so much for creating this blog! I’ve grappled with being an artist and finally feel like I’ve come into my true self in the past year.

    -A fellow psychic

  28. Planetary Paul
    April 9, 2015

    > We fall into that no man’s land of making too much to qualify for subsidies but not enough to pay for medical.

    Looking in from The Netherlands this is an unimaginable situation. Health insurance is mandatory for everyone here. You can of course escape it by living off-grid, but that is fairly rare and mostly done involuntarily.

    I wish you luck with carving out a new niche!

    • craigweiler
      April 9, 2015

      Yes, the Netherlands are a civilized country not in the death grip of an elite rich ruling class.

  29. Sharon O'Farrell
    April 9, 2015

    Thanks for a very upfront post and I really hope you have fun with your new career and make a handsome living for yourself 🙂

    • craigweiler
      April 9, 2015

      Thank you. That’s very kind.

  30. craigweiler
    April 9, 2015

    Thank you. I’m already having fun with it.

  31. PinkRangerVida
    April 9, 2015

    That sounds fun! 🙂 Best of luck with it!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 28, 2015 by in Uncategorized.
