The Weiler Psi

Parapsychology Journalism: The People, The Theory, The Science, The Skeptics

The Ever Elusive Personal Experience of Psi

On the various forums I visit online, skeptics often ask for evidence of psi and it doesn’t matter how many peer-reviewed journal articles you send their way, they are never satisfied. The truth is what skeptics want isn’t found in a lab report. What skeptics (and everyone else for that matter) really wants is a personal experience of Psi.

Some people try to get that by going to psychics or mediums in the hope of being given a personal experience by someone able to produce such an effect on demand. Many people take comfort in what a medium can tell them about a relative who has passed or find it interesting that a psychic really understands what makes them tick. But for those truly wanting that personal experience of psi, second hand psi isn’t always enough. It’s like trying to satisfy a craving for cigarettes by standing next to a smoker.

So how do you get your Psi fix?

I think the best way to do that is to learn to develop your own psi. There are many ways that people use to open themselves to having psi experiences: meditation, yoga, psychedelics, binaural beat recordings, mediumship classes, remote viewing workshops… the list goes on. I can’t really speak to the effectiveness of any of those methods because my psi experiences started off spontaneously as a child. But I have had some luck teaching people to move Psi Wheels.

A Psi Wheel is a pretty basic device that anyone can make. It’s just a little pinwheel balanced on the point of a sewing needle. If you want something fancier (and pricier), a commercially available Egely Wheel is a rather cool toy to own. Although I now use an Egely Wheel for my experiments with PK, I started off with a simple homemade pinwheel. (You can find the instructions to make your own Psi Wheel here). It’s an inexpensive way to start off on your own quest for the elusive personal experience of Psi.

When I started learning to spin a Psi Wheel, I didn’t use a jar to control for air currents or convection. I think it’s fine to start off that way until you gain a bit of confidence, then you can try to get it moving inside a jar. After that, you can try to move it from a distance. Be patient. And remember that you can do it! Even Bart the Bear can move a Psi Wheel.

Is it worth it to have a personal experience of Psi? I won’t tell you it’s easy to come by, or even easy to live with. You have to work on yourself in either case. I suspect that a second hand experience isn’t as satisfying simply because it isn’t an accomplishment (although for some it is a valued gift). That silly little pinwheel could be the start of a great adventure, or get tossed aside and forgotten. It’s all up to you.

About Sandy

I'm an NDEr who is still trying to figure out why I came back. I usually just post on my own blog (http://psisigh.blogspot.ca/ ), but it's nice to visit The Weiler Psi Blog too.

26 comments on “The Ever Elusive Personal Experience of Psi

  1. John Rudkin
    February 10, 2015

    Please ask me for a copy of my report on the Egely Wheel: johnrudkin18@gmail.com

  2. Michael Owen Howell, JD
    June 30, 2013

    We are all psychic since we pick up on group thought forms. These group thought forms are so distracting we learn to concentrate on those thought forms we are trained to pay trained to pay attention to. This how we maintain our illusion of control. If we had a different acculturation we would see things differently, If you withdraw from your groups mind control group consciousness you become a pariah so the lemmings can control the destruction of Gaia

  3. Sandy
    June 28, 2013

    For anyone interested in having their own personal experience of Psi, I’ve posted a few pointers along with a new video for inspiration:

    http://psisigh.blogspot.ca/2013/06/how-to-make-psi-wheel-spin.html

  4. i know two quite ardent materialist skeptical atheists (not all qualities are mutually inclusive/exclusive, just describing these people in particular) that were exposed to tumultuous transcendent experiences via psychedelics (the psi experiences skeptics are looking for ?) during their formative years that have left them holding on to their materialist positions more than ever.

    some find solace in glimpses of infinity, others find abject terror.

    some dismiss banal telepathic episodes as pedestrian coincidence, others seek to cultivate and nurture their experiences and derive meanings from them.

    my universe is interconnected.

  5. Mark
    June 25, 2013

    So many people claim to be reasoned individuals that will change if only they’re given good reasoning. When it comes to claims that they have strong emotions against, however, this is rarely true. I remember an interesting TV show called Daybreak about a character played by Taye Diggs who was going through the same day-long period over and over again, like something like Groundhog Day, or that Zelda game with that psychotic-looking moon. Anyway, there was a part in Daybreak where some dude who was part of a conspiracy was talking to a girl. I don’t remember the exact words, but he made said something like. “It’s been my experience that people rarely heed warnings, but they do learn from example.” After that, he buried a guy alive, in view of the girl. I’ve been saying something similar to this for a while, now, about pseudoskeptics. If they don’t get punished, or start to strongly believe that they are going to get punished, they will not back down. I think that we need to get out of this mindset about trying to convince these people that they’re wrong and start discussing more about how to punish these people for believing what they believe that causes them to act in the way that they are acting. I don’t think we’ll need to go quite so far as burying one of them alive in view of others, but some kind of significant punishment is necessary to deal with political thugs like the pseudoskeptics.

