The Weiler Psi

Parapsychology Journalism: The People, The Theory, The Science, The Skeptics

Need-Based Psychic Ability Appears to be Strongest Type

David Metcalfe and I have just finished our third Evolver Webinar session with guests Dan Booth Cohen and Emily Volden and I have been struck by some interesting observations.  The first of these is that everything fits together.  That is to say, While my guests are all working in vastly different areas of research, it isn’t very hard to see how they tie together.  Jim Carpenter’s First Sight theory ties together with the healing studies of Bill Bengston, which tie together with with Systemic Constellations which tie together with Rupert Sheldrake’s Morphic Resonance, and on and on.  They are all very consistent with one another with no apparent contradictions.

I find that I’m beginning to get a feel for how this works and I think that one way to communicate this by explaining need-based psychic ability since this is a thread that runs through the work of all three of our guests so far.  Here goes:

Modern psychology has discovered that most of our consciousness is subconscious; maybe about 90%; it’s hard to put an exact number to it, but the basic gist of it is that our conscious awareness is not where most of total awareness resides.  First Sight says that psychic ability is an integral part of that 90% that isn’t conscious awareness and tends to show up in our conscious awareness only when all other types of awareness fail, or in some cases, people can intentionally access that psychic ability to a degree.

It shouldn’t be a secret to anyone that our subconscious intentions are often at odds with our conscious ones, but when they are aligned, it can be very powerful.  What appears to be the case is that genuine need is an excellent way to align both conscious and unconscious intent.  It’s not 100%, but it will produce psi effects more consistently and more strongly than any other method.  This has come up twice in these webinars.  Bill Bengston’s mice studies had a 100% cure rate for the the mice, and Emily Volden reported over 90% success in obtaining meaningful psychic information for her clients.  These are fantastic numbers and what they have in common is that they are completely based on need.

Bill mentioned anecdotally, both in the webinar and in his book that his type of healing works best on aggressive cancers and recent problems, -where need is the strongest-.  Chronic problems are harder to fix because they have a component (it’s speculated) of people being accustomed to them.  One of that statements that Bill made during the webinar was that people are often angry when they’ve been healed of a chronic problem because they’d learned to identify with it.  The need isn’t as clear so neither is the healing.

If psychic ability is primarily need based, it’s easy to see why it’s hard to duplicate in the lab in most cases.  Need is not something that can be faked because it requires one subject to have a genuine need and another to fill it.  We know from First Sight that this isn’t entirely a conscious decision, -that part might only be 10% of what’s going on.-  And we know that the subconscious knows things that we don’t have access to consciously.  This was spectacularly demonstrated in W.E. Cox’s train crash studies in the 1950’s.

W.E. Cox, in a well-known study (1956), analyzed the number of tickets sold for 28 passenger trains that crashed between 1950 and 1955. He found that the trains that crashed always had fewer people than similar trains on the same day of the previous week. The data was also analyzed for weather conditions, and number of sold tickets on the previous day, week, and month. Because every statistical result can be explained as random fluctuation, the author calculated the probability of accumulating the same statistics randomly. This probability was less than 1/100. In other words, we can say with 99/100 certainty that people really have – and use – their psychic intuition to avoid dangerous situations.

And for the terrorist attacks of 9/11 the numbers are actually fairly in alignment with the Cox study:

American Airlines flight 11, a Boeing 767-223ER with capacity of 165 according to American Airlines, had 76 passengers, 11 crew members, and the 5 hijackers. United Airlines flight 175, a Boeing 767-222 with the same capacity, had 51 passengers, 9 crew and 5 hijackers. American flight 77, a Boeing 757 with capacity of 180-188, carried 53 passengers, 6 crew, and 5 hijackers. United flight 93, another Boeing 757, carried 33 passengers, 7 crew and the 4 hijackers.

These are load factors of about 57% for AA flight 11, 33% for UAL flight 175, 32% for AA 77, and 20% for UAL 93 — pretty low compared to the industry average for the period (see next graf). The kicker is that these are the percentages with the hijackers counted among the passengers. Not counting the hijackers, the load factors were 46% for AA flight 11, 30% for UAL flight 175, 29% for AA flight 77, and 18% for UAL flight 93.

The point I’m making here is that the subconscious has precognition, telepathy and clairvoyance at its disposal, however, we don’t have conscious access to it.  Because of that, you cannot merely create the appearance of need through any sort of deception.  The subconscious cannot be deceived and because of that, if there is no real need, (regardless of whether a person was fooled or not by the ruse) there will be no consistently strong display of psychic ability.

The test mice all had an obviously strong need, as did Emily’s clients and that was certainly true for the people who avoided the doomed trains and planes.  In those situations the psychic ability displayed was both strong and consistent.  What’s more, in the case of the Bengston experiments and the accidents, no previous psychic experience or ability was required.  This is something that’s predicted by First Sight.  Belief is not necessary.

Need based psychic research is very tricky, but what I have seen over and over again is that scientists are very clever people and can undoubtedly find a way to create lab experiments that create genuine need in people and get that typic of psychic response to kick in.  Bengston has already done this, so we just need more experiments that create high levels of genuine need that requires psychic ability to attend to.  (Or, maybe this has been done already and I’ve missed it.)

17 comments on “Need-Based Psychic Ability Appears to be Strongest Type

  1. Clive Hetherington
    December 31, 2014

    Hi Craig, I’m a medical research scientists that wasn’t impressed with the science delusion as a start BUT because of having debilitating personal issues AND spending a great deal of time personally directly engaging with my own feelings states, inner senses and subtle perceptions I began to become directly aware of the none physical. I’ve been directly researching the ‘subtle’ for over two decades.

    I’ve pages describing what I’ve been finding in subtle terms on http://www.soul-healer.com and many pages on http://www.realitywalker.com describing many of my experiences in detail.

    However, with what you write on this page above you are likely to be very interested in what I’m trying to put together on this page here:http://www.soul-healer.com/visuals/the-long-long-physical-con-extended/

    Basically, I’m trying to put together all the CLUES that science and academics are generally NOT allowed to even think about.

    I’m sure you can help me add to what I’ve already put together on that page.

  2. dpouliot
    March 1, 2014

    What a terrific piece. I wanted to chime in with my own experiences:

    I’ve never considered myself to be psychic, but about two years ago I took some training in remote viewing, and it opened up something in me. Perhaps the training just gave me permission to recognize psychic thoughts, and some discernment as to how to identify them.

    I have chronic pain in my arms and hands (since 2000) which is made me averse to doing lengthy remote viewing sessions. I wondered if I could apply some of what I learned to dreams, asking a question before I go to bed, and looking for the answer in my dreams the next day. I have had astonishing results (proving to me personally the reality of this phenomenon) that I could discuss at length, though some of it is quite personal.

    As for chronic pain, I understand your comment about people identifying with their pain, though I don’t think that describes me. In my 20s I received extensive training in, for lack of a better term, positive thinking, and this has been a deliberate and conscious area of my life, to consciously frame my thoughts towards outcomes that I want.

    I’ve tried many many different modalities to heal my pain including “unorthodox” modalities like Reiki, energy healing, acupuncture, and more, none successful. When I started using my dreams to get answers to questions, I asked my dreams how I can be healed. The answer was crystal clear, not open to alternate interpretations: for me, death is the only thing that will bring relief from my pain.

    I mention this because your comment about chronic pain patients implies that if only they could change their thoughts than they could be healed. Well, I have extensive training in framing my own thoughts, which I have been practicing for over 20 years, and I still have pain. It is a logical truth: not all bodily imperfections can be healed solely with our minds (I wonder if group focused thought is more capable for healing); just because we cannot see the source of the chronic pain does not change that… let’s not lose sight of that truth when dealing with people like me, lest we add feelings of inadequacy on top of the chronic pain.

    To try to quantify my dream observations, I made my own iPhone dream database, and I’ve been logging dreams since november, and flagging the ones that come to pass. In 3 months I’ve logged 134 dreams in my database, and I identified 23 as precognitions, a rate of 17%! Your comment about need-based precognitions seems apt, though I’d add a wrinkle, it is want-based too, which is slightly different. Meaning we are more likely to have precognitions about things that interest us over things we have neutral or negative feelings about. (I’ve been using dreams to predict stocks, and have had some great success). Things I would turn away from with my conscious mind, my unconscious mind turns away too.

    I write about these things in my blog: http://danpouliot.com/blog/

    • craigweiler
      March 1, 2014

      I understand what you’re saying. Some things don’t lend themselves to psychic healing.

  3. kmarantz
    February 26, 2014

    I agree with nearly everything here. It’s fascinating and makes one think. The only thing I take issue with is the theory regarding the 9/11 flights. There is a vast amount of evidence suggesting the reason why all four flights were uncharacteristically light is due to the fact that the events that day were orchestrated by the U.S government. A bit of respected research (much of it being peer reviewed) supports that theory.

  4. K
    February 20, 2014

    Hi Craig! I just discovered your blog, read a bunch of posts, and have to say that I am thoroughly impressed. As a paranormal investigator/researcher, I am no stranger to the strange and (often) unexplainable.. Recently I have started seeing light twinkles, in addition to my typical “just knowing”, and hearing things in my head (which, I have EVP video evidence from an investigation that shows me repeating this inaudible-at-the-time voice 3 times without realizing until I reviewed the footage).. As my “awareness” grows, I find myself looking for more info that can explain what I’m experiencing… to little avail. The internet is littered with so many websites run by ‘psychics’ who are heavy on the religion and skimp on explanations that make sense… But you, sir, write in a way that I can understand. You present proven points, psychological analysis, and don’t preach in an “end-all, be-all” manner, and perhaps may be the most scientifically minded ‘sensitive/psychic’ I’ve come across so far. Kudos, man! And thank you, thank you, THANK YOU for helping me to confirm that no, I am not crazy! You’ve got yourself a new reader here.

    • craigweiler
      February 21, 2014

      Thank you. I appreciate your kind words.

    • Fran Theis
      February 21, 2014

      K: You might be interested in knowing about The Monroe Institute, http://www.monroeinstitute.org. It’s a wonderful starting point for exploring the reality of what you’re experiencing.

  5. Barney Holmes
    February 2, 2014

    Interesting. I’ve had psychic or precognition in survival situations. I think this why this work is so important. People in extremis can get psychic events, get freaked out by them (because they’ve been taught its not real) and then can get preyed upon by the psychiatric profession. We need to be taught that its normal and healthy, not “you are freak” !

  6. Howell Michael
    February 2, 2014

    I always lose contact with people I have healed once they are healed they call it other causes people open their minds when they need to and then peer pressure with peer pressure they fail to speak you demonstrate and the say they will vouch for you and then ts its wham bam and thank you ma’am and they’ re gone. Yet while I could be a guru and exploit them I refuse to get client you have to say serve mew and if you meet my standards I will heal you.

    • craigweiler
      February 2, 2014

      I agree and that’s one of the reasons I think that Bengston’s research is so important. It legitimizes psychic healing.

  7. Fran Theis
    February 1, 2014

    As you often do, you’ve discovered what some people believe is an important aspect to remote viewing. While it’s possible to remote view anything anywhere and any time, I personally find my viewing to be the best when there is a NEED for the answer my consciousness is asked to provide. (My training is in CRV, the method developed originally by Ingo Swann, the two physicist, Puthoff and Targ, and utilized extremely successfully by the Army and various three-letter agencies.) Insightful article.

  8. River and Mountain
    February 1, 2014

    Craig, thanks you for this, and all of your other articles. You are very much on target, and i am learning a huge amount.
    Many people told me that they ‘saw’ 9-11 before it happened; and i dreamed about Oklahoma tornados days before they/it happened. But (like Freud said), sometimes a cigar is just a cigar. I thought those 9-11 planes may have been targeted BECAUSE there were so few passengers. The fewer passengers, the fewer people to overpower. Thanks again, and keep up the good work. There are not too many bloggers expanding my mind like this blog.

  9. Pingback: Candlemas, Groundhog’s Day, and news items that will surprise no one who has read this blog for any length of time | vulture of critique

  10. peacenowflower
    January 31, 2014

    Wow, I didn’t know about this science. Last week I watched a video on Youtube, about how ESP is not real. They argued that people are subconsciously picking up on details (like blood on a murders shirt) and that is why we sometimes get a bad feeling about people. I didn’t like the attitude of the video at all. The scientific study they sited seemed kind of biased. They didn’t mention any attempt of double blinding, or other steps that would have made it a credible study. Yet, it was listed as a popular video for the week.

  11. zhai2nan2
    January 31, 2014

    Dean Radin has stimulated precognition in the lab by getting subjects to stare at randomly selected images, some of which are very shocking.

    A split second before the shocking images, the subjects’ nervous systems went into high-alert mode.

    I don’t have a citation handy, but if I find one I’ll post a follow-up.

    • craigweiler
      January 31, 2014

      No need, this experiment is along the lines of the Bem precognition experiments and many others. I didn’t want to overload people with too much information so I didn’t cite that stuff.

  12. Antoine
    January 31, 2014

    Wow. Absolutely amazing! And really makes sense in so called mortal terms of thinking and analysis of entire matter. Have been thinking myself a lot about this finest connection of subconscious and conscious and where the psi actually lives.Thank you for sharing

Leave a comment