    There is a reason why most astrologers, psychics, alternative health practitioners, etc. who work with organized criminals, like Dr. Stephen Braude’s wife did in the past, are rarely, if ever, given a hard time by the pseudoskeptic movement. Just sayin…

  6. Gordon
    June 25, 2013

    There’s no scientific evidence for psi. You can read about that here:

    http://forums.randi.org/showthread.php?t=258398

    Read both pages.

    Psi just exists in the mind of humans to make themselves feel better about themselves and that they have some kind of meaning in the universe or extra powers, it’s all in the human brain you don’t see animals or other life forms doing this. We don’t need imaginary concepts such as psi for a meaning in the universe. Life is what we make it.

    • Sandy
      June 25, 2013

      Last time I checked, JREF wasn’t a peer-reviewed scientific journal. Try reading a few of those before commenting. Here are some articles to start with:

      http://www.deanradin.com/evidence/evidence.htm

    • craigweiler
      June 25, 2013

      Hi Gordon,
      I looked through both pages of the forum. It was enough just to see what sources they’re relying on. They are inadequate. The speculations and conclusions drawn are just opinion and irrelevant. The problem with using a JREF thread as a source is that there is really no one over there to argue the other side of the debate effectively. In that thread they did not cover even 1/100th of the available evidence and opposing views were not dealt with. What you have there is just a one sided argument. It doesn’t support your statement that “there’s no scientific evidence for psi” or “psi just exists in the minds of humans to make themselves feel better.”

      I have a post on the scientific evidence for psi. Please post all future comments there as that is the appropriate place for this discussion. Any additional comments by you about evidence posted here will be deleted.

  7. demmy
    June 24, 2013

    “What skeptics (and everyone else for that matter) really wants is a personal experience of Psi.”

    i agree that this would be great, but I think that most skeptics don’t necessarily want a personal experience. I think they want something that is obviously psi, and replicable on demand (macro PK, consistent, specific predictions over a long period of time, consistent remote viewing that solves missing person crimes over a long period of time, etc). I recognize that this may not be how psi works, but I think that is really what skeptics want most of all, rather than a personal experience with psi.

    • Sandy
      June 24, 2013

      That’s been done. Over and over again. Some of the best educated, most highly awarded scientists have studied psi and collected data. Skeptics refuse to believe the data, or to even acknowledge it exists.

      • demmy
        June 24, 2013

        Macro PK that is available for all to see, over and over again, in any setting, has been done? Is it being done now? Where? Consistent remote viewing that is precise and highly replicable is being done now? Where? Which psychic is regularly solving missing persons cases over and over again without any ambiguity? Where?

        I recognize that psi is a subtle process, and not necessarily the kind of thing that can be offered on demand, over and over again with errors. I accept that. But I don’t think it’s fair to say that what I proposed has been done over and over again. And that’s what I think skeptics want.

        • demmy
          June 24, 2013

          *without errors, I meant to say.

        • demmy
          June 24, 2013

          And I don’t mean to say that I need that stuff. I don’t. I’m persuaded by the body of evidence that currently exists. I just think that’s what the average skeptic needs, more so than a personal experience.

        • Sandy
          June 24, 2013

          All I can say is read the literature. DD Home did Macro PK for very experienced investigators under a variety of well-controlled conditions. That didn’t change “skeptics” minds. I don’t think anything will other than a personal experience of psi, and for some skeptics not even that is enough. The goalposts are easy enough to keep on moving.

          Most serious psi researchers don’t bother with “skeptical” concerns anymore. It gets to the point where “skeptics” only hold science back. I’m interested in learning about psi, understanding how it works and figuring out what factors have an effect on it. Getting stuck on making “skeptics” happy first just impedes the progression of science.

          • demmy
            June 24, 2013

            You’re the one that mentioned “what skeptics want”. I have to agree to disagree with you about what they want. I’ve read most of the literature. Replicable and consistent Macro PK effects that can be demonstrated in public and with multiple skeptics present is what they want, plain and simple. I’m not saying that’s what should qualify as good evidence. I only maintain that that’s what they want, and that most certainly has not yet been provided. As for remote viewing, it would be consistent results in terms of finding missing persons, with public declarations that are virtually error-free. I totally understand why you would not want to try and persuade them. Again, that was not my point. i was only pointing out what I think they want.

            • Sandy
              June 24, 2013

              You seem to be suggesting that “skeptics” want psi to be far more consistent and reliable than anything found in nature. Perhaps that’s true, but there are some very amazing reports in the scientific literature. And most skeptics don’t believe those reports because they want to see the evidence first-hand, for themselves. In other words, they want a personal experience of psi.

              • demmy
                June 24, 2013

                You seem to be suggesting that “skeptics” want psi to be far more consistent and reliable than anything found in nature.”

                I’m doing nothing of the sort. Gravity, sound waves, friction, conduction of heat, chemical reactions, phase changes of water, computers, engines, toasters, doors, photosynthesis, pain responses in humans, etc are all absolutely more reliable and consistent than psi effects. Whatever. You seem to want an argument. I didn’t say anything that was controversial in my initial post, but you felt the need to try and prove me wrong. I simply wanted to point out what I think skeptics are really looking for. That’s it. I’m tired of this. I believe in psi. That said, I understand something about what well-meaning skeptics are looking for, too. Have the last word if it’s important to you.

              • Sandy
                June 24, 2013

                Demmy, I don’t know about your computer, but mine doesn’t work perfectly 100% of the time. And as someone with a background in natural science, I can tell you that most things in nature are quite variable in occurrence. Lightning may be more likely in a storm, but that doesn’t mean it will happen.

                In your own post you state that skeptics want to be there to witness a large PK effect themselves… first hand. Not just read about it in the literature. That means they require a personal experience of psi.

  8. sigrid2012
    June 24, 2013

    “GIVEN THE POWER OF our prior beliefs to skew how we respond to new information, one thing is becoming clear: If you want someone to accept new evidence, make sure to present it to them in a context that doesn’t trigger a defensive, emotional reaction.” If you want to read the rest of the article which presents why people will keep their beliefs, even when scientific evidence is presented to the contrary here it is: https://medium.com/mother-jones/adfa0d026a7e
    The article is entitled “The Science of Why We Don’t Believe Science” if you want to find it on a search engine.

  9. sigrid2012
    June 24, 2013

    There are so many ways to open to psychic abilities that the list would be too long for a comment section. I’m currently sharing with a person who has had psychic abilities her entire life, but thought she was crazy. The process of helping someone understand what is happening is rather individualized, but suffice it to say within a month she is recognizing when she is picking up someone else’s thoughts and feelings and knowing she is not crazy, merely psychic. She said she feels like a weight has been lifted off of her and the world of new possibilities is opening up. It has made me wonder over the years how many others think they are crazy when in fact they are merely psychic. And we live in a world where people have allowed themselves to be closed off to this world of new possibilities and brings to mind the saying “I tried to be normal once. Worst two minutes of my life.” Unknown.

    • Sandy
      June 24, 2013

      Most of us are brought up to fear Psi experiences as being a sign of mental illness when they are two separate issues altogether. I’m glad you have been able to help someone recognize Psi for what it is, a normal human experience.

    • Thomas Jespersen
      June 24, 2013

      “Spiritual Emergency”:

      http://www.grof-holotropic-breathwork.net/profiles/blogs/socalled-schizophrenia-as

      Some believe that many psychosis patients are actually having a spiritual opening which is being mistreated here in the western world. Novice Shamans go through a process which often resembles schizophrenia

      • Angie Payne
        July 28, 2013

        Excellent article, thanks for sharing. The connections between kundalini activation/6th and 7th chakra openings and spiritual awakenings, mystical and psi experiences is, in my personal experience, undeniable. I’m not a shaman but I know that shamanic sickness fits right in there, too. And all of these experiences do tend to include schizophrenia-like symptoms, even if they are mild ones. It’s also interesting, and revealing, that these experiences are always very transformative for the person having them. All of these experiences are about opening up and being transformed.

    • Angie Payne
      July 28, 2013

      I think a great many psychic folks have wondered if they were crazy! Our culture has no acknowledgement or “tradition” for psi so most people have to figure it out on their own. And that’s not always easy to do. My primary ability is claircognizance and I can’t tell you how many times I “knew” something about someone but – did not know that I knew. In most of these cases, the info I received greatly contradicted what I already believed about that person. That is, the clair info I received was at odds with the (deceptive) persona or public image that that person presented to the world. And I would find myself thinking something was wrong with ME for having such thoughts enter my mind. Having images and ideas that the “saintly” little old lady that everyone adores is really cold-hearted and finds secret joy in brutality can, indeed, make one wonder about one’s own mental health. Finally, at the age of 48, after a lifetime of clairsensitivity and psi, my senses had become so heightened I could no longer NOT acknowledge my ability. Also, numerous occurrences that provided me with unexpected verification that these thoughts (even some I’d had years prior) were actually accurate – was greatly responsible for this. Life makes better sense now that I acknowledge myself. And nowadays if a thought enters my mind about someone and I find myself saying, “Now why did I think such a thought?” and, especially, if I catch myself starting to wonder “what’s wrong with me?”- well, those are some of my best indicators that it’s claircognizance. I’m also a bit of an empath and that can be really difficult for people to figure out, too.

  10. moniquestevenson
    June 24, 2013

    …This would explain SO MUCH about why Fark is so obnoxious even after I post reviewed proof.

    • Sandy
      June 24, 2013

      If you were craving a cigarette and someone blew smoke in your face, you would be cranky too! Fark doesn’t want evidence! He/she wants an experience!

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on June 24, 2013 by in Uncategorized